We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick overnight stop”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On our recent trip out west we made a quick overnight stop at this Lodge. The golf course was the main draw as my husband likes to play golf along the way. He really enjoyed this course. We stayed at the Lodge. The room was okay with a nice view but needed a good cleaning. Their was major dust on the AC vents. The restaurant was okay also. It was an average place for an overnight visit but I would not want to spend a whole week there.

Room Tip: Upper level for a better view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dee G

Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay with us here at Kentucky Dam Village. It is AWESOME to hear your husband enjoyed our golf course. It is truely is great condition this season. I do apologize for the dust in the A/C vents. We will certainly take the time to address this issue before additional guests come to stay with us.

Hope to see you again

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    141
    58
    33
    13
See reviews for
149
120
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My group of friends gathered at KY Dam Village State Park, choosing to celebrate our annual (but roving) reunion due to location. We rented a cottage for two nights. It was a beautiful setting with the woods and near the marina. One of the girls noticed a mouse dropping on the bed. We brushed it off, removed the bedspread & determined we would survive since we had not seen any other evidence of mice in the kitchen or elsewhere. I made mention of the dropping when I dropped off payment at the front desk. "Well, you are in the country and mice are just part of it." Nice as can be, the clerk advised us to call if there was any other problem and we could move to another cottage. There were small ants in the kitchen. We dealt with that. However, at bed time - there was a spider on the sheets when we pulled back the covers and we found more droppings on one of the other bedspreads. After a sleepless night with dreams of spiders, mice & other invaders; we called & the staff came out to change out all the bedding with new spreads for every bed. They were were polite and speedy quick to complete our requests. That night, as we sat around play games, a mouse was running around the living room & kitchen area, trying to evade our feet. This reunion, unfortunately, will be remembered for the critters rather than the relaxing accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nosyrosysweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
nosyrosysweetpea

Thanks for letting us know about your situation. Yes, I am concerned too about the evidently nonplussed response from our staff when you raised your issue regarding the pests in your accommodations. This of course is not our expectation or considered to be acceptable! Though the rain and weather has caused extra issues this summer with pests here at Kentucky Dam Village, such an experience such as yours is not acceptable. I will be sharing your experience with the entire team here at Kentucky Dam so as to adequately address this situation with our future guests.

Hope you will come back and try us again.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having grown up nearby, but no longer in the area, it's really good to know that I can get a room at the lodge, and have a clean and comfortable room in a wonderful location with the marina, the lake all just steps away. The dining room with the lake view is always a pleasure (and we've had many good family meals there over the years).

Please keep in mind, travelers; this is a state park, so you'll do yourself a disservice if you expect the rooms to be the same as in a Hilton or such.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sjy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
sjy66

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Kentucky Dam Village. Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought.

Hope to see you again.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed at the village here multiple times and it seems that it has progressively gotten worse the last few times. This time we have spider webs inside the room by the door. Our alarm clock was unplugged so when I went to plug it in the chord was covered with a thick netting of cobwebs and dead bugs. Upon further investigation I pulled the bed back from the wall and to my horror discovered a small spider still alive living in a web he had made between the mattress and the wall. The floor by where the headboard hangs had multiple webs and dead spiders, roaches and other bugs. I woke up in the middle of the night to use the restroom and found a hairy, multiple legged insect hanging in the ceiling over our bed! I had to wake my fiancé up so I could stand on the bed to kill it. The maid came to clean our room while we were gone and we disnt even get our floor swept or anything...dirt, bugs, and webs still everywhere. I'm actually not sure how the place can operate in this condition it should be against the law. Will probably try to find a different resort next time I don't see paying $100 bucks a night to live in filth and infestation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmjone02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Jmjone02

Thanks for taking a moment to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry your lodging was not up to the standards you required. True our pests this summer have been a handful with the extra rain and cool weather. However, this is not an excuse for the extra issues. I will be sharing your review with the rest of the team here at Kentucky Dam Village in an effort to address the situations so we are more prepared for our future guests.

It is evident you have been here before, I do hope one negative experience does not stop from a return.

Until then

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The weather was less than cooperative, the park offered a great variety of options from which to choose! We have 3 kids and they all got to do something they enjoyed.
There was horsebackriding, beaches, fishing, the facility worked for all of us plus my mother who has alzheimers so we have to keep an eye on her....it was great.
the only thing I would have preferred a better variety of cooking utensils.

Room Tip: the map is not to scale... numbers are not always visible but once you figure it out it is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BethBoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
BethBoland

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the rain. Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you back again.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here 3 times and always have a nice relaxing time. Our trip was to get away from it all, so we did not use technology much. Rooms are a little dated, but always clean, comfortable and affordable. We ate at Harbor Lights, the restaurant at the lodge, and it was wonderful. The food was much better than I had expected and the service was excellent, the dining room also faces the lake for a beautiful view. We also always make a point to eat at Patti's where reservations are a must on the weekends.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main road. There is a lot of traffic at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Malea B

It is great you hear you have enjoyed your stay again here at Kentucky Dam Village. Thanks for letting us know. Thanks for your kind comments regarding the facility. Yep, I would say we have one of the best views possibly of Kentucky Lake from our restaurant! I'm glad you were able to enjoy it.

See you on your next visit

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've stayed in many of Kentucky's resort parks lodging and this one was nice, but not as good as I hoped. The rate was fair, under $100, but this one was not off the highway as much as the others, and some construction was happening nearby. The resort is in need of some updating. It was clean, but not up to the norm. My biggest complaint with all the Kentucky Resort Parks is all the restaurants have the exact menu. Close to cafeteria type food, nothing exciting, especially if you stay in a few in a row on a road trip.

Room Tip: The room and restaurant prices help the bottom line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratzls, General Manager at Kentucky Dam Village State Park, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
WILLIAM M

Your comments are important to us. Thanks to taking the time to review your recent stay. It is great to hear you were satisfied with your accommodations. It is rather ironic you raise the issue regarding our menu at Harbor Lights Restaurant. We are currently in final review and hope soon to be able to have a new and updated list of selections including some of the old favorites while offering new selections. This should be coming soon!

Come back and enjoy another stay with us.

Scot Ratzlaff
Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilbertsville
18.4 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
3.3 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilbertsville
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Gilbertsville
Econo Lodge Gilbertsville
#5 of 6 in Gilbertsville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kentucky Dam Village State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kentucky Dam Village State Park

Property: Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Address: 166 Upper Village Drive, 113 Administration Drive, PO Box 69, Gilbertsville, KY 42044
Location: United States > Kentucky > Gilbertsville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kentucky Dam Village State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kentucky Dam Village State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kentucky Dam Village State Park Hotel Gilbertsville
Park Inn Gilbertsville
Gilbertsville Park Inn
Kentucky Dam Village State Park Gilbertsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing