We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of insanity?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Definition of insanity?”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

"Repeating the same thing over and over and expecting different results." That's the definition I heard anyway. Well the results weren't exactly the same, so I'll detail some changes I've noticed--and some that, sadly, have not happened. First, it's a little tidier. Secondly, the evening clerk Dilena, while obviously tired and hungry when I arrived, helped me unravel a mistake I made in my booking and was patient and even pleasant about it.
Unfortunately, I made another mistake that could not be corrected: I confused this BW with another and booked here despite my decision NOT to return. And, as luck would have it, I was booked into the same room--the non-smoking one that smelled of smoke because half the third floor is STILL non-smoking. There is as yet no plan to change the smoking policy, according to the desk clerk. This time I asked for a room change, and Dilena accommodated me. Unfortunately, in my new room on the second floor I could still smell smoke and soon got "stuffed up," but it was somewhat better. And there was no tissue in the bathroom! Oh well. . .there's always TP.
At the very least, the desk clerks should be instructed by management to inform people before they register that the third floor has smoking rooms and even non-smoking rooms may be affected. And they should not charge more for a room on a non-smoking floor if a change is requested! (I wasn't, but I had to negotiate that.) Finally, if you are particularly sensitive to smoke, don't book here unless and until they change the policy and thoroughly fumigate the property.
I wanted to upgrade my rating to "average" because there have been improvements, but not as a "Best Western Plus" property. As others have noted, it should not yet have been awarded a "Plus" designation. As a standard BW, it would be average or possibly even very good--for smokers or those who aren't bothered by it.
As I said at the outset--and in my first review--there IS hope for this property, and I have hope the improvements will continue to mount. If I book here again in error, I won't expect a different result. I'm not completely insane--just absent-minded. Maybe I'd be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Unless you smoke, stay off the third floor--at least until the policy changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa R, Manager at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I apologize that you booked us by mistake. The smoking rooms will probably not change due to the high demand by corporate guests. I will speak to front desk concerning the issue of letting guest know about half of 3rd floor being smoking rooms. As for being charged a different rate for non smoking vs smoking, that should not have been an issue. The price is the same unless you are upgrading your room to a whirlpool. We are continuing with finishing up on the upgrades and I appreciate that you did notice. Again thanks for the feedback, its always good to know what needs improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    139
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
221
168
36
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best Western is upgrading many of their properties across the U.S.. Many are very very nice.
"Plus" is their new middle grade hotel and usually very nice. My problem here is that this hotel
has been awarded Plus by BW but there are a number of negatives. I may have had a room that has not been upgraded as mentioned by another reviewer. Instead as another reviewer states, the property is not all that old but is showing wear. Poor condition of the room furniture is noticeable. Old TV but workable. Some areas of hall carpeting could use replacing.

I may have encountered the same desk staff as another writer. Evening agent was all right but
did not seem all that welcoming per the usual BW staffing. Morning OK.

I had a non-smoking room but the stink of cigarette smoke was in the room. Just about all hotels have interconnecting ventilation via the bathroom venting. This is where the smell comes from.

Breakfast was OK. I would have liked to have seen skim or 1% milk but only 2% or whole was
available. A very minor quibble but the marque on the street shows popcorn and cookies. I asked about the cookies. "We have not had cookies for days." Plus??

Lots of dogs. We have pets and would not want to be without them. However, we do not travel with them. I have some problems with allergies and I am sure that many others do also. Hotels seem to love to say that they are pet friendly. I would like to find hotels or chains that are people friendly. Hotels do not have the time to deep clean all that often and I do question just
how clean rooms are that have housed pets.

This hotel is not too bad considering the low price but I was mislead by the Plus designation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rt66tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristen k, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the feedback! We hope that in the future when our upgrades are fully completed, you will give us the pleasure of staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stambaugh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our stay here was excellent. The hotel was clean and updated, staff were very courteous and helpful, and the value for the buck was great. Instead of typical travel size toiletries, there is a liquid dispenser both in the shower and on the bathroom sink with soap, shampoo, and lotion. The pool was clean and our room had a jacuzzi, which functioned fine. Very conveniently located for shopping and many restaurants to chose from.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was only 10-15 dollars more then the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for the feedback! we look forward to you visiting us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our room was very nice, although the jacuzi was not in a separate room as it shoud have been.
The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were like inner tubes.
Two of the three clerks (most especially Christen) were very good, although the third young lady needs to go to Walmart and purchase a smile
The wi-fi connection was good enough, although the portal was a bit cumbersome.
The location in relation to the Kentucky Horse Park and the many horse farms was excellent.
The breakfast was very good although one time the Orange Juice was water and the clerk who doesn't smile said "That's not my job."
As Best Westerns go, this one is better than most.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are likely quiter as the doors to the parking lot close with a sonic boom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristen k, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks for the feedback! I will advise on the needed Wal-Mart trip :) Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunman, IN
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed two nights over Memorial Day weekend. As we were participating in the annual Horsey Hundred bike ride, we asked for a later checkout on Sunday so we could shower after the ride. The front desk clerk was very accommodating and allowed us a 2:00 check out. The room was nicely furnished and included a microwave and refrig. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet despite the fact that the place was totally booked for the weekend. We would definitely stay here again next year. As members of the rewards club we were able to gain extra points during our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMU_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristen k, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel, booked that night, great rate, great room (# 101), great staff. Highly recommend :) Robyn Martin, checked in on Feb 7th and checked out on Feb 8th, 2012.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristen k, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you! We appreciate the great feedback. We strive to make everyones stay as excellent as yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I'm staying here currently (5/3/12)

At check-in I asked for a crib. They said the crib would be $10. I said that that fact is not mentioned on their website, and the front desk clerk asked the manager if it could be waived. The manager yelled from her desk "No, it's been that way for three years, we can't waive it" She didn't have the decency to come out of the office and tell me.

THEN, I get to the room and in the room it actually says that it costs money for a crib. It costs $6. $10 is not a lot, but that's really not the point. Be open about your fees at check-in, and treat your customers like people, don't yell at them from behind an office.

If you don't care about service, the rest of the hotel is okay (And I stress just "ok" to stay at.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristen k, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
I apologize for the miss print in the room directory, we appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We always try to make our guests stay comfortable. Yes we do charge for the extra ammenities, you were informed of the charge when you requested the item, they are also listed in the "in room directory". Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Georgetown
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites - Georgetown
Comfort Suites - Georgetown
#5 of 14 in Georgetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington/Georgetown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lexington Georgetown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lexington-North Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel
Address: 132 Darby Dr, Georgetown, KY 40324-8715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Georgetown
#4 Family Hotel in Georgetown
#5 Business Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown
Georgetown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing