We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food”

Old Stone Farmhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Stone Farmhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in North Side
Price range: $35 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Old Stone Farmhouse is an award winning, fine dining restaurant. Set in a wooded valley close to the 11th hole of the Mahogany Run Golf Course, this restaurant is located in a 200 year old restored field house on the lush countryside of St. Thomas. It was created as a stable for a nearby Danish sugar plantation, and the walls are more than 2 feet thick. Ceiling fans and breezes blowing through the valley keep the place cool. The building's distinctive character is shown with native stone walls, original hardwood floors, brick arches, and a charming covered palm-lined courtyard. The restaurant features "Chef Inspired" fine dining in an intimate and elegant atmosphere. The cuisine is ingredient driven and will change with each season. The Old Stone Farmhouse is one of the most romantic and elegant dinner settings anywhere, offering old-world charm and a second-to-none dining experience. Personalized attention makes dining here a delight.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was absolutely fabulous. The food was spectacular. We got to meet the chef and he explained the proteins for the night and how they were prepared. We decided to do the butcher block special and got to try many different things (antelope, kangaroo, etc.). It was an expensive meal but unforgettable and worth the price for a special night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NashShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    104
    73
    29
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food, phenomenal service, romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had the most enjoyable dining experience at the Old Stone Farmhouse last evening. The food was expertly prepared and it was a pleasure to meet the Executive Chef, Chris, who not only educated us on the fine protein board selections (right in the kitchen!) but also suggested the best way to have each one cooked. Without a doubt he enjoys and takes pride in what he does best! We took his advice and each ordered the petit scallops. My husband also had the petit wild boar and I had the petit antelope chop, each with a port wine vanilla demiglace. The accompaniments - beautifully piped potatoes and fresh sauteed vegetables - were flavorful and the entire meal was a feast for the eyes as well as the palate! Tim, our server, was fantastic, professional yet friendly, and found us the perfect wine to compliment our meal. Dessert was excellent as well - the Napoleon and the apple spring rolls - were just enough to finish the meal. And did I mention the coffee? French pressed and marvelous! We couldn't have asked for a better dining experience! See you again next year when we return to the island!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CallieBanana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went to the OST for a nice dinner out one evening. The grounds & restaurant was beautiful! They take you down to the kitchen to show you how & what they prepare. At this time they give you the opportunity to pick out the steak you may want for dinner. Everything we ate and drank was amazing, especially the scallops! Yum! Everything from our arrival to departure was perfect!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, delightful experience!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect from a farmhouse in the Virgin Islands, but it was outstanding in all respects. Tim, our server, was first rate, knew the wine list, and had the right amount of enthusiasm. We had the Butcher Block & highly recommend it : you go into the kitchen& the chef shows you all the land & sea proteins, explains the preparations & answers questions, the you choose your food. Everything was done exactly as advertised. Highly recommend this place!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KirbyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just go... you'll LOVE it!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

You really can't beat the atmosphere with the stone walls in the middle of a lush green space. The food choices are well thought out, so there's something for everyone. There seems to be a lot of thought put into the composition of each dish to accent the flavors. And, of course, everything was cooked perfectly.

We were in a group of 10, so we got to try most of the menu and everything was outstanding!

We went back to the kitchen to meet the chef and view the fresh fish and meat choices... really a nice touch!

The staff were very attentive and our glasses were never empty -- good thing we took a taxi van to and from the restaurant!

Whether you're a meat eater, fish, or vegetarian, you can't go wrong here. Definitely make reservations before you leave for your trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimNader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stone Farmhouse also viewed

Frenchtown, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Old Stone Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing