We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful property with a very friendly staff!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenup
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Kentucky
Level Contributor
386 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Wonderful property with a very friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My sweetie and I did the Valentine package a couple of weeks and we had a great time! This property is overlooking the lake and has a restaurant. There isn't really much else to do, especially in the winter time, but it is so peaceful and wonderful place for couples to go. The Valentine's Package was very nice--with a room, dinner for two and a show. We had a wonderful time and would go back for some of the package deals!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentuckyTravelBug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
21
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a really good Lodge one of many in the Kentucky park system. The lodge had a great new years eve party with many people and a great time was had by all attending. The lodge has a calming effect on you, walk the trails even in the winter time. You should leave all your electronics at home and just get away from the electronic leash world.

Room Tip: "2nd and 3rd floors have balcony's"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stay at this Lodge quite often because it is near our son's house. It is so quiet and peaceful there. The Lodge is not new, but the rooms are nice and very comfortable. The beds a comfortable. Each room has a balcony overlooking the lake. They serve free continental breakfast in the off season and a bigger breakfast in the travel season. It is a great value for the money. Rates are as low as $45.00 in the off season but could be up to $105.00 on weekends in the summer. They have hiking trails, tennis courts, play ground, an outdoor pool, pontoon rental and fishing, just to mention a few.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruiser843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Clean , Quite , Hiking , good food , inexpenive , great staff . Staying at Greenbo state park in Kentucky was a restful experience . For seniors during the week it can't be beat !
First , the rate of $45.00 a day plus a free breakfast , eggs, danish, bisk., oats, toast, juice, milk , coffee, muffin, cereal , and more . Do the math , 2 people breakfast w/ tip $20.00 elsewhere . Now take this off the $45.00 per night , = $25.00+tax per night . What a deal ! Lunch and dinner prices were very reasonable and the staff was off the charts with service .
The place is beauitful ..The Jesse Stuart Resort is cool and the price is right .

Room Tip: just ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon7743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Greenbo. The rooms are small but sufficient for what we needed. We really enjoy the pool and renting the pontoon boat. It is a must if you really want to understand why people come back to Greenbo! The water is clear enough to see the fish swimming.

The game room does have some broken items but the ping pong table made for a great laugh every night.

The staff is wonderful and very friendly. The front desk, the staff at the marina and the manager Carey was really helpful in making Greenbo the spot for a great family trip on a tight budget!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcatjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I booked this property while visiting friends in the area. After staying in an underwhelming Days Inn during our last visit, we were stunned to find this property equally priced. Although it's a bit remote (it took us about 40 minutes to get to Flatwoods), it was a very beautiful little park that provided a nice, relaxing weekend for the both of us.

The property requires driving about 12 miles down winding, hilly roads. Once you are at the park, the directions to the lodge are very well marked. The lodge itself is typical state park, although the doors open to the outside. The facility is very clean and well kept. Although we did not eat at the restaurant, it did have quite a few patrons, even for an off-season weeknight. The room is smallish, with wood-paneled walls and wooden supported ceilings. The furnishings were simple, but functional. The balcony was a very nice touch, with two chairs which overlooked the woods and the playground. We got a very restful, quiet night of sleep.

Both of the pools (hotel and public) were closed, so we cannot comment on those facilities.

While there, we hiked several of the trails. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Although an avid reader and resident of Kentucky, I'd never gotten around to discovering Kentucky native Jesse Stuart until my stay here, where the lodge library afforded me a selection of his works, both prose and poetry. Great to read by the pool, on the balcony, or resting on a bench by the beautiful lake. Interesting to see the old schoolhouse where he first taught as well as learn the history of iron-forging in this region. Yummy dining (the Hot Brown is recommended), a clean and comfortable room, and friendly and competent staff all made for a great overnighter. Another fine KY state resort park.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank otterhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenup
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
11.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
14.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)

Property: Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge)
Address: West KY Hwy 1711, HC 60, Box 562, Greenup, KY 41144
Location: United States > Kentucky > Greenup
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Greenbo Lake State Resort (Jesse Stuart Lodge) Hotel Greenup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing