We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great day on the water”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gilbertsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moors Resort & Marina on Kentucky Lake
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Owensboro, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We had a great day on the water”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although we have stayed at this resort before, on this trip we were staying at a private home. We went to the Moors and rented a pontoon boat for the day. The boat looked new and the price was reasonable. We went out on the water for a few hours and then returned to the marina and tied up to their courtesy dock. We went up to the Moors restaurant and had lunch which was very good. There were 8 of us and we all ordered different items. Everyone was happy with their food. It was a good atmosphere and we had a nice view of the water. After lunch we went back on the water for the afternoon. We cruised along the waters edge and looked at some of the houses that were built on the water. We weren't fishing on this trip just pleasure boating. The staff at the marina were friendly and professional when checking the boat in and out. It was a good day

Room Tip: We weren't staying on the premises this trip, but we have before and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD42301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Babson Park, FL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the lodge room for one night on the 4th of July. The room was cool and comfortable. It was nothing fancy, but had a fridge, 2 queen beds, DVD player with free rentals in the office, and a/c. The lodge had a big room with a fireplace, bar area, foosball table, and TV. It overlooked the lake. The area has a marina, golf cart rentals, a delicious restaurant, mini golf (comp.,) a beach, a pool, cabin rentals, boat rentals, and a small store. The golf carts were a bit ridiculous as no one was walking and underage kids were driving around--the carts were everywhere and dangerous to people walking at times.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rplove5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been weekending at the Moors for years. Overall, the property is a cozy little Kentucky Lake marina and resort, inexpensively priced, which caters more to a Southern lake culture clientele; if you're looking for an upscale 5-star resort, this isn't it. However, it is a perfect spot for boaters to get away for a weekend in the summer.

I mainly wanted to comment on the restaurant on the grounds. Several years ago, the restaurant was a too-smoky little fisherman's cafe with greasy, poor-quality food. New construction a few years ago resulted in a much better restaurant, but it was still lacking in overall quality. Last night we ate there again. The decor was great, and the service was wonderful. Better yet, we all raved over the catfish dinners and other menu choices, as well as a fresh, well-stocked salad bar. It was a great way to end our day.

If you are on the lake or staying at any of the numerous rentals in the area off of Moors Camp and you're hungry, this stop should be at the top of the list. Outdoor dining on a high-ceilinged patio is available, or seating is available inside to escape the sun. The staff is friendly and accommodating, and the selections are perfect after a hot day on the water. I highly recommend it.

The one drawback is that Marshall County is still "dry," but if a referendum passes to permit alcohol sales and consumption in the county this month, it will only add to the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamiltonc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Moors has two different boat ramps and we have been using the back ramp for years. The Marina is always nicely staffed and getting gas is fast. They have the best "hunk-of-pizza" you can find anywhere (this could just be us from boating all day and starving). They even let us use tools if we have a problem that needs to be addressed while on the water. We have never stayed in the cabins (we live 25 min away) but friends say the bigger ones are nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansboro, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have visited Moors Resort many times over the last 20 years. On some stays it was just my wife and I and on others we brought our children and their families. Our stay has always been pleasant. It is obvious to us that the new ownership has made a substantial investment in upgrades to all facets of the resort. I remember when the boat docks were wooden and in poor repair. Now they are metal and in first class condition. There is a nice asphalt parking lot for your car and boat trailer instead of the old gravel lot. The new restaurant and office building is a huge improvement over the old one both functionally and aesthetically. The new cottages look very impressive compared to the old double wide trailers. I found the staff to be more than willing to help with any question I had. The restaurant food is good and the prices are reasonable. There may be more luxurious resorts but we have not found any to have a friendlier more pleasant atmosphere than Moors. If you have only become aware of Moors in the last few years you cannot appreciate how far it has come and the investment that has been made. We were sufficiently impressed that we recently purchased a trailer in the campground so we can spend more time there. It is obvious there is presently an attention to detail that was not present under previous ownership.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed the week of and after labor day 2011 in the cabin 1-4 building. Tuesday night i came back from fishing to find little or no water pressure in our cabin. I called the front desk, and they informed us that they were aware of the issue and will accommodate us if we needed to shower in another lodging unit, which was nice. They did keep contact to let us know what was going on, and also offered to let us move into a different unit with no water pressure issues. I chose to stay where we were at, and I explained that I didn't come there to repack my items and move to a different unit, it would cut into fishing & relaxation time. As it turns out, they had one pressure pipe with a bad regulator feeding those units, and apparently the plan was to bypass the regulator with a piece of pipe, which you would think could be done very quickly. It took until Friday morning for the plumber they contracted to do the repair. Speaking with the owner and voicing my complaints, he informed me that "nobody else complained" about the situation. It seems that all of the staff involved besides the owner acted professionally and courteously, it was unfortunate that the owner turned around and made that statement to me.

I am hoping they do a better job of facility management in the future to the point that any needed repairs are done quickly and efficiently, with little or no impact to guests. I also wondered, how fast would that same repair be done mid-weekend when all of his cabins and lodging were booked?

Room Tip: ask about any repairs or construction before booking. Also, ask if any large groups are also booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoJohn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I have vacationed at the Moors Resort with our twins for the last 3 summers. We have stayed in the lodge and 3 different cabins. Our latest stay was in the new Cabin 13. We loved this cabin! It was very nice and clean. It is so nice to have the lake right in your backyard. The cabin has nice furniture and appliances. Cabin 13 was more than enough room for our small family of 4.

During this same stay - we did room in the lodge for 3 nights. We enjoyed the lodge as well. It is simply a basic hotel room. It was clean and nice.

We love the pool and the sand beach at Moors. Ralph's Harborview Restaurant is a nice place to get meals. The food is great! Our young twins also love to play on the playground equipment. We bring our own golf cart and spend lots of time cruising around the grounds.

We take our boat on our Kentucky Lake vacations and keep it at a slip at the Moors. The slip is a nice, covered one that keeps the boat out of the weather. The Marina is fully stocked with everything you could need or want. We enjoy getting ice cream from the Marina each evening.

The Moors can get a bit expensive... that's the only drawback. It is a wonderful place that has brought my family many great memories. I highly recommend visiting the Moors. We have booked our vacations with them for the next several years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HunterLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilbertsville
6.6 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
8.8 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilbertsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
10.8 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Gilbertsville
Econo Lodge Gilbertsville
#5 of 6 in Gilbertsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moors Resort & Marina on Kentucky Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moors Resort & Marina on Kentucky Lake

Property: Moors Resort & Marina on Kentucky Lake
Address: 570 Moors Rd, Gilbertsville, KY 42044-8690
Location: United States > Kentucky > Gilbertsville
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Gilbertsville
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Moors Resort & Marina On Kentucky Lake Hotel Gilbertsville
Moors Resort And Marina On Kentucky Lake
Moors Resort & Marina On Kentucky Lake Gilbertsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing