We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Kentucky State Park in decline!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was the 8th or 9th year our family gathered here, usually reserving 2 large cabins for the Labor Day weekend. Budgetary cut backs have had serious effect. This park is a fantastic venue with full service marina, lodge, cabins, golf course, riding stable, and more. I left with the impression that management has "given up". Many $$ used to update cabins inside while letting dead trees stand in dangerous places, weeds ignored, some pavillions abandoned and closed. Employees and contractors are following managements lead--customer service has also been abandoned--part time employees are not trained or supervised--lot of confusion and wasted time.

Room Tip: You can reserve a cabin up to 2 years in advance, not a specific cabin, just one of them--UNLESS yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JROHernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

JROHernando

I want to thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay with us here at Kentucky Dam Village. Every review provided by our recent guests is shared with all of the team in an effort to improve our service to future guests.

Your statements disturb me. For one of our guests to have such impressions are a concern. I would have to say with our current State funding availability, we attempt to provide the best quality experience to each of our guests. Your reference to abandoned pavilions is erroneous, there are none such facilities here. In addition, every tree which is of a concern is attended too. Your reference to favoritism regarding lodging is curious to me. What would have given you this response? This is something which is untrue. We do our best to assign those guests who reserve based on the needs requested. However, we do not directly assign lodging until day of arrival due to possible issues which could develop.

Again, I am sorry you received these impressions during your stay. These are issues we take seriously. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Until this time

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We planned a family trip over the Labor Day weekend. The cabin we rented was two bed/one bath. It was nice but considerably "aged" and well worn. It reminded me of a church camp that was struggling to get by - not a Kentucky State Park in such a vacation oriented location. The toaster had an element sticking out of the top. The refrigerator leaked water on the floor from underneath the unit (apparently from the ice maker). There were a couple of roaches spotted when we first arrived. It appeared there were newer and larger cabins in the same area. If you plan to visit (and yes, we will again), you would be wise to call ahead and ask about details and layouts. Particularly if you are pulling a boat that you will need to park at night. Some had nice screened in porches. I know state funds are limited and I truely believe KDV is doing very well with what they have avaialbe.

Room Tip: Cabins? Asked about layouts, screen porches and parking for trailered boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

*** 3 stars. Loved our weekend at LAND BETWEEN THE LAKES. we stayed at Ky Dam Village cottage #144. Rustic, beautiful setting near the water. Very Clean inside, even though old. We loved the cabin, cottage atmosphere. The buffet at the Lodges restaurant was absolutely awesome!! And a great deal. $7.99 adults, $4.99 kids. We are returning in the fall!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage, and loved the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Sherri M.

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know about your recent stay. Yes, our cottages are great for seclusion and quiet. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time.

See you next time.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom cottage. It was very clean inside and pretty well equipped. The kitchen could have used a few more cooking utensils if you were going to be doing a lot of cooking but for breakfast and light cooking, it was fine. The only part that turned me off was the outside. We would take our coffee out on the small patio with the cobwebs and spiders to have coffee each morning. A little bug spray would have gone a long way. Even with that, we would definitely stay here again. Each cottage has enough room around it that it doesn't feel like a subdivision. The open spaces feeling is very appealing to me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacyAB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

MacyAB53

Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your kind words. Yes, the pests this year have been substantial. We have been sprayed a couple of times this year by the State agency; however, with all the past mild winter and moisture this summer, we have had a number of struggles. We continue to combat the issues with our regular pest control plan.

Do hope you join us again.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On our recent trip out west we made a quick overnight stop at this Lodge. The golf course was the main draw as my husband likes to play golf along the way. He really enjoyed this course. We stayed at the Lodge. The room was okay with a nice view but needed a good cleaning. Their was major dust on the AC vents. The restaurant was okay also. It was an average place for an overnight visit but I would not want to spend a whole week there.

Room Tip: Upper level for a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dee G

Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay with us here at Kentucky Dam Village. It is AWESOME to hear your husband enjoyed our golf course. It is truely is great condition this season. I do apologize for the dust in the A/C vents. We will certainly take the time to address this issue before additional guests come to stay with us.

Hope to see you again

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My group of friends gathered at KY Dam Village State Park, choosing to celebrate our annual (but roving) reunion due to location. We rented a cottage for two nights. It was a beautiful setting with the woods and near the marina. One of the girls noticed a mouse dropping on the bed. We brushed it off, removed the bedspread & determined we would survive since we had not seen any other evidence of mice in the kitchen or elsewhere. I made mention of the dropping when I dropped off payment at the front desk. "Well, you are in the country and mice are just part of it." Nice as can be, the clerk advised us to call if there was any other problem and we could move to another cottage. There were small ants in the kitchen. We dealt with that. However, at bed time - there was a spider on the sheets when we pulled back the covers and we found more droppings on one of the other bedspreads. After a sleepless night with dreams of spiders, mice & other invaders; we called & the staff came out to change out all the bedding with new spreads for every bed. They were were polite and speedy quick to complete our requests. That night, as we sat around play games, a mouse was running around the living room & kitchen area, trying to evade our feet. This reunion, unfortunately, will be remembered for the critters rather than the relaxing accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nosyrosysweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

nosyrosysweetpea

Thanks for letting us know about your situation. Yes, I am concerned too about the evidently nonplussed response from our staff when you raised your issue regarding the pests in your accommodations. This of course is not our expectation or considered to be acceptable! Though the rain and weather has caused extra issues this summer with pests here at Kentucky Dam Village, such an experience such as yours is not acceptable. I will be sharing your experience with the entire team here at Kentucky Dam so as to adequately address this situation with our future guests.

Hope you will come back and try us again.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having grown up nearby, but no longer in the area, it's really good to know that I can get a room at the lodge, and have a clean and comfortable room in a wonderful location with the marina, the lake all just steps away. The dining room with the lake view is always a pleasure (and we've had many good family meals there over the years).

Please keep in mind, travelers; this is a state park, so you'll do yourself a disservice if you expect the rooms to be the same as in a Hilton or such.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sjy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

sjy66

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Kentucky Dam Village. Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought.

Hope to see you again.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilbertsville
3.3 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
186 reviews
1 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilbertsville
23 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Calvert City
Days Inn Calvert City
#2 of 2 in Calvert City
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentucky Dam Village State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentucky Dam Village State Park

Address: 166 Upper Village Drive, 113 Administration Drive, PO Box 69, Gilbertsville, KY 42044
Location: United States > Kentucky > Gilbertsville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Price Range: $65 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kentucky Dam Village State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kentucky Dam Village State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentucky Dam Village State Park Hotel Gilbertsville
Park Inn Gilbertsville
Gilbertsville Park Inn
Kentucky Dam Village State Park Gilbertsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing