We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Checked in on a whim. A late check in about 4 pm. Asked for a one hour late check out and was told no. Felt I could have been accomodated. (it was just an hour.)
Room was primitive and dirty. Lots of dead bugs in the window seal, and black hairs on the bathroom floor (not mine). Very small tv with remotes that did not work.
Food was very good but a little pricy.
Room for improvement.
Staff was curdious in the post office. Kudos to the young lady that shared her tea with me. Coffe provided was very nice.
Loved the demonstrations by broom maker, wood workers, and singer. Grounds kept were immaculate!
BEST PART: spirit walk an s'mores after. Very informative guide.
Will I be back, maybe. If the price is right.

Pic of dead bugs in window provided.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 301 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in room 185 of the West Family Wing at Shaker on 10/30 and 10/31/2012. We loved every moment of our visit!

First, the room. Yes, it was simple, but beautiful in its simplicity. The beds were very comfortable and the entire room so clean that it passed even my impossibly high standards. I was afraid that the huge windows would allow cold drafts , but the room stayed just the right temperature even with the heat off. The bath has a separate thermostat so there was no shivering after a shower. The towels were fluffy and bright white. If someone in your traveling party isn't sleepy there's a huge common room to sit in and read or watch TV.

The restaurant is wonderful. Reading visitors complaints here is baffling. This is an historic site recreating the life of Shakers. They were a simple people and the food here is uncomplicated, yet incredibly tasty. If one is expecting haute cuisine, then one will be disappointed. If one is expecting delicious, quality meals and plenty of servings, one will go away with a smile on his face.

The setting is phenomenal. Rolling meadows, bucolic scenes, surrounded by serenity.

The tour is entertaining and educational. Every guide was friendly, professional and happy to answer any question.

All the years I lived in Lexington and I never stayed at Shaker! I can't believe what I missed. It took a move to Georgia to get me to visit and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the village and enjoyed the events very much. The young lady who entertained in the meeting house was a very PLEASANT SURPRISE. She amazed the whole room. Each event was a wonderful event. The staff were on top of their toes and very accommodating. Rooms were large and beds comfortable. Food needed a little TLC for the price charged. Waitresses were GREAT..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a beautiful fall weekend at Shaker Village (known as "Shakertown" locally) and stayed overnight in the East Family dwelling. The village is in a beautiful Bluegrass setting and the lodging buildings offer modern conveniences without sacrificing the historic nature of the structures. These structures were actually built in the early part of the 19th century (e.g. East Family circa 1817) and are not simply recreations of historic buildings. It is a similar experience to Colonial Williamsburg but in a rural setting. Knowing that, don't expect modern hotel standards for soundproof walls/doors or elevators. But DO expect a modern tile bathroom, sprinkler system throughout, ample lighting and electrical outlets, hi-def television, Shaker reproduction furnishings and a very professional hotel staff as you will find all of this and more. We were surprised at how well the buildings had been retrofitted as hotel rooms. The hotel reservations clerk was very friendly and listened to my request and made a suggestion of location. I asked for a quiet room, we stayed on the fourth floor of the East Family house and we would stay there again. Even though many of the rooms on lower floors were rented to a large family reunion group, we did not hear any noise from them in our room. Things that could be improved - our room was large and could easily accommodate a queen or king size bed instead of a double; room darkening shades to keep out the early morning light; a larger sink in the bathroom; television reception is limited to over-the-air Hi-def stations and the reception is spotty; a little dust and cobwebs in the corners. On the positive side, the room was very bright and the front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly (we overheard a housekeeper say how much she enjoyed working at Shaker Village). This place is a real gem as a historic lodging facility.

Room Tip: Tell the reservations clerk what you would like (quiet room, near the center of activity, wi-fi etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYJman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill. The setting is beautiful Kentucky countryside. The people who work at Shaker Village are so welcoming and well informed about the history of the village. You can walk down the lane and meet someone who is making baskets, someone else will be churning butter or pickling okra. What a delight.

Various activities are offered during the day and the evening depending on the time of year, such as Saturday night star gazing with an astronomer. We also took a paddlewheel ride down the Kentucky river. Very scenic and peaceful. Also, this is a great place for walking or hiking.

The rooms are very simple but have all the modern conveniences - bathroom, flatscreen TV and comfortable beds. You have to keep in mind that some of the buildings are over 200 years old. The floors squeak, the bed squeaks. Shaker Village keeps the rooms as close to the original Shaker rooms as possible. The building we stayed in had a nice lounge area on the first floor with a fireplace, game table, coffee area, frig and very comfortable chairs and sofa.

We ate dinner, lunch and breakfast in the dining hall. Lunch and dinner were outstanding and the service was great. Breakfast wasn't bad but not great. There was an OK variety but it was the same each day. I guess we are spoiled by some of the B&B's we have visited.

I would highly recommend a visit and stay at Shaker Village.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Set in the rolling hills of central Kentucky, Shaker Village is a beautiful site to wander round. The onsite restaurant does a wonderful dinner (although the breakfast is basic and disappointing), and you can take a tour of the site led by very knowledgeable guides who really help you to get a sense of the history of the place. The accommodation is in the simple Shaker style and looks great. Unfortunately there are few concessions to comfort, and if you are a light sleeper, prepare to be kept awake all night as the creaking of beds in neighbouring rooms comes right through the floors and the thin curtains let the light come flooding into the room. Recommended as a fascinating place to stay, but low on the comfort levels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w1zb4ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and her college room mate have frequently gone to Pleasant Hill for a long weekend get together. I wanted to see what this Shaker Village offered and our one night stay turned into four nights. Pleasant Hill combines history with peace and tranquility. The surrounding area is beautiful and the restaurant serves delicious food.I loved our stay and will return

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
14 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
468 reviews
12.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
#2 of 5 in Harrodsburg
35 reviews
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn Danville
Quality Inn Danville
#5 of 6 in Danville
92 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Farm LLC
The Farm LLC
#1 of 8 in Danville
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range: $75 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing