We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Wild Coast Destination”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willowvale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kob Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

During a business trip, our employer booked us at the Kob Inn (roughly half way between Mthatha and East London). Leaving the N2 at Dutywa, and after 30km of excellent tar road (not a pothole in sight) and 30km of not too bad gravel road - we arrived after dark. The first surprise was the lovely, comfortable and well-appointed and decorated room (Honeymoon suite with ball and claw bath in the bedroom and romantic dual showers overlooking the sea). After a warm welcome by the owner in the bar, we enjoyed a delicious meal - opting for a spicy oxtail for our main course. Went to sleep in the king size bed with the sound of waves breaking. The second surprise was the view next morning - this hotel is on the beach with waves rolling in on the rocks right up against the patio in front of the bar. We were fortunate to see dolphins and birds dive bombing and feeding in the sea close by. After a sumptuous breakfast, my wife went horse riding and enjoyed it tremendously. The rooms, public areas and grounds are immaculate - and the staff helpful and friendly. I was given a tour of the property by the owner - who personally manages the hotel. We wished we could have stayed longer, but will be back. We highly recommend it especially as a family holiday destination. Together with Mbotyi River Lodge further north on the coast, Kob Inn is also an off the beaten track destination that is truly worth while visiting.
PS! Thanks to Shaan-Ray and Yummy and other pony (can't remember his name now) for a nice outride. I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachJunkies30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a stunning place to go and find yourself again! Great to rest body and soul! Thanks to the hands on owners Daan & Violet and their lovely staff. We had a great stay. Our room had a great view and we felt save all the time. Thanks for the cheff's stunning home made food, we enjoyed every meal.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are absolutly great with most stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hadelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a fantastic place for families! Kobb Inn is relaxed, friendly and perfect for families with kids. We went with a group of friends and between us we had about 10 children! Everyone had a wonderful time - the beaches are so beautiful and have wonderful rock pools for children to explore. There are superb walks, canoes to hire, horses to ride and good fishing. The horse trails at Kobb Inn are a must - breathtaking scenery, beautiful stretches of beach to ride along and very responsive, well-behaved horses. The resort is very casual and, while some areas are a little shabby or dated, it is clean and well looked after throughout.The setting of this resort is second to none. Right on the sea and surrounded by remote rural beauty. It takes your breathe away every morning as you look out of your room. I would recommend Kobb Inn for anyone wanting a peaceful, beach/out-door oriented holiday (there are no shops and no town anywhere near by!). It's perfect for large groups and reunions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The wife and I were in Qora for the Easter weekend and although the weather was miserable managed to have a splendid time. we spent some time at the Kob Inn Hotel and were thouroughly impressed by the facility as a family holiday destination. We had a chance to chat to people from Johannesburg who mentioned they have been visiting the resort on their annual holidays for the last 50 odd years and we could understand why. Super layout with all the extra activities one normally only dreams of.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great people, great food, super location! A great place for everyone from honeymooners to couples with or without children.

They serve 3 hearty meals a day. There is a lounge / bar area right on the sea and very friendly staff to serve you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a great stay with a great deal of activity to keep one busy. The rooms are great. cannot get closer to the ocean without getting wet in the room!!. Staff across the board are extremely efficient and most importantly, super friendly. A fantastic holiday destination.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room .(1-14). dentral to all amenities and a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned to NY after an incredible family vacation at Kob Inn. From the time we were picked up from the East London airport & returned 8 days later, we were treated like royalty. This was our first time & had heard so many good reports. Well I have to say it exceeded our expectations in every way. We filled our days from sunrise to sunset, we did it all. The excellent management of this small slice of paradise was second to none. Food was exceptional, hotel facilities in tip top condition, friendly staff, rooms fantastic, horses easy to ride, quads in great condition, even the weather was perfect!
Thank you Kob Inn, it was simply magic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kob Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kob Inn Beach Resort

Address: Qorha River Mouth | Wild Coast Eastern Cape, Willowvale 5041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Wild Coast > Willowvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Hotel Class:3 star — Kob Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Kob Inn Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing