We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Imana Wild Ride Experience @ Kob Inn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willowvale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kob Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

A truly genuine experience. Not only were the usual facilities all there and top notch but what I found the most pleasant was the enthusiasm by the staff and the property owners, the Van Zyl's, to provide us riders with everything we needed. They enjoyed our Wild Ride Expereince as much as what we did - finding this in hospitatlity is rare these days, it was more than just a job they performed, it was a duty they were proud to serve. The food was absolutely perfect. When talking to the other riders, the sentiments were the same.

Room Tip: Try get a sea facing room, but that is only a bonus, the entire property is a 'good room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardSwale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to visit her family near Durban for Christmas and they suggested that coming from Australia I had to experience the Transkei and the Wild Coast. We packed the bags and headed off for Kob Inn.

On arrival I was overjoyed to see the place buzzing with activity. Lots of families enjoying themselves and the car park was almost full. Coming from Durban, we took an inland route rather than going through places like Umtata, which is a little dodgy. We went through Maclear etc. It's a little further, but a load more relaxing and scenic.

We were greeted by the friendly staff and the two resort staffies, before being shown to our bungalows. We were lucky enough to get some that were sea facing. The rooms are nice, with private bathrooms and little verandas where you can watch the sunrise over the water.

A personal hobby of mine whilst travelling is finding the perfect hidden places to have a nice drink and am pleased to say that Kob Inn has made the list. Their bar is wonderfully stocked and the patio is built right on the rocks overlooking the sea. It was absolutely brilliant to sit there as the sun was setting having cocktails and just not worrying about anything, watching some of the other guest try their luck at angling in the surf. One of the best places for a quiet drink I've ever visited throughout my world travels. The barmaids know how to make any cocktail or drink you could possibly want.

The next day we decided to walk from Kob Inn to Mazepa Bay along the beach. We boarded the little row boat ferry to cross the Qora River which flanks the hotel to the west. A lot of the families paddle up the river to take in the local wild life including sea eagles and schools of fish. Walking along the beach we saw the local herds of cows sunning themselves enjoying the beach, dunes and crashing waves like us. On our way back we were tailed by an inquisitive wild horse who eventually disappeared back into the hills.

Walking about 100m to the east you will find a little cove with a small beach that easily accommodated all the guest and more. The resort also has a pool, a tennis court and a shop for any necessities.

The food was lovely with the most brilliant thing being that the kids had their own eating time!! I think that was the best thing of all. The locally caught seafood, salads and meats all laid out in a buffet in the main lodge was delicious, with a lovely breakfast being served in a separate dining area.

Some of the local ladies come to the resort to sell beads and make lovely jewellery for the ladies. I can't say enough good things about the staff, who were very friendly and will bend over backwards to ensure that you have a wonderful time whilst staying with them.

I highly recommend Kob Inn for a relaxing getaway whilst in South Africa.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prob_been_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My heart beats fast everytime we crest the hill looking over Kob Inn and the fantastic view of the wild coast. The Location of the resort and friedliness of the staff make for a great break in the most beautifull suroundings. Saterday evenings seafood feast and the singing and dancing of the staff make a great end to a day in paradise. It is said that it is a privelage to experience the wild coast and we fully agree. Looking forward to our next trip

Room Tip: We like the rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BreezeInn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Having frequented Kob inn in the past and being absolutely blown away by the quality of the establishment, the food, helpful and insightful staff and the hotels unparalleled scenery, myself and my fiancée chose to use Kob inn for our wedding venue. When my marriage does actually last “till death do us part” it will in part be due to the way we began our married life. I would like to thank Kob inn, its staff and especially the owners (whom are actually involved with the hotels customers for a change) for the experience of a lifetime. The hotel blew away any and all expectations we had with everything from the food quality, amazing honeymoon suite to their unbelievable pricing and vista that stops you dead in your tracks. Thank you Kob inn, you have a “raving fan” for life.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites are a better quality than I experienced in a holiday to Mauritius for ten times the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

lost in the transkei wild coast, just surrounded by pure beauty and a fantastic hotel, friendly, helpful and efficient staff and lots or nothing to do - your choice

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

To the entire Kob Inn staff we want to say a huge thank you for a great December 2011. The staff are always so friendly, willing to help and go the extra mile, they make you feel like part of the family. Kob Inn is a great place to meet new and old friends. It is wonderful to know that you can park your car and enjoy the sea without traffic and the queues that are often found at the coast during the holiday season. It is awesome to be able to sit on your verandah or at the pub and gaze at the sea, which is medicine for your soul. The food was fantastic and we always looked forward to the "Kob Inn News." This is published at breakfast and helps to create a community vibe and often causes lots of laughter. The pool is right on the sea and it is just a short walk to the beach where you can explore many rock pools, catch fish and pick up shells. The Christmas and New Year celebrations are always lots of fun and many great stories can be told from both. We have been going to Kob Inn for 5 years and each year we count down the days to our next taste of tranquility at Kob Inn! (The Stanfords)

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank StanfordFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Over the years we have been to most destinations on the Wild Coast and rate Kob Inn as the most enjoyable, value for money resort and ideal location we have been to! We have just enjoyed the most wonderful Christmas and New Year holiday! Our 3 year old had an absolute ball and my husband and I were amazed at how he just slotted into the Kob Inn way of life from the minute we arrived! He turned into "Mister Independant" and we hardly ever saw him! He slept in his own room every night (something he has never done!) and learnt how to sign bar bills!!!! He was always partaking in activities, swimming, playing with friends and kept very busy and happy! Every single member of staff was a delight, friendly and nothing was too much effort!
We have decided that every December for as long as life allows, we will be spending at Kob Inn and we want our son to grow up with all his Christmas and New Year memories of Kob Inn and the friends he makes there. The Christmas and New Years festivities were top class and we were impressed that celebrations for the kids and adults were planned so well - everyone had fun and the food was absolutely out of this world - so much choice and top quality at every meal!
We look forward to returning this year and miss it already!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LynneManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kob Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kob Inn Beach Resort

Address: Qorha River Mouth | Wild Coast Eastern Cape, Willowvale 5041, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Wild Coast > Willowvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Hotel Class:3 star — Kob Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Kob Inn Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing