We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth driving a few extra miles to stay here - but not during the summer”
Review of Beaumont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrodsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Harrodsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a few days, while visiting the Bourbon Trail distilleries in the area.

Their outstanding breakfast was a wonderful way to start each day.

We stayed on the second floor of the main building. The room was large and comfortable - except that there was no AC vent in the room. Could be a problem during the summer, not an issue during our late September stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are delighted you had a wonderful visit with us and thank you for your kind words. As an FYI, please note that each guest room in the Main Building has an A/C vent located over the door. Since it is not in the "traditional hotel" location, it is often overlooked. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 268 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the main lodge and loved every minute! The parlor offered coffee in the mornings and was a wonderful small museum which included clothing from the past in beautiful showcases. It felt somewhat like the movie "Somewhere in Time". We loved this room! The whole inn was full of antiques and period pieces. Although our room was small, it was loaded with charm and history. The main dining room offered wonderful dinners, and we enjoyed the breakfast buffets which were included with the price of the hotel. Dinner and atmosphere in the Owl Tavern was wonderful. Great food in both restaurants. A special "shout out" thank you to our server, Loretta. She was so outgoing and a perfect picture of southern hospitality! Hope she's still there when we make a return trip to this wonderful spot! Definitely include this when visiting Kentucky!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed four or five time here as just a couple and also as a family and never been disappointed. The staff make you feel welcome and at home. This inn feels like something between a hotel and a B&B. A bit dated but very comfortable beds and linens. The Owl Tavern and their fine dining restaurant both serve local hometown cooking that you will enjoy! The breakfast buffet is perfect and the staff here my favorites. I would recommend the main lodge for couples and the white building across the street for families as the rooms are larger here. We have not stayed in the greystone building but look forward to trying that out on one of our up and coming trips to visit our Centre College student. Do not miss Shaker Village...it is a little Williamsburg-esque working living history that is well worth seeing and changes with the seasons.

Room Tip: try to avoid the rooms in the Main House next to the air conditioning units. Loud and chilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridaskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Formerly a college for girls in the 1800s, Beaumont has been updated and well maintained and has a wonderful feel about it. We stayed in Goddard Hall, just across from the main building. All rooms in Goddard are considered Bronze. Ours was 52 on the 1st floor. We had a 30" (give or take) TV that worked fine (cable channels were OK but no premium channels which was fine). The bathtub shower was one of those fiberglass single unit pieces. It was fine. Towels were nice and soft and the bathroom was very spacious, maybe 8x8, not including the bath/shower. Toilet was a little tall which my 5'2" wife noticed (ha). Room decor was very tasteful with display of a girls 19th century dress over the bed (I thought that a little odd but whatever). Sitting desk was jammed into a 22" cubby which was probably my biggest complaint (OK but definitely not room to spread out). Non-the-less, it was a very nice room. Three places to eat at the hotel, the Owl's Nest Pub where we ate twice (BBQ wedge appetizers and fried onion rings were great). There was another more intimate space, the Owls Nest Lounge which serves the same food. The formal dinning room/restaurant in the main building serves breakfast (cornmeal pancakes and eggs made to order were quite tasty as was the fresh fruit) but requires long pants for dinner (who knew). Shuffle board outside and nice walking path around the grounds with several swings and wonder old trees made for a very pleasant stay. Be warned, all restaurants are closed Sunday night and Harrodsburg has very limited dinning. Danville is only about 8 minutes and have a few more options (burger at Mallards was good).

Room Tip: Room downstairs in Goddard allowed us to hear folks walking around on the 2nd floor. Fortunately the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed one night in the main Inn and we could be more pleased. Our room was great and service was excellent. The highlight was clearly the Bourbon Tasting with fifth-generation owner, Dixon Dedman. We spent almost two hours with Dixon, who is a walking encyclopedia of bourbon. We tasted 6 of the very best Kentucky bourbons, including a Pappy Van Winkle that was unbelievable,

Dinner was very good and breakfast was even better. Try the corn cakes, the grits and the homemade biscuits and sausage gravy -- outstanding.

It's a pleasant. short walk from the Inn to the middle of picturesque Harrodsburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our room in the main inn was very nice and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast improved after our first day (we arrived at Memorial weekend and the breakfast was a buffet which was ok but the family group at the two large tables in the dining room were large and obnoxious). Breakfast on the next two days was much better and our server was very friendly and professional. We ate at the Old Owl Tavern twice and the food was good, nothing exceptional, but good enough.

This is a beautiful inn and I would recommend spending time looking at the displays and antiques. It has a fascinating history. Just a pity it is so near the main road - if it was a few miles outside of town, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for a girls weekend adventure! Room was clean and comfortable. Furnished with antiques.Murphy bed was comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. Food is fantastic and staff was all very nice and friendly! Rate this one A+

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
7.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
147 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Farm LLC
The Farm LLC
#1 of 8 in Danville
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
#2 of 5 in Harrodsburg
35 reviews
19.7 mi away
1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast
20.7 mi away
Rabbit Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Inn

Address: 638 Beaumont Inn Dr, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-2192
Location: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harrodsburg
Price Range: $99 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919, our family has welcomed guests to enjoy the ambiance and style of grand Southern tradition. While we embrace history, we provide the modern luxuries you want. • Well-appointed rooms in three historic buildings • Traditional Kentucky cuisine including yellow-legged fried chicken and Kentucky cured country ham• Fine wines, draft beer and casual dining in Old Owl Tavern or Owl's Nest Lounge • Spa with massage and a variety of spa treatments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing