We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop”

Hidden River Cave and American Cave Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Take an in-depth look at the fascinating world of caves as you journey through gigantic subterranean chambers made out of limestone.After you explore the underground, try out the aerial view from our new zip-line and rappel! Don't forget our 2 level museum featuring caves.
Rising Sun, IN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great stop”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The regular cave tour was fantastic. Our tour guide Charlet was very knowledgable and upbeat. We enjoyed this tour much more than the New Entrance tour at Mammoth Cave National Park. The office can be hard to find. If you stop here don't get discouraged, it appears to be closed but isn't. Just pass the sign and walk down the sidewalk to the end of the block and you will find the office. Well worth your time and effort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DHayes818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    50
    14
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a short tour but very informative. The museum had lots of information about the area and how the cave was formed as well as how it is now being conserved. Our tour guide was great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We took the regular tour with Joe as our guide who usually does the Wild Cave Tour. He was great explaining to us how the cave came into existence, was abandoned, and then rediscovered. Going 1000 feet inside the cave to see the Hidden River underneath and 700 feet above our heads was so outstanding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisaNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“This place is great!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The wild cave tour is just out of this world, climbing through the rocks and much, I only did the two and a half hour tour this time but I will be going back to do the 5 hour soon! Gary was an amazing guide, really knows his stuff and makes it fun. I recommend this to who ever likes to get down and dirty and loves to explore.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild Cave Tour”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

In mid-July my Boy Scout group took the 5 hour wild cave tour. We had an amazing time! I was very happy with the staff I spoke with when making reservations everything was made very easy. Gary was our guide and did a great job. He was friendly, experienced, and treated us all with a great amount of respect. The tour itself was awesome. We walked, crawled, squeezed, shimmied, and waded, through and over rocks, sand, mud, and water all being lit by the lights on our helmets. The tour is not a walk in the park but is not overly technical and difficult. A moderate level of fitness is required. (They do offer a shorter wild tour which would be bit easier and a general walking tour which is easiest.) I would highly recommend the wild tours for the advid adventurer, looking for a taste of caving, all the way through the typical tourist looking for a unique adventure. There were 18 of us that went varying from 14 to 50 years old and we all had a fantastic experience. Thank you Gary and thank you Hidden River Caves/American Cave Museum.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden River Cave and American Cave Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hidden River Cave and American Cave Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing