We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A quiet place to get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Spring Valley, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A quiet place to get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been going to this place for years. It is away from traffic. The place is just quiet and the views are great. Still plenty to do and you do not have to leave the lodge.They have a place to in the lodge that always has good food. If you are looking to get away this is great place to get away and just sit on the deck in rocking chairs and watch the humming birds. You can rent boats at the lake, they have nice swiming pool you can hike.

Room Tip: I think the views and the way the lodge is place any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
20
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The Refuge is nice. Items are being placed for divers and fish. Parking is not the best (drop off your gear and park at the lodge), but the water quality and fish life make up for that. They don't have a dive shop or air fills yet, but they are working on that and handicap access for divers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullannix930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review on Greenbo Lake and our new scuba refuge! We most certainly appreciate all your input to make it the best it possibly can be as this is a new venture for Kentucky State Parks. Please contact me for any questions, concerns or suggestions you may have while visiting Greenbo Lake and our scuba refuge. Caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent the Labor Day weekend at Greenbo and had a wonderful time. The lodge rooms themselves are basic hotel rooms. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. Each room also has a little deck on the back with chairs. The kids really enjoyed the pools. We rented a pontoon boat from the marina and cruised around the lake one evening. It was awesome. Beautiful and extremely memorable. One of our favorite things about the lodge was the restaurant. They serve awesome buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ate there every day and were really pleased with the variety. I'm a vegetarian and there were plenty of options for me too. Awesome country cooking. The staff was awesome and eager to please. There are hiking trails right outside the door and they were awesome. We took a little hike one night after dinner and saw a mama deer with baby and several frogs and lizards. The kids were in heaven. I highly recommend this place. We are going to make it a Labor Day weekend tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for the nice review on Greenbo Lake. Please contact me upon your next vist and let us know any needs you may have during your plans to come visit us next Labor Day. Thank you again! Caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Exellent staff. Very clean and extremely Quiet facility.The room was very comfortable with a soft bed and nice linen. The shower had a strong stream. No unusual smells.We stayed on the first floor so we had a back door that looked out on a tiny patio with 2 chairs. We walked down in the back to a beautiful fishing pier. Wished we had taken our poles. It looked promising for fishing.
The lake was very clear.
The Continental breakfast was normal with rolls and coffee and juice.
The buffet was very tasty with fried chicken, catfish, and alfredo.
Everything was priced reasonable.
We were disappointed that there was no newspapers to buy.
We loved the wooden rocking chairs out on the porch.
I would love to stay there again. Nice place for senior citizens.
We were celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Greenbo Lake. Please contact me upon your next stay and we will make sure you get a newspaper and anything else you may need while with us. Caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from taking our 2 grandchildren, ages 5 & 7, to Greenbo Lake State Park for a week. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the lodge, with its huge fireplace & gigantic coffee tables in the lobby that are perfect for playing board games! Our spacious third-floor room had 2 comfortable double beds & a private balcony just right for reading & watching the birds & squirrels. The dining room had a splendid view of the lake & offered delicious meals - we ate catfish till I thought we'd burst, & the kids really pigged out on ice cream with fudge syrup! We took along some artificial flowers for decorating the older, no-longer-tended gravestones in the park's tiny cemetery, & also took our own golf balls & favorite putters for the cute little mini-golf course. The kids LOVED the Foosball tables in the basement rec room & the pontoon boat we rented for 4 hours, & they had a ball swimming in the lodge pool [with large separate kiddie pool] & also in the near-by community pool. We saw at least a dozen deer in the park that were close enough that we got good photos of them, & there was a magnificent blue heron & some baby geese down at the lake. The entire park, with its gorgeous lake, well-equipped playgrounds, historic one-room schoolhouse, old iron ore furnace, numerous hiking trails, & absolute peace & quiet, is our favorite place in this part of the country! It's definitely off-the-beaten-path, but it's well worth the effort to spend a few days here. We've been coming back every year since our first visit in 1976, & we'll be there again in 2014.

Room Tip: There are ground-level, "accessible" rooms available which offer patios, but we prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Windy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently stayed at Greenbo Lake State Park and loved it. The staff were super nice and the Park Manager even greeted us and checked on us during our stay. The restaurant was good for a park, but the Chef prepared a steak for me that was not even on the menu and was fantastic, WOW! The lake was one of the most beautiful I have ever seen, definately rent a pontoon and cruise that lake. We caught fish all morning as a deer watched us from the shore. We will be back.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor, vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and please contact me the upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have now stayed twice at this lodge located at Greenbo State Park in eastern Kentucky. This is an older lodge and the rooms do show it's age for the most part, however, if you stay here knowing that it isn't a 5 star hotel and not expecting it to have all the poshness of a nicer hotel, you may just find that the down home feeling here is good enough to overcome it's shortfalls. I love the location personally, although you must note it is pretty far off the beaten path. Come with all you need for your stay. The onsite restaurant is buffet style and I do not give it high marks, only average. You should be able to find something on there that appeals to you unless you are very picky. The rooms are large enough, the bed is comfy enough, and what I love is the fact you either have an extra door that opens to a roomy lawn area, or to a balcony if you stay on the second or third floor. I prefer the lower floor since I love to open my door and hear the birds and sit out on my back porch area. Now, the décor is dated, but the room was clean. The price is very reasonable and the staff was super friendly. There is a nice common area in the main lobby with comfy oversized furniture and a fireplace. Down in the lower level is a pool table and ping pong table. There is an outdoor pool, small lake for fishing or canoeing and some hiking trails. I like the outdoorsy feel here but I know it may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms seem extremely well insulated from sound. The lower floor has direct access to a small p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phenry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, we most certainly appreciate your patronage. Please contact me on your next stay with us, thank you again for chosing Greenbo Lake State Resort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenup
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
11.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
14.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Property: Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Address: West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144
Location: United States > Kentucky > Greenup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) Hotel Greenup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing