We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week At The Inn of The Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill, Harrodsburg, KY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Centralia, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Week At The Inn of The Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill, Harrodsburg, KY”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We Love Living History!
That's One Reason We Chose to Stay At The 'Inn of Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill",
Just Outside of Harrodsburg KY (About 30-Miles Southwest of Lexington KY) In The Fall.

The Expansive Pastoral Property Is On The National Registry of Historic Places.

We Enjoyed Staying In One of Their Original "Dormitories". Only A Stone's Throw From All of The Places of Interest (Arts & Crafts Shops, Wonderful On-Site Restaurant, Guided Tours of Historic Buildings, Many Trails, Forests, & The River Boat Ride Though The Majestic 400-Foot High "Palisades" ).

If You Stay On The Property There's No Charge For Any Admission
Except For The $ For The Palisades Boat Ride.

Although It Rained A Number of Days, The Atmosphere At This, Once The Largest Shaker Colony In The U.S. Now Preserved By The Same Folks Who Preserved Colonial Williamsburg In VA, Was Just The Relaxed Peaceful Vacation We Looked Forward To.

Being Seniors, It Was Great Just To Stroll The Village, People Watch, & Converse Between Ourselves & Others, Both Inside & Out.

We Also Took Some Lovely Side Trips: Above/Across The Palisades, Through The Beautiful Thoroughbred Horse Country, For A Delicious Southern-Style Lunch (Loved The Cheese Ale Soup! : ), Small Town Shopping, & Also Tour/Tastings At The "Woodland Reserve Bourbon Distillery" (Love Those Complimentary Bourbon Balls : )! All Three In Versailles KY - At The Near Peak of Fall Foliage.

We Had Plans For Visits & Lunch At The Horseracing Track In Lexington & A Tour of A Horse Farm, But We Chose To Omit Those Due To Our Decision To Just "Slow Down & Take It Easy".

Northerners That We Are, We Also Enjoyed Dinner In Harrodsburg, At A Beautiful Colonaded Civil War Era Mansion Restaurant, Accompanied By Our First-Ever Mint Juleps : )!

Checkout The Comprehensive, Interactive, SVPH Website.

Room Tip: Historic Rooms Are Large & Have Original Large Windows Looking Out Over The Pretty, Peaceful G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    87
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
71
138
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson MS
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed visiting Shaker Village. The guides are super nice, knowledgeable and professional. The female singer who demonstrates Shaker worship has one of the most beautiful, haunting voices I've ever heard. We thought that the restaurant would feature old-fashioned "meat and three" lunch plates but it is more of a modern gourmet cuisine style place. Nevertheless, we considered it an enjoyable part of our adventure too.

I highly recommend Shaker Village but would like to warn other travelers not familiar with the area that the road to the Village is very narrow and sharply winding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Met my 3 grandchildren (their parents came too) at Shaker Village which is 1/2 way between me in TN and they in IN. And enjoyed a nice education vacation w/plenty of room for outdoor running and lots to see of interest to everyone. Our accommodation was the suite on the entire 2nd floor of the Coopers Shop - a large bedroom w/2 double beds, and a sitting room w/pull out couch. 1 1/2 baths, microwave, firg, coffee maker, bar sink, tv. Perfect except my son did not enjoy the temperpedic mattress - good to know next time he is in the market for a mattress purchase! The sleeper sofa was fine for me. And the 2 easychars in the sitting room could easily be pushed together and make a private bed for a child. The Shaker syle furnishings and decor were fine for our needs and the theme followed in the dining room where we had dinner - ambiance in abundance, in the manner of the Shakers. The boat ride was chilly due to sprinkles of rain but a good time was had by all. We will do it again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor stairway to this private unit would be a challenge for the overwieght, those w/balance iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We went at the Shaker Village in Harrodsburg KY for a mother / daughter weekend. We stayed in the Tanyard House which sits away from the village, very private quiet and relaxing. It has a great fireplace which was wonderful for the cool fall night. The beds were also very comfortable. If you want to make meals you will need to bring dishes as they are not provided, which seemed very strange as there is an partial kitchen (full refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, microwave), eat in kitchen and large dining room? We at dinner at the Trustee's Office Dining Room and it was very good. We plan on a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent one night and loved it, despite the cold, rainy weather. The historic discussions, concert, and tours were great - though I thought the riverboat ride was boring . Best part was staying in an original Shaker home, one of the "Sisters' Houses", with the lovely Shaker-style reproductions. Bathrooms and other amenities were quite nice. Walking around the property at dawn, greeting the farm animals, was especially memorable. Food in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

After some days of busy sightseeing and an extremely long drive to get there, the atmosphere was just what we needed. Our accomodation was at the Farm Deacon's Shop - the entire middle floor. Downstairs, and accessed by a door on the opposite side of the building, was a display of before and after photos of the restoration of the little village. We had a large living room with very comfortable sofa and armchairs, a tv in a shaker cupboard hanging on the wall, a shaker dining table and chairs and a built in cupboard containing a sink, fridge, microwave & coffee machine. The bathroom could be accessed from either the living room or the bedroom and had a shower over a bath. The bedroom was enormous and had an extremely comfortable bed. We used the sofa bed and it was ok, they're never very comfortable.

It was the most peaceful, relaxing place we stayed for our entire trip. This type of accomodation might not suit people who prefer luxury hotels but for us the price was right, the atmosphere was right, the furnishings were right. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddarHouseAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This living history community is fascinating pieced of American history during the day, but after the crowds depart and we settled into our Shaker-furnished rooms, the magic really began to emerge. To live with the Sheker aesthetric and life style is to understand more of what the whole history is about. And yet the food the excellent, the rooms really comfortable. Aha, we said. So that is what the Shakers meant by building heaven on earth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
424 reviews
12.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nicholasville
20.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Property: Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Location: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing