We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit to this lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Lanesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Second Visit to this lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have now stayed twice at this lodge located at Greenbo State Park in eastern Kentucky. This is an older lodge and the rooms do show it's age for the most part, however, if you stay here knowing that it isn't a 5 star hotel and not expecting it to have all the poshness of a nicer hotel, you may just find that the down home feeling here is good enough to overcome it's shortfalls. I love the location personally, although you must note it is pretty far off the beaten path. Come with all you need for your stay. The onsite restaurant is buffet style and I do not give it high marks, only average. You should be able to find something on there that appeals to you unless you are very picky. The rooms are large enough, the bed is comfy enough, and what I love is the fact you either have an extra door that opens to a roomy lawn area, or to a balcony if you stay on the second or third floor. I prefer the lower floor since I love to open my door and hear the birds and sit out on my back porch area. Now, the décor is dated, but the room was clean. The price is very reasonable and the staff was super friendly. There is a nice common area in the main lobby with comfy oversized furniture and a fireplace. Down in the lower level is a pool table and ping pong table. There is an outdoor pool, small lake for fishing or canoeing and some hiking trails. I like the outdoorsy feel here but I know it may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: The rooms seem extremely well insulated from sound. The lower floor has direct access to a small p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phenry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, we most certainly appreciate your patronage. Please contact me on your next stay with us, thank you again for chosing Greenbo Lake State Resort Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
20
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Structurally, Kentucky State Park lodges are very similar - the architecture, amenities, facilities, and peaceful, though remote, settings. The similarity stops there for this lodge. The dining room was closed (the nearest food was miles away, at a country store/deli), except for a pathetic continental breakfast. My TV remote control batteries (AAA) were dead - the clerk couldn't find AAA's, so rather than provide me with a remote from another room (of which there were plenty), I was stuck changing channels and sound manually. What struck me most odd was the absence of FOX News - though listed on the channel guide, it could not be received (but CNN, MSNBC, and the major networks were all available). No explanation was available.
My wife and I have been staying at Kentucky Park lodges for 30 years - never again.

Room Tip: nearly all rooms have wonderful views; some overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tominfairfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Please contact me personally at caryq.lyle@ky.gov we would love another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
386 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was driving from Virginia to Kentucky at the end of a long trip and thought it would be nice to drive a bit out of my way to stay at a state park resort as opposed to a roadside motel. WRONG!!! This place is not one iota better than a budget motel. The décor is stark and unpleasant and the rooms seem to have last been appointed in the seventies. Having been somewhat shocked by the room, I decided to ignore it and go for a good dinner. Things only got worse: one of the worst buffets I have ever encountered. Soggy fried catfish (with a peculiar taste); ditto for the chicken. Was able to eat an overly sweet ham. Something called a cabbage casserole (I love cabbage) was a mish-mosh of goop that didn't taste a thing like cabbage, at least not fresh cabbage. I went back to my "rustic" room and ate bag of peanuts. I actually considered driving on that night, but decided the room was at least fairly clean if not comfortable. And the tv worked. Finally got up at 5 AM and departed, happy to never see the Greenbo State Resort again -- poor Jesse Stuart, what an awful tribute to one of Kentucky's greatest authors.

Room Tip: A view of the lake and woods is the only thing the rooms have to offer, so be sure to get a good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gstrange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Please contact me personally at caryq.lyle@ky.gov we would like for you to give us another chance to exceed your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The place is definitely very peaceful, Resturaunt food and desserts were awesome. You can tell some homemade stuff is made here. Balconies are very private. All staff was very polite and helpful. Definitely would recommend. Only complaint is I could think of. I wish there was queen or king beds on upper floors.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessed5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments, we most certainly appreciate you picking Greenbo Lake State Resort Park as your destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Positives-It is quiet and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathroom needs a lot of work.
My main complaint is with the restaurant. They only offer a buffet which consists of a not fresh salad bar and deep fat fried food. if you want anything a tad healthy forget it. And I would have loved a glass of wine at the end of a long hike but since they do not serve alcohol bring your own. Unfortunately you are trapped here when it comes to eating since the nearest town is 45 minutes away.
They staff is disorganized. I left my hiking shoes in the room and when I fist called they told me they weren't there. I had to call back and insist they look again. Sure enough they had them. After all that they said they would charge me for shipping. It is five days later and the shoes still have not arrived.
Its a beautiful park and there may not be anywhere else to stay. Ask for a room with a refrigerator and if at all possible bring your own food.

Room Tip: Get one with a refrigerator. It is worth the 5.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Please contact me personally at caryq.lyle@ky.gov as we would really like another chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you for chosing Greenbo Lake State Resort Park as your destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Rooms are VERY dated. Restaurant menu selections very limited. Very quiet very quiet. I could do without the twangy CW music? Here to work a sewing retreat. Did I mention no adult beverages? I feel like Lisa in the old tv show Green Acres!

Room Tip: Bring snacks and drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patgal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at Greenbo Lake. It is input from our guests that make us the best we can be. Please contact me upon your next visit. caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The staff at this state owned lodge will do everything they can to make your stay great. Although the rooms are somewhat dated its something one can overlook for the price. The portions they serve at dinner are enormous and well worth the value. Again, the wait staff is awesome .

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor appear much more spacious because they have cathedral ceilings. Its a quiet retr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexanderohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary L, General Manager at Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the great comments. Please contact me upon your next stay.

caryq.lyle@ky.gov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenup
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
11.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
14.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Property: Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Address: West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144
Location: United States > Kentucky > Greenup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) Hotel Greenup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing