We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sunset Beach!”
Review of Sunset Beach

Sunset Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset Beach!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Sunset Beach is a must see in Cape May! Every night at sunset there is a flag ceremony when they lower a veteran flag and they play patriotic songs. It's very moving. Also, the sunset was amazing the night we visited. What a beautiful experience! I'm so happy we went there. We arrived there early and went to the cute gift shop and my husband and son also played mini-golf. We had dinner at The Grille which is a burger place right on the beach. Check out my pictures I took over the ceremony and the sunset. So beautiful!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    125
    29
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I really liked it here except the fact that it was hard to walk with bare feet on the sand cuz there was too many shells n all but they do have these things called cape may diamonds which are not real diamonds but more of a keepsake from the beach and the sunken ship is really cool to look at too!There is jellyfish galore and crabs so beware lol seriously cuz some lil girl got rushed to the hospital from the jellyfish!

Helpful?
Thank Mustangrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The sunsets are spectacular and the flag ceremony is something everyone should experience. Add this to your bucket list!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillyfan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice beach for collecting Cape May Diamonds!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

First time I was here was with my boys being very young.....we came back last year and it still is a nice place....shops to buy souveniers and a day of collecting stones off the beach! Will always go back to visit!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank beachluvr0881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Visiting Sunset Beach was one of the places on our to-do list but because of various circumstances, we didn't get here until 10:00 at night! However, the beach is open until 11 and we were still able to find some cool rocks and fossils! I wish we had come here earlier for sunset and the flag-lowering ceremony! There's also a cute gift shop that sells just about everything at good prices, as well as a grille and mini-golf! The concrete ship is a cool sight to see, too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marisa0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Beach also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
North Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing