We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work on organization”

Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill is a landmark destination rooted in the spirit of the Kentuckians that called this place home for more than a century. Discover inspiring legacies, fresh-air adventures and spirited hospitality throughout Shaker Village's 3,000 acres. Onsite amenities include overnight accommodations, dining and catering services, retail shops, historical exhibitions and tours, a farm and garden area, a nature preserve, multi-use trail system, riverboat rides, equestrian stable and an extensive calendar of special programs, activities and events.
Venice
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Needs work on organization”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really had very little knowledge about the Shakers when we were in the area and decided to stop. We decided to take the walking tour and were handed a map with little to no information. In most historical settings, you start off with an introductory video. Near the end of our time at the village, we found a great informational video in the basement of one of the buildings. Visitors shouldn't have to hunt for this. The video should be housed in or near the tour site entrance. We also happened on an employee who gave us the introductory information we would have liked to have had at the start of our tour. We only got this information because we initiated the conversation with the volunteer/employee. Maybe because we were there on a Friday morning we did not get a usual full blown historical experience. Overall, our experience was very disappointing. This place needs someone to organize the walking tour information better to make it more meaningful to guests. So glad we didn't make a special trip to visit this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Venice245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    139
    45
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kokomo, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been to the Village before and always enjoy my stay here. The inn furnishings are simple but clean. The food at the restaurant is very fresh and made from vegetables grown on site. Walking around and learning about the Shaker life is very interesting. It is not that far from Lexington so if you want bigger city amenities, it is convenient. However, I would stay here to have a more quiet, relaxing trip. Will the front office worker was great...very friendly and helpful. They even have a greeter cat Theo who sits out back and adds to the country charm of the place. I would definitely recommend a stay here. If you have a chance, take the boat ride down the Kentucky River. I saw all kinds of wildlife and the cliffs are beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pawpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Surprised our family with a night in the Inn (awesome) and a day at the Shaker Village. I believe they were unsure what they would actually DO here but it didn't take long before we were all overwhelmed with the beauty and simplicity of it. The tours of the different buildings are great and the people who work there are very knowledgeable about the Shakers and the life lived in the Village. We knew nothing about Shakers going in and now feel like we not only heard of lot about history (including a great talk re:Shakers & the Civil War), we had a great time learning it! Highly recommend seeing Shaker Village! Would be best if you have at least a whole day to spend there. W also had lunch there & it was fabulous!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 563ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fascinating Place”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The ride from Lexington is through some of the prettiest scenery in the country. The Village is easy to walk. The presenters are loaded with interesting facts that give you a really good understanding of Shaker culture and the industriousness of the Shaker people. You get to see broom, basket, and weaving demonstrations and you get a really good flavor of how life was lived in this community in the late 17 hundreds and early 18 hundreds.

The restaurant had decent food and good service.

Well worth a trip to the Village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stop”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were traveling south and decided to make Shaker Village our stop for the night. We enjoyed the simple (and large) room that we had for the night. We also enjoyed the following day that we spent walking around the village. The only negative is the price for the dinner compared to the quality of the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WDWis4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill also viewed

 

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing