We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Fried Chicken!”
Review of Old Owl Tavern

Old Owl Tavern
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bar and Grill located adjacent to Beaumont Inn. Full service, lunch and dinner with full bar.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Heavenly Fried Chicken!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and three daughters stopped for lunch on a Friday. There were only a few tables occupied, so we were promptly greeted and served drinks. I ordered the fried chicken dinner, which came with two sides (I chose corn pudding and a side salad), and bread. The fried chicken was the best I have ever had. It was well-seasoned, moist and had a crispy skin. It wasn't at all greasy! The corn pudding was good...more of a custard, in my opinion. Our youngest ordered a pulled pork barbeque sandwich and hand-battered onion rings. The portions were huge. I didn't taste her pork sandwich, but she did share her onion rings with the family and we all agreed they were the best we have ever had! Again, very well seasoned, crisp, but not greasy! The salads, which another daughter ordered, are just average...nothing really special to speak of. It's definitely worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    60
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in the area, visiting from out of state. Saw this quint little place, what a pleasant surprise!
Service was prompt, food was great, prices were reasonable. Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEKA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I live in Harrodsburg, so I frequent this restaurant several times a year. Great place with history. They always have nightly specials, and an actual fire in the fireplace in the cold months. If you are traveling through, you can also stay in one of the antique appointed guest rooms at the Beaumont Inn (the original establishment). Their Kentucky Hot Brown, a favorite among Kentucky residents, is the best I have had in the state! Don't miss the opportunity to eat here, you will truely not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate here two evenings while staying at the Beaumont Inn. The Tavern has good food and a wide variety of Burbons for tasting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FuelScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Harrodsburg”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of two places to eat at the Beaumont Inn, this is the more casual dining. The hamburger is wonderful. Fellow diners had the chicken livers (said they were good but be prepared for salty); the chicken salad croissant, and brisket. All of the meals are excellent.

Inside can be a little dark, so if the weather cooperates, eat on the patio.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Owl Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Owl Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing