We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time”

Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun and interactive animal park. Many Australian animals including kangaroos, as well as other North American Animals. Cave on site, included with admission price. Fun for the whole family.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

First visit today 20 month old 12 year old and 3 adults. Something for everyone. It was a real life we bought a zoo movie. Adventure. Very knowledgable personable staff
. We learned so much about the animals and very hands on. We pet a kangaroo, an imu and lots of small animals as well, there was a cave tour, mining, shooting, range, gift shop and reasonably priced snack bar. We all enjoyed our selves and will return .

Thank journy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on our park. We often joke about the movie "We Bought a Zoo", so it is funny that you mention it. We love to know that people had a great time and even leave here knowing something that they may not have known before they walked through our doors. Being an interactive and educational animal park is what sets us apart from the rest. We make sure that our guides are able to answer any question you may have, and that if they cannot, they will get you the answers you need. We hope that you will visit us in the future as we are constantly acquiring more animals, and are planning on opening even more exciting exhibits for you and your family to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went to Kentucky Down Under for a afternoon get away. We have 4 kids 6 ,11 15,16 years old .The park is not too far from home . We did the cave first which we just loved but wear tennis shoes . The tour guide was funny and well informed its not too long so it keeps your interest . Next we went to the wool sheering and sheep herding , all the kids had a chance to milk the cow and learned a lot about wool and how we get it . I was very impressed on how clean the cages are and how well informed all the staff were. There are so many different things it was hard for the kids to pick the best thing there . My teenage daughter loved the bird cage. She loved the birds landing on her and preening her hair. We loved the kangaroos and seeing them up close. Not too many places you can see them so close. We did go to the Snowy River Range a shooting range.(No Sign) The instructor was super nice great with the kids and did a great job of teaching the kids safety of the guns even before they were seated in front of the guns. All the kids had a blast. The older ones didnt want to try it at first but ended up have a great experience . We ended our day with a tour in the kangaroo cage . Chris the tour guide really made the day. It was the end of the day and the kids were ready to go but they were glad that we made them go . They really loved the kangaroos and the Emus . Having an interactive zoo really is a great experience. They do need more signs to let you know what is where ! I would recommend this to anyone coming to the area. For any ages. Well worth your time and price.

Thank jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your review on our park. We strive on being different and making sure that everyone enjoys themselves. The interaction with the animals, as well as the information learned from our knowledgeable guides is what sets us apart from most zoos. We are glad that you were able to experience all of this, and that children of all ages were able to have a great time. The shooting range is one of our newest additions, and is really a hit with the customers. Safety is a very important aspect, and we make sure that everyone is properly prepared. We hope that you will visit us again in the future as we are constantly acquiring new animals and plan on opening new and exciting exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took our grandson to Kentucky Down Under. Liked it that it wasn't overly big. Nice amount of walking but not so much that is tiring. Different areas to explore. Farm type area with sheep and a cow that can be milked. An area you can actually walk in with the kangaroos. A very nice bird area and then another enclosed bird area you can go in and feed the birds. A small mining area to hunt for gems. Then there's the underground cavern. Also a snake area. Courteous staff. We got our moneys worth. Weren't disappointed. Food prices were reasonable.

Thank wesley1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for the great review on our park. We like to feel that we are priced reasonably so that people may enjoy themselves and not feel as though they did not get their money's worth. We are constantly acquiring more animals, so be sure to visit us in the future as we will have more hands on adventures for you and your grandson to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I visited the park with my 7 year old granddaughter today. The park seemed to be a bit pricey at first- and I wish that military spouses would get a discount as well - but however- it is worth every penny because almost all activities are included. We did the cave tour first and I was impressed with the tour/cave guide Debbie. She was super friendly and very knowledgeable. The cave is beautiful and safe to tour with younger children age 6 and up. My granddaughter got to wear a miners helmet and absolutely loved it. Only tip: Please do not wear Flip Flops! I saw some young teenagers entering the cave wearing them and think this is super unsafe!!
The bird feeding experience was also a lot of fun. Only downer.. once your little cup with birdfeeder is empty it cost a dollar to fill it back up..
One of the highlights in the park are definitely the Kangaroos. Where else in this area do you get to pet one??
We also did the carriage ride, saw the dingoes, exotic birds, a Zebra, sheep and all kind of other animals. All animals seem to be well cared for. The cages are clean and all animals had fresh food and water. The whole property is well maintained.
Our last and most exciting stop in the park was the Snowy River Range. Even though it cost five dollars I would highly recommend to try it out. The cost includes shooting instructions and shooting at target that you get to take home. All weapons are secured and can only aimed toward the targets. Our instructor Jodi was plain awesome and one of the nicest people I have ever met. She has a LOT of knowledge and made this experience a lot of fun. Kudos Jodi - job well done!
Only downer: If some of the staff at admissions would not have mentioned it- we wouldn't have known that it was there. We did not see any signs in the park that would have directed us there.

Overall we had an amazing experience.The park is clean, staff is friendly and it is a great place to spend a relaxing day with the family.

1  Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Petting the kangaroos and feeding the lorikeets is definitely something that people enjoy doing. We feel as though the cave tour is a wonderful bonus with admission to the park, and are glad that your granddaughter had a great time. The shooting range is one of our newest additions, and several people are loving it! We are glad that you feel the same. Debbie and Jodi are wonderful at their jobs, and we are lucky to have them! Be sure to visit us in the future as we plan on adding even more exhibits with amazing animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Where else will you ever get to walk right up to kangaroos and pet them, seriously, to me that was worth the trip alone. I thought the staff was very friendly and seemed like they wanted to be there. The cave tour was awesome, we got to do it by lantern and that was really neat. The bird feeding experience was a lot of fun but warning, the birds swarm you and it's a little intense I would not take a child in there under the age of 6 or so I saw several get freaked out. The wagon ride was cute, the animals are fun to look at. I think it's one of the attractions everyone should do when coming to this area.

1  Thank jmarqdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara F, Manager at Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your review on our park. We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself! Petting the kangaroos is definitely a must do! They are very soft and lovable! The lantern tours are a new addition, and we have several people that really seem to be enjoying that experience. We strive ourselves in making sure that everyone has a wonderful time at our facility and a friendly staff plays a key role in that. We love our jobs! Be sure to visit us in the future as we will be adding even more amazing attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Kentucky Down Under Adventure Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing