We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The coolest tree you have ever seen.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Fort Harrod State Park

Old Fort Harrod State Park
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perryville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The coolest tree you have ever seen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a great place to take a history buff and they have lots of special events.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank luvstravelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bluegrass state
Level Contributor
460 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“great battle reenactment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

went this weekend with my 8 year old. We have been to most ky state parks. We loved this park. The battle reenactment was this weekend so we had a treat. The price for both of us was $10. The fort itself had several working shops and demonsrtrations such as the soap making, blacksmith which they let my son pump the bellows he was so excited, laundry, etc.
special program was the animal tannery. Very interesting. The reenactors were dressed in period clothing. The indians were so realistic. Loved the whole afternoon. The gift shop offered several crafts and books and food items. We shared a modjeska. YUMMY!! IF you do not know whaqt that is it is a marshmallow covered in homemade caramel. The company is bauer's candies in lawrenceburg, ky.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Little piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very interesting, lots to see & do. akes you back in history for a time. Reenactments of pioneer days.

Helpful?
Thank KYColonelLoves2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice historic park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

My daughter and I spent the morning touring Old Fort Harrod. There were several buildings in the fort to visit. There were people dressed in period clothing and they were very interesting and informative to listen to during the tour. The cost was only $5.00 each and it included a small museum. Very worth while!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice lil park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The park was very small, but was very nice. Nice to see they have kept it so very realistic and old timey.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Harrod State Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Fort Harrod State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing