We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations Exceeded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
American Elite Inn Hazard
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hazard
SE Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expectations Exceeded”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

For $52/night, I wasn't expecting more than a clean, quiet room. My expectations were exceeded, the room was clean/quiet, with friendly staff and over abundance of hot water and working A/C. The breakfast wasn't the greatest, basic breads/rolls, cereal, drinks. Enough to get started.

The carpet in the common areas need to be cleaned or replaced.

Will stay here again as the opportunity permits.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchmanJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    35
    21
    21
See reviews for
45
19
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Overall, good value for the money. But, the hotel clerk sent me to the 2nd floor to find room 127. I even double-checked with him, because motels usually don't have a room ONE twenty-seven on the second floor. He insisted it was upstairs. So, I lug my suitcase up to the second story, and I walk up and down the hall to search for room ONE twenty-seven. No luck. Back downstairs I lug my suitcase, and ask again. This time, I ask the clerk to go upstairs with me when he still insists that it is located upstairs. We walk up and down the hall before he figures out that we were not going to find room ONE twenty-seven upstairs either. So off he goes, back to the front desk, to relocate me another room. He tossed a light "Sorry," over his shoulder at me, as he goes. The clerk came back with a key to room TWO twenty-something, and of course, this time it is located on the second floor. I feel forturate to have a room, and its location, but wonder about the motel staff training and/or abilities. Once inside, I find that 2 of the 4 lamps in the room had burnt out lightbulbs. The room is clean, though.
On the 2nd day of my visit (for which I had prepaid online) I was locked out of my room. When I tried to get back inside after lunch, the hotel had re-keyed my room. So, back to the front desk, to get help. This time, the girl at the front desk did apologize more sincerely for the inconveniece.
The free breakfast is fine, if served with a bit of indigestion from fellow guests. On the first morning, a customer was very upset because someone had left a burning cigarette on the hood of his new car. (I don't blame him, I would not have been upset too.) However, he was yelling and threatening to hurt the culprit (who was never found). It made me nervous about the safety of my car in the parking lot there.
On Saturdays there is a flea market on the hill above the motel. It makes getting in and out of the motel parking lot a bit problematic because of the heavy traffic. This hotel is situated between two roads (one in front and one in the back) and the traffic noise can be heard inside the room at times.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octobergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

decided to come up a day early to pick up a group going to gatlinburg. arrived at about 0100 and checked in requested a non-smoking room but ended up with a smoking. not too bad as i was too tired to move my stuff. the staff, even at that time was polite and friendly. room rates are in line with the quality. all i was looking for was a decent place to stay with a bed, tv and a bath and that is what i got. i would stay here again with no second thoughts.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idriveyousafely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville,ky
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Found the room to be clean and comfortable. The staff their was so nice. Any thing you need they got for you. talked and may your stay wonderful..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarbaby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
182 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I was lucky enough to get the great $8.88 deal for this hotel. After staying in several Super 8's this year, I would have to say that this one is not the greatest I have stayed in but it was also above average. The rooms are large. We had a king which also had a over stuffed chair and a desk. There was also a mini fridge an a microwave. The WiFi was ok and breakfast was you typical bland Super 8 with a few wrapped pastries and a few bagels. I would have been fine if I would have paid $75 for this room but with that great deal of $8.88 I can't complain. Would stay here again for sure as long as I did not pay as much as the Holiday Inn Express or the Hampton down the road.

  • Liked — Large Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new tazewell, tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Oh my....What can I say except our stay here was so wonderful. A
young man that works at this location is so knowledgable about the community and its history. Any questions we had about the area he could answer, he presented himself in a way that would remind you of staying at a resort motel. The employees name was Sam Jones and you must get aquainted with this young man if you stay there. The motel and its staff are excellant, it is very clean possibly even emaculant. The staff is very attentive of your needs and Sam is a wonderful young man. He made our stay a very pleasant one, an outstanding employee and we just cant say enough about him. I would reccomend this location to everyone. I wished there was a Sam at every one of your locations, he really puts the " Super" in the Super 8.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 174michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazard
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Hazard
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Hazard
11.9 mi away
Buckhorn Lake State Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hazard
Show Prices

Been to American Elite Inn Hazard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Elite Inn Hazard

Property: American Elite Inn Hazard
Address: 125 Village Ln, Hazard, KY 41701-9408 (Formerly Super 8 Hazard)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Hazard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hazard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Elite Inn Hazard 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking and Bus and Truck parking, Business Center, Meeting Room, Flat Screen TV, Cable TV with extended channels, Fridge, Microwave, Desk, Hair Dryer, Coffee Maker, Air Conditioning, Pets Allowed in rooms with Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your American Elite Inn Hazard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hazard
Super Eight Hazard
Hazard Super Eight
Hazard Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing