We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location for Land Between the Lakes visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenlake State & Resort Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardin
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The first time I came to Land Between the Lakes, we winged it and ended up staying at a cheap motel in Cadiz. This time I researched before our trip and found Kenlake. I've never stayed at a State Resort Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was included and quite a delicious spread in the restaurant on the ground level overlooking the lake. The waitress was very nice, poured coffee and bussed the tables. The room was nice and comfortable. The bathroom was small (NO counterspace). We didn't have a chance to check out the pool since we were only staying overnight and it was Oct., but we will definitely stay here again. The location for anyone visiting Land Between the Lakes can't be beat and it was a good value!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoundHouseCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

The rooms have been remodeled and are clean and comfortable. Economy priced. The grounds are very well kept and pretty! Love the bird feeders everywhere! My problem with wedding receptions: Had we been told on check in Friday there was a reception, in the lobby, with a live band Saturday night, we could have then made an informed decision whether or not to stay Saturday night. Then on arrival back to the hotel Saturday evening, it was in full swing. I asked the front desk what time it was over and she told me 9:30. At 10 my mother called the front desk and was told they would be done at midnight. At 12:30 I called the desk and was assured all festivities were over and done when they had just moved the party outside and it sounded like it was right behind our room. Cudos - hotel staff did go outside and get them to be quiet but they didn't check later. 2am we could hear them again. So we drove 7 hours home Sunday on only 4 hours of broken/aggravated sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MHughes1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife and I are nature lovers and frequent the KY State Park Resorts/Lodges. We received a promo for a Valentine's Day getaway at Kenlake, and since this was one park/resort we had yet to visit, we jumped at the opportunity. Because it was a 'getaway package', the price included dinner and breakfast (and was very affordable).

The lodge, which apparently is the oldest in the KY State Park System, was very unassuming, but a decent facility nonetheless. Like some of the other state lodges, a few updates could be made. The rooms are fairly basic, nothing spectacular, but clean and cozy. The view from our room overlooked the lake, but unlike KY Dam Village (also a state resort park) to the north, the Kenlake lodge sits a ways back from the lake. Because the weather was still quite cold, and there was snow on the ground, we didn't venture out of the lodge too much but understood that there are numerous trails for hiking.

Despite the fact that Kenlake ended up not being what we consider to be one of the top lodges in the state park system, we did find the restaurant to be better than most. The food was above average and so was the service.

Overall, I would consider Kenlake to be about average, especially when compared to the other resort parks. I can't say we would or will frequent Kenlake, but if you're looking for a place to stay in the lakes region, it would be worth checking out especially if you can get a package deal/discount.

Room Tip: Check out any package deals or offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLakelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I would not recommend the lake lodge what so ever. I have traveled to many of the Kentucky State Park Resorts and this by far is the pits. It reminds me of my old army barracks from the 1960's. The rooms were extremely small and everthing was dated. The bathroom has a pedestal sink with no room to set anything on. I also notice the windows in the room we stayed in did not open or where too small to escape if there were a fire, not sure how they get by with this? We toured the grounds and it was in complete disarray, broken fences, pool in poor shape, landscaping overgrown. It appears everything has been painted over a thousand times, no view what so ver from the room. It appears the Kentucky Park Systems budget cuts have really started to surface. It could be nice but it is not!! Now the postive thing is the staff at the Marina and I wold recommend staying in the cottages. Kentucky start re-investing in your Parks NOW!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Army-Traveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

This was our second stay in a KenLake cottage, both times in early Spring. The resort includes a large lodge and individual cabins set away from the lodge. Kenlake Park has a very large marina, indoor tennis courts, an outdoor swimming pool and a golf course.
The cottages include a full kitchen separate large bedroom with TV, large living room with flat screen TV, full cable, and a large screen porch. We stayed there due to it's location next to Land Between the Lakes and not for any of the resort activities and had a good time. We specifically wanted a non-smoking cottage and Kenlake was one of the few Kentucky Resort Parks that offerred one. The restaurant is large but we did not eat there since we had cooking factilities at the cottage. The facility is heavily used for conferences and workshops.
On the negative side, some early season remodeling of three cottages opposite ours created 10 hours of activity Mon-Thurs. Neither the lodge staff nor the website indicated this when I inquired about reservations. After I objected a discount was provided.
We would consider staying there, or another Kentucky State Park Resort in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinRidgewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We have traveled to Kenlake Resort and Miller golf course from WI with 4-8 men for a long golf weekend the past three years in February. We have stayed in two bedroom cottages each year. The kitchen has a microwave, stove, and refrigerator. The cottages are clean and provide all the necessary amenities, plus the staff is extremely cordial. The cost is very affordable in winter. Five rounds of golf at Miller and three nights stay at Kenlake cost us less than $200 per person.

I am a business travelor and seldom have seen the quality of service you will receive at Kenlake Resort. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place. We will continue to stay at Kenlake as long as we continue our annual golf trips. I would not hesitate to take a vacation with my family here.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoopster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We have stayed twice at the Kenlake State and Resort Park in a private three bedroom cottage. We have a family of 5 and the three bedroom cabin is such a wonderful options with 3 children, and very affordable at this state park. We take advantage of the beautiful pool overlooking Kentucky lake, the many playgrounds, golf course, the children's activities that the park offers daily with a list given to you when you check in (our favorite so far was the day the park ranger brought several animals for the children to see including a fox, a huge snake, large birds, a possum and other fascinating animals), and there is a wonderful restaurant in the lodge that we took advantage of when we weren't using the fully equipped kitchen in the cabin. But the best part of our stay is the location, just a few miles away is Land Between the Lakes with so many wonderful places to visit including the Bison Prairie, The homplace (an 1880's representation of a family's home and property including heirloom gardening, animals, outbuildings and literally they still work this farm and you can talk to all of the people there in their full costume-just a great learning experience for our kids!), a small zoo and if you drive to the north you can go to Pattie's 1880's Settlement for an amazing dinner and several shops in a wonderful quaint location. My children range in ages from 3 to 15 and they all enjoy visiting this place. If you had the opportunity to take advantage of the lake (if you owned a boat or rented one) this would be a fantastic spot for fishing and water sports as well. I highly recommend this state park and its facilities!!!

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardin
18.3 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
389 reviews
1 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#2 of 2 in Aurora
31 reviews
20.6 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Murray
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 9 in Murray
43 reviews
34.2 mi away
Pennyrile Forest State Resort Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenlake State & Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenlake State & Resort Park

Address: 542 Kenlake Rd, Highway 94, Hardin, KY 42048-9313
Location: United States > Kentucky > Hardin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardin
Price Range: $79 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kenlake State & Resort Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kenlake State & Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenlake State And Resort Park
Kenlake State & Resort Park Hotel Hardin
Kenlake State Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing