We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Reunion Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We attended a recent family reunion held here. It offers a nice blend of activities for kids, older folks, etc. The restaurant was acceptable and the staff very friendly. The rooms were a little small but, very well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morbarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Kentucky Dam Village State Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 381 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

I wasn't sure after reading other reviews but I booked this for 4th of July weekend and wasn't sure I could get in anywhere else. The view from the balcony is wonderful. We just walked down the hill from our room to see fireworks on the lake. It definitely needs some updating and could use a microwave and a mini fridge in the room. But, we enjoyed our stay. Might need some protection against bugs in the bathroom. Not bad but, could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big4ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Although the lodge was not full (it was very obvious), the front desk person was very unwilling to give us a second floor room. We wanted a second floor room because we thought those rooms had a better view and we wanted to have a balcony. Finally she told us the only room available us an accessible room. We took it as there was no other choice. For the price, room/bed/bathroom quality was not that great. The rooms need renovation and all the equipments need updating. View from the balcony was nice. And the restaurant was wonderful - great food and extremely friendly staff. We would go back to the restaurant if we ever get a chance - but will not stay in the lodge again. I am giving 3 starts because of the restaurant - without which the lodge deserves 2 stars.

Room Tip: We did not care about it, but if you don't like stairs, get a second floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SECON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was clean. Kids were disappointed because there was no wifi. No microwave or fridge. Older room, but I expected it. Property was clean. The location is great, lots to do in the area. Pool closed at dusk so we couldn't swim, we arrived after dusk. We needed a place to stay while traveling. We have family staying at marina so this was perfect. Last year we stayed in cabins and they were great, if you are staying for awhile stay in cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ltfly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in the Village Green, which is located by the golf course. As previous reviewers have stated, rooms are definitely dated. It was clean upon our arrival. I can't remember the last place we stayed in at this price point that didn't have a flat screen TV, and one that couldn't be turned on by the remote (luckily there were instructions). The beds are doubles, which we knew when we booked our stay, and were comfortable, but the pillows were very lumpy. Housekeeping came by after our first night, and I had to ask for our bedding to be changed. After the second night, housekeeping stopped by before 9 AM, and again asked if we needed anything. I just asked for towels, thinking she would be back to take out trash, make beds, etc. When we came back to our room later in the afternoon, nothing had been done. Walls are also very thin. There is a seating area in the lobby, and we could hear people talking all the way in our room at the end of the hall. The beach is accessible to the public and very small. We spend more time at the pool. It was a nice visit to Kentucky Lake, but we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The rooms are in need of updating as the décor seems to be stuck in the 80's or 90's. That aside, the staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms have a nice view of the lake from the balcony. The bed was comfortable. The price was a little high in my opinion for a property in need of modernizing. It was adequate for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvRaccoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

It's after 2am and I'm writing this review instead of sleeping. I can't sleep in part because the bed I'm in is incredibly uncomfortable but also because I just saw a huge rodent run across the bedroom. When we pulled up earlier we were disappointed with the state of the cottage from the outside. It looked very run down but then when we walked in it smelled terrible. Lights were blown. The furniture had a layer of dust. The space just looked neglected and like it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while. We later learned the bathroom door would only shut if you slammed it but wouldn't close all the way and then had to be forced back open. The toilet had to be flushed multiple times before anything would go down. There's so many issues. The icing on the cake is how rude the staff was when we brought up our issues. The housekeeping staff said ALL of the accommodations here are filled with rodents and they don't seem to care that they pose a health hazard. The front desk clerk also was aware of the rodents and made me feel ridiculous that it bothered me to sleep with them. No apologies for anything. Lots of others in the group had problems with their rooms as well. I'm pretty sure there's a level of cleanliness and care they should be providing to match the hefty price tag here. They offered to move us to a possibly cleaner cottage if we paid more money. If we hadn't been here for a wedding we would've packed up and left immediately. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else if you're in this area.

Stayed: June 2014
7  Thank Masharra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilbertsville
18.2 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
3.3 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilbertsville
22 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Gilbertsville
Econo Lodge Gilbertsville
#5 of 6 in Gilbertsville
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentucky Dam Village State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentucky Dam Village State Park

Address: 166 Upper Village Drive, 113 Administration Drive, PO Box 69, Gilbertsville, KY 42044
Location: United States > Kentucky > Gilbertsville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Price Range: $81 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kentucky Dam Village State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kentucky Dam Village State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentucky Dam Village State Park Hotel Gilbertsville
Park Inn Gilbertsville
Gilbertsville Park Inn
Kentucky Dam Village State Park Gilbertsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing