We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for horse lovers and racing fans!”

Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse Racing's Living History Museum! At Old Friends, the non-profit Thoroughbred Retirement Center in Georgetown, KY, the horses may not be racing anymore, but they are winners everyday. Founded in 2003 by former Boston Globe film critic Michael Blowen, Old Friends cares for more than 135 horses across three states, many of them stallions whose racing and breeding careers came to an end. A "Rural Hall of Fame", the farm welcomes visitors to get up close and personal with such stars of the turf as Breeders' Cup Champion Gulch, Belmont Stakes winner Sarava, millionaire gelding Arson Squad, and many more. Hear their stories, meet them in person...Er..Horse. Our guests come to visit a few ex-racehorses, they leave having been touched by the heart of a Thoroughbred hero. Tours are daily at 10:00, 1:00 & 3:00 with a reservation.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“A must for horse lovers and racing fans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Beautiful paddocks and friendly staff! Giving champions and hard knocking retired racers a comfortable retirement!

Helpful?
Thank Jfbsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    21
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horse Cave, Kentucky
1 review
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I am in the tourism business and visited Old Friends as part of a conference. It was one of the highlights of the conference! The facility is lovely, and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and caring. This is a special experience that should not be missed!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“what a lovely tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

when we arrived at the farm it was just about starting to rain. I didnt know if the tour would stll go out to the stables but we did. We were a group of about 15 and while they asked for reservations, they were very lenient with them. I initally wasnt sure what time i would be able to get there and they allowed me to be on either tour. Anyway.. we start walking down to the stables and the guide, starts telling us history of the farm and the horses. He knew everything about the horses and you could see that he really cared for the horses and loved his job.. we got to feed carrots to the horses as he told us their history. The farm is kept beautifully for these beautiful animals. The tour lasted about an hour and when we got back the welcome center was closed. The guide reopened it so that we could leave our donaton. They aren't pushy to the tour participants for donations but anyone with a heart wouldnt want to leave without leaving something. Thank you for caring for these horses,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank breeze1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were in Lexington for just one night and came here for a tour before leaving for Memphis the next day. I am so glad we came here out of all the choices we had.
These horses are so well taken care of, and the people that run this place truly care and are just wonderful people.
Whether you just like horses, and love racing, this is definitely a place to check out.
The horses and grounds are just beautiful. We spent about 2 hours here. There is no charge, but you should definitely make a donation. They also have a nice gift shop inside that you should check out.
Charismatic was my favorite horse and I wanted to take him home with me! I also loved the orange and white kitty outside ;)
I recommend going here and I hope to go back some day if ever in Kentucky again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank passionflwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WHERE LOVE AND HONOR ABOUND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Everyone who loves horses and cares about their life after racing needs to see this place.Michael Blowen adorns these old animals and makes sure the life they have when they are thru with racing and breeding is comfortable and stress free.
God bless him and the staff that work so hard for these horses and all the people who contribute to the running of this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 96DianneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm also viewed

 

Been to Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing