We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of KY history”

Old Fort Harrod State Park
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sparta, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little bit of KY history”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Fort Harrod is an interesting park full of educational history. Not only is this a working fort, with real people demonstrating fort skills such as wood working, blacksmithing and basket weaving, they also tell some stories of the people who "lived" in the fort. I enjoyed the freedom of being to walk through some of the rooms, including one set up as George Rogers Clark office. And for a small fee, it was well worth the price.

Also at the park is the oldest cemetary west of the Appalachians, the cabin purported to be the one in which Lincoln's parents were married, and a museum with many artifacts from the time period.

I was lucky enough to have visited during a re-enactment of a civil war battle. If you're interested in knowing when another re-enactment may take place, I would suggest you check out the events page at http://www.parks.ky.gov

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank captkirk155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    35
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perryville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The coolest tree you have ever seen.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a great place to take a history buff and they have lots of special events.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank luvstravelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Level Contributor
492 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“great battle reenactment”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

went this weekend with my 8 year old. We have been to most ky state parks. We loved this park. The battle reenactment was this weekend so we had a treat. The price for both of us was $10. The fort itself had several working shops and demonsrtrations such as the soap making, blacksmith which they let my son pump the bellows he was so excited, laundry, etc.
special program was the animal tannery. Very interesting. The reenactors were dressed in period clothing. The indians were so realistic. Loved the whole afternoon. The gift shop offered several crafts and books and food items. We shared a modjeska. YUMMY!! IF you do not know whaqt that is it is a marshmallow covered in homemade caramel. The company is bauer's candies in lawrenceburg, ky.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little piece of history”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very interesting, lots to see & do. akes you back in history for a time. Reenactments of pioneer days.

Helpful?
Thank KYColonelLoves2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice historic park”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My daughter and I spent the morning touring Old Fort Harrod. There were several buildings in the fort to visit. There were people dressed in period clothing and they were very interesting and informative to listen to during the tour. The cost was only $5.00 each and it included a small museum. Very worth while!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Harrod State Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Fort Harrod State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing