We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great service, pleasant setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Owl Tavern

Old Owl Tavern
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar and Grill located adjacent to Beaumont Inn. Full service, lunch and dinner with full bar.
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, pleasant setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The setting is great, warm atmosphere and friendly, efficient staff. The food is good, not over-priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    57
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Celebrating our anniversary we headed to the Old Owl tempted by the offerings posted on Facebook. Really we were going there anyway, but the menu spurred us on. Starting with old fashioneds was a bad decision. We each ordered single shots to make them drinkable. Yes we mentioned this to the server and she was sorry. An appetizer of fried green tomatoes was excellent. It turned out to be the high point of the evening. Ordering the pork t-bone was another mistake! It was served rare and you do not serve pork rare. Also mentioned this to the server. We decided to eat on the patio which was pleasant except for the flies. Tables were not bussed quickly and that added to the problem. We do not blame the server; she had six tables on the patio and two more around the corner. Veggies were very good. The banana cake with bourbon sauce was routine. We think they have a problem with their bourbon because the flavor did not come through in the sauce for the pork or the cake and we think they left it out of the old fashioneds altogether! Next time we will eat in the main driving room . . .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kydude645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, WV
Level Contributor
204 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing local specialties!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

They don't take reservations but they did seat our party of five right away around 7 PM on Saturday, August 4. Our server, Scarlet, was wonderful. The food was just amazing! I had friend chicken livers with cream gravy, fried green tomatoes and country ham pot stickers. We were all happy with our meals--we WILL do our best to visit Old Owl Tavern the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zebra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great ambiance foods not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have been here twice now. The catfish is really good. I got the fried chicken and was not impressed, two small pieces of dark meat left me hungry. It was good but not great. Service was pretty good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fischdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Such nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our large group arrived unannounced, and they went out of the way to make room for us and serve us very tasty meals.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank zumaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Owl Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Owl Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing