We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailed the lake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Landing Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We rented an all day sailboat excursion. The staff was awesome, very informational and friendly. The boys loved being on the lake all day learning to sail the Colgate 26. We thought the cost was very affordable, and loved the sailing experience on a boat built for training.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. We found Lighthouse Landing on tripadvisor. Everything was as advertised on their website. We arrived a little early but could not check in before 3pm because the cottage was still being cleaned. I was a little worried because there were a lot of trailers parked on the way to our cottage. I should not have worried. The cottage was worth the wait. The cottage was immaculate. We brought some kitchen items along with our groceries but found that we did not need them because the cottage was so well equipped. We stayed in N-7 and had a fabulous view of the lake and wildlife. Although N-7 is between two other cottages, the foliage really makes it seem more secluded. I also highly recommend the sailing lessons. We had never been on a sailboat before and after a two hour lesson, we felt comfortable keeping the sailboat for the rest of the day on our own. We definitely plan to come back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank grendelpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wow, I cannot say enough wonderful things about Lighthouse Landing. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage. It was very, very clean and well kept. The appliances were cleaned and worked wonderfully! I could hardly believe the nice cottage we got for a relatively cheap price. The spa tub was wonderful and large enough for two people to sit comfortably! The bed was nice (a bit hard but most are) and we slept great. Kitchen is stocked with pots, pans, plates, and other needed cooking utensils, and the fridge was small but we did not bring much. We loved our cottage so much, we hardly ventured out. We just relaxed and enjoyed our time! Our view was so beautiful, and thought the other cottages are close, we did not hear a peep or even notice that there were others around us. If you have more than one car, parking might be an issue. But I don't reccommend splitting the one bedroom with anyone, including children (they do have bigger cottages for families). We did not check out their other properties but I am positive they are just as nice as the cottage. Our anniversary trip was so special because of Lighthouse Landing! Highly reccommend if you are in the LBL area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_AJMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights in a cottage at Lighthouse Landing over the 4th of July. I will say that we were more than pleased with the accommodations and location. The view from our cottage (S9) was gorgeous! At night, we could see numerous fireworks displays. There is also a marina at the resort, so you can even bring your own boat. We were also very pleased with the cottage itself. Well equipped kitchen and the cottage was very clean and well maintained. The one bedroom cottage we had was perfect for a couple looking to get away for the weekend. The bed was super comfortable too! We cannot wait to visit again next year! Make your reservations in advance!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent three nights in cabin N8, meeting family from various other locations.

The rental was exactly as pictured and did indeed offer views of the lake. It was plenty of space for the 6 of us who stayed there.

The cottage was clean. The mattresses were quite nice and allowed for restful sleep. We appreciated that little things were available to us, like dish soap, paper towels, salt and pepper, etc.

We enjoyed access to the lake and the availability of the fire rings.

The check in process was easy and the staff was very helpful when asked for directions and dining recommendations.

I would alert any future travelers that they should stop for groceries before Grand RIvers as the only grocery store had very limited choices.

Room Tip: All of the north cottages seemed to offer views of the lake. I am uncertain as to the cottages on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen_and_Mike_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We celebrated our 12th anniversary at Lighthouse Landing. As other reviewers have commented, the units are very clean, which is a very important criteria for me. The view from our unit was spectacular, as it was right on the lake. Our unit was very quiet, despite the neighboring cottages being only about 8 feet away from us. The location is good, with easy access to Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area and a short walk to the small town of Grand Rivers.

The one-bedroom unit we rented had a full-size bed, which I did not realize until our first night there. In addition to being small, the bed was too soft, and I never got a good night's sleep.

I didn't realize there are two large RV areas on the property, nor did I realize how close together the cottages would be. I was hoping for a more secluded feel.

We rented a sailboat during our stay and enjoyed getting out to see the lake, since we didn't have a boat of our own.

At $130 per night for a one-bedroom, this place offers a great value. If you are looking for more privacy or a queen-size or larger bed, a different spot will be a better fit for you.

Room Tip: Cottages S13 and S14 are very close to RV park. S1 and S2 are at the front of the access road, so lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30StatesCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S, Manager at Lighthouse Landing Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your anniversary stay and were able to sail with us as well. We just wanted to clarify that all of our one bedroom cottages on the south side of the resort (“S” cottages) do indeed have queen size beds. The only one bedroom units with double beds (2 in each cottage) are N3 and N4 on our north side. Some of our cottages are more secluded without sacrificing the view that Lighthouse Landing is known for. Please check our resort map on the website for cottage locations. Your comments are appreciated; please keep us in mind for a future getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been traveling to Ky for work and staying all over western Ky; however, this last time I stayed on the lake.. what an awesome place to stay. very clean, friendly staff and overall amazing place. the cabin had a full kitchen, private balcony and big tub.. after working all day it was nice to kick back and relax by the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kelliwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rivers
2.8 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
382 reviews
3.4 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
181 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
17.3 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
3.7 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilbertsville
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Landing Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Landing Resort & Marina

Address: 320 E Commerce Ave, Grand Rivers, KY 42045-9018
Location: United States > Kentucky > Grand Rivers
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Grand Rivers
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint lakeside cottages provide you with the privacy and comfort you expect whether on vacation or a weekend getaway. All 1, 2, or 3 bedroom cottages have exceptional views of Kentucky Lake and are equipped with kitchen, deck, barbecue grill, ceiling fan, air conditioning, cable TV/DVD, WiFi and most have a gas log stove and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Landing Resort & Marina Hotel Grand Rivers
Lighthouse Landing Resort And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing