We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service but be careful which room you sleep in”
Review of Beaumont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrodsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Harrodsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is an historic hotel in a nice neighborhoold, nicely located on a large lot with many trees, a walking path, wooden swings, etc. The interior is charming with many antiques and artifacts you don't find in newer hotels. The sleeping rooms are not large, as you might expect in a hotel well over 100 years old. The elevator must be at least 50 years old but is interesting and works just fine. The only real complaint we had was room 25, where the double bed mattress was very soft and the bed creaked and groaned whenever either of us changed positions. After a night where we slept poorly, we were ready to check out the next morning. However, the staff was very accommodating, moved us to another room (32) with two very comfortable double beds and we very satisfied. Note that the bathrooms are small with little shelf space. Although there is no opportunity to control the temperature in your own room because of the hotel-wide central air conditioning, we were comfortable even though it was hot and humid during our 3 night stay. We had dinner at the Owls Nest one night and both of us had delicious meals that were reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast (this is actually a B&B) was also very good. We both agreed we would come back again but insist not in room 25 due to the bed. The outside pool looked very nice but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buffalobob65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments concerning your recent stay with us. We will definitely take a look at the "creaking noise" the bed makes as it is over 125 years old and sometimes the locks work a little loose and begin to squeal! We will also give the "too soft" test to the mattress to make sure it is firm enough. All in all we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 271 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

Beaumont Inn has a beautiful setting amongst big old oak trees and spreading lawns. Hotel is old and quaint. We stayed in the Greystone house and our room was adequate, felt it could have been more luxurious but for the price was fine. Two complaints. We stayed 3 nights and they did not replenish anything in our room. Two people were supposed to survive for 3 nights with one small sachet of shampoo and conditioner and a little bar of soap. Fortunately I had taken my own. I could have called housekeeping and requested items but I have never had to do this in a hotel. They provided a coffee maker in room but once again no replenishments. Maybe we were just unlucky with our room maid.
Breakfast was buffet style and very plain. I would willingly have paid an up-charge to be able to order a cooked to order breakfast.
Overall pretty good value for money as rooms were large.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Not sure what happened concerning our failure to replenish guestroom amenities for three days as our policy is to replenish daily if needed. Evidently we dropped the ball and certainly apologize for the inconvenience. We are staffed 24/7 at the front desk to cover any oversights by Housekeeping and would hope this safety net would have corrected the problem. Have had discussion with Housekeeping (all veteran staff) about this oversight for three straight days and they were a bit confused by the issue of how they could have missed for three straight days but apologized and were very professional with their comments. They are dedicated employees and work hard to provide our guests with a memorable experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My husband and I chose this BNB for a little getaway for our 5th anniversary. Beaumont was all we hoped it would be and then some. Our room was pleasant and homey, the grounds are beautiful, the food for both breakfast and dinner is delicious and the staff were wonderfully friendly and accommodating. In fact, everyone we met in Harrodsburg went out if their way to be friendly and hospitable. We would most definitely recommend Beaumont to others and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slahta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Thank you for your review of your recent Anniversary visit with us here at Beaumont Inn. We never tire of hearing of one's enthusiasm when things go as planned and expectations are met as well as exceeded. We look forward to your next visit whether it be an anniversary or just a short getaway from the kids. Thanks again and have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stopped by for lunch on a day trip. Only a buffet was offered (never told us before we were seated) so we had no choice of menue as on their web site. Boy were we surprized, as it was a small choice of barely warm left over garabge. I'm sure this was a first class restaurant in its day,but now is nothing more than a run down slop house. Carpet in dinning room is dangerous to walk on as it has spots that are three to four inches off the floor.What a shame that a nice piece of history' is going by the way side.

PS very good web site but be careful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

I'm sorry the day you selected to visit with us was on Friday as we serve a Friday Luncheon Buffet every Friday. We began 15 years ago offering the Friday Luncheon Buffet and have continued it due to its popularity. Since a buffet is not your preference, please join us on Wednesday or Thursday when our luncheon service is from the menu. I would also recommend making a reservation when possible to avoid the possibility of arriving for lunch after a long drive on a busy day where seating would be at a premium. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We spent two nightswhile visiting the Bourbon Trail and other attractions in the area. Check in was efficient and friendly; we were really made to feel welcome. The main building, in which reception is located, is utterly charming. Our room -- on the second floor of the Greystone building -- was attractively and comfortably furnished; I liked the blanket so much that I took down the information on the tag and tried to find one just like it online. The bathroom was quite large and matched the period of the house. Use of a screened porch was included; this particular porch was next to the bedroom and reachable via an entrance hall rather than directly attached to the bedroom. It was a great place to relax. A couple of minor annoyances: there is no parking lot for the building. We were directed to park at the side of the entrance driveway (which also is the driveway for a residence behind the Greystone building) on the grass. Also, at check-in I was given 4 keys, which unlocked the front door, door to the hall leading to the bedroom, bedroom door and screened porch. That's a lot of locking and unlocking. Once others in the building started leaving the front door unlocked, we did, too.

We had breakfast two mornings at the inn. Breakfast was buffet, with corn cakes and other items delivered to order. The corn cakes were very good. It would be nice to have a few more choices on the buffet, but as the inn was not very crowded during our midweek stay, perhaps that was a factor.

During our stay, there was bad weather in the area, including a tornado warning in the middle of the night. Being on the second floor, we were unsure what we were supposed to do in the event of a tornado. It might be nice to add that information to the materials available in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your comments. I especially appreciate your comments on the emergency shelter locations during severe weather alerts. Evidently, we omitted this information from our guest services manual while performing an update to the book. Although severe weather alerts do not happen often, it is important information for our guests. We are reposting this information to the manual. Thanks again for your visit and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had a group of 4 couples that spent a Saturday night here. We had dinner at the Inn and it was very good. We spent the evening on the front porch rockers drinking wine and talking.

On Sunday morning we walked into town for our exercise and had breakfast at the Inn.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting either the Bourbon Trail and/or Keeneland!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorndogCorndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Thank you for giving us a "shout out" on your recent visit with us. We love those folks who enjoy a quiet evening on the porch with a nice bottle of wine. And yes, Keeneland and the Bourbon Trail are definitely two items which should be on everyone's bucket list. We look forward to your next vist!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We had the opportunity to mix business with pleasure and booked one of the beautiful whirlpool and fireplace rooms at the Beaumont Inn. With gracious hosts, great food in both the tavern and the restaurant and a beautiful room, we felt completely pampered and relaxed. Based on what we saw and experienced we know you couldn't go wrong with any choice of room. The room we chose had vintage appeal with all the modern amenities you could want and decorated with a timeless elegance that left us feeling so fortunate we could relax and spend time here. We enjoyed an afternoon walk on the property, shopping in the extensive gift shop and having a wonderful dinner at the Owl's Tavern. We loved every minute of our stay here and we hope to experience the Beaumont Inn's brand of Kentucky Hospitality in the future.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyofthecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmdedman, Owner at Beaumont Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love hosting you and your group (some of these folks have been meeting here for the past ten years) as we always enjoy the interaction and energy they bring to the property. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrodsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
2.6 mi away
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
#2 of 5 in Harrodsburg
35 reviews
7.3 mi away
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont Inn

Address: 638 Beaumont Inn Dr, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-2192
Location: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harrodsburg
Price Range: $99 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1919, our family has welcomed guests to enjoy the ambiance and style of grand Southern tradition. While we embrace history, we provide the modern luxuries you want. • Well-appointed rooms in three historic buildings • Traditional Kentucky cuisine including yellow-legged fried chicken and Kentucky cured country ham• Fine wines, draft beer and casual dining in Old Owl Tavern or Owl's Nest Lounge • Spa with massage and a variety of spa treatments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing