We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Giddeahall
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Crown Inn is set in the beautiful countryside very close to Castle Combe , yatton keynell and the outskirts of Chippenham. We are proud to serve locally sourced home cooked food created by our chefs. Serving times Monday through Saturday 12 till 9.30 we have a fantastic lunchtime menu. Alongside the lunch menu we have our evening menu. In the evening we have a classic British menu with a twist serving dishes like beef and ale pie to guineafowl.We have 9 letting rooms available all with Room only rates or bed and breakfast just check out our website all details and menus are available .
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

i was out with my friend last week and we pop in to the the crown inn , we had rump steak it was cook how i like it medium rare and my friend was the same , the food was very good and on time as well , we was very happy with the staff & the staff was very well mannered , i met the new owner david he was very sociable , i would recommend the crown inn for to food and there service , vince mason,

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 161vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    19
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best steak on a stone experience!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Beautiful surroundings with a welcoming and friendly staff and owner, excellent service and the food was out of this world! highly recommend trying the steak on a stone, beautiful meat and served with all the trimmings you require!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Warm and welcoming new owners and fab steak house”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We eat here tonight, and it was amazing! It is now a steak house in the evenings, and you cook your chosen steak at the table on the sizzling lava stones, it's fun and the steaks melt in the mouth. The new owners David and Anne are so lovely and welcoming, they deserve to do really well, it will be wonderful to see this lovely old pub come back to life! Just what it needs! So please go in and give it a go, I'm sure you won't be disappointed! We sure will be back! Thank you for a very nice evening!,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steakhouse concept a winner”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Having heard about the new owners and their volcanic rock steakhouse concept we thought we'd try it and we are so glad we did. Despite it being new and the staff still getting used to it we enjoyed very tasty Aberdeen Angus steaks which we cooked ourselves on volcanic rocks all served with well cooked chunky chips and a choice of sauces - a very novel and enjoyable experience and no excuses for your steak not to be cooked exactly how you want it! The staff were very friendly, keen and enthusiastic. Talking to David, Anne & Mary, mine hosts, they have exciting plans for the pub and for the volcanic rocks including fish. Along with a good range of real ales,beers & wines The Crown deserves to be a winner and we will certainly be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank NedB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“V Disaapointing - good place gone downhill bigtime”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited pub as a party of 8 for pre Xmas get together having successfully and enjoyably visited the pub in previous years but we will not be back in 2014. Very few cars in the car park so service should not have been a problem but it was. We were told that every thing was on the menu but having ordered we were told that there was only one venison pie ( we had ordered 2) and on trying to reorder found that other items were off the menu. We then waited about 50mins for the starters - one - king prawns- wrongly served as pate but this was corrected bya serving of small not king prawns. The venison pie and the sausages and mash felt as though they had just been reheated and the eggs served with the gammon were rubbery in the extreme. Pub had been nicely redecorated but with service and food quality like this, the new décor will be wasted. The empty car park should have warned us on a Saturday night in December......

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 
Biddestone, Wiltshire
Yatton Keynell, Chippenham
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing