We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Unexpected”
Review of O'Charley's

O'Charley's
Ranked #40 of 102 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
BRAMPTON
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Totally Unexpected”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Every year on our way to Tennessee, we would drive past a restaurant in front of the Walmart in Georgetown, Kentucky. We always notice a lot of cars in the parking lot and thought that indicated the food would be good. Finally, we decided to try it.
The food was not only reasonable, it was awesome. I'm always afraid to order a chicken pot pie, because many of them are processed in a factory and consist mainly of a little chicken and a lot of gravy.
We were so surprised - they make their own crust and the pie was loaded with chicken and veggies. Truly like I would make it at home.
I ordered the California Salad - OMG - it starts with baby greens, mandarin oranges, cranberries, candied pecans, crumbled blue cheese and chicken breast. It was a full plate and quite the meal. Instead of the recommended salad dressing, I ordered their own honey apple cider vinegrette - so freaking good!
Overall the meals were a reasonable, well presented and the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 972jackieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    16
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Reasonable prices, good food, comfortable, attractive ambiance. Our server was very friendly and accomodating. All around a very good experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BradleyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I never enjoy a "chain" restaurant, but in Georgetown you have limited options, and we keep going back here. This O'Charley's is consistently pleasant. If you just need some good food served by pleasant pleasant people at a fair price, this is your spot.

Helpful?
Thank Jcgjbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are Georgetown residents since 1997. We have eaten at every restaurant in Georgetown and most in Lexington, N. KY, Cinci., etc. as we are both professionals and have no children. Unfortunately, we have received O'Charlies gift certificates for Christmas on four occasions. We also have unfortunately tried O'Charlies in Georgetown on four occasions. Each time the food was horrible. The first time we tried the steaks. We were not expecting much as most semi-fast food establishments like this do not serve great steaks. Both were ordered medium rare. Both came out like leather, fully overcooked. Next we thought maybe they could make chicken. Again, overcooked, bland and horrible. They could not even get french fries right, soggy and greasy. Next, we thought maybe they could make a sandwich. We had the philly steak sandwiches. Again, overcooked, greasy and horrible. Finally, most recently, we received yet another gift certificate. We knew we could not order anything from the entree portion of the menu. We opted to sit at the bar and have drinks and apps. The "happy hour" was buy one get one on drinks. The screwdriver with only Smirnoff was just over $10, and was about one ounce of vodka and three ounces of concentrated oj. Likewise, the cosmo was approximately the same price and the same result, very much overpriced for what you got. We then went for apps. The chicken tenders were so overcooked you could break them into like a stick. The "nachos" was a pile of tortillas with nominal topping. The toppings were so sparce you could hardly get a tiny bit on approximately 1/3 of the tortillas. THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE, WAY OVERPRICED AND A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. If you want this type of semi-fast food, go across the road to Applebees or across the bridge to Ruby Tuesday's, much, much better and consistent quality. This is the first post I have written in several years, but felt compelled to warn others to STAY AWAY. Remember, we ate free and that, in and of itself, should demonstrate this post is not bias in any way, this place is simply that BAD!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Slow Service, always seems like they don't have enough people working. So if your in a hurry, don't stop here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank angibee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Charley's also viewed

 

Been to O'Charley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing