We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Presentation Needs Help” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lock & Key Cafe-Boutique - CLOSED

Lock & Key Cafe-Boutique
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating
Description: Lock & Key is a totally unique cafe & gift shop, housed in an historic haunted bank building with a fascinating history. The Cafe features great sandwiches, soups & salads, including the best chicken salad anywhere! Also served: Espresso, Lattes, iced & blended drinks, smoothies, shakes and freshly made sweet tea. The boutique has an eclectic variety of handmade jewelry and accessories, handbags, greeting cards and a great selection of Kentucky Proud (made in KY) food products, including Bourbon Jelly by City Grocery, which has a real kick to it! HOURS: M-F 7 to 7 Sat 8 to 5 and Sunday 9 to 2. FREE WIRELESS and Centrally Located.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Food, Presentation Needs Help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A friend of mine and I ate at the Lock and Key while visiting in the Georgetown and Lexington area and have to report being overall disappointed. While we found the food tasty, presenting it as though we were eating take out fare and then charging sit down prices for it took away from the experience.

On the plus side, the physical layout, which includes the old safe from the former bank as well as other bank trappings, was pleasant and remodeled and engaging. In fact, it's part of what led us to give the place a try. But then when you sit down at a table or in a booth, you expect the meal to come on dishes and in cups and not in paper hot cups and on plastic trays.

The final cost of $27 for a meal which consisted of two fairly well done sandwiches with chips, two small cups of chili and two espresso drinks struck us as too much for the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elbert, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly But Service is Iffy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Food was good but menu limited and service was really spotty - server was friendly but basically an airhead (kept forgetting things, had to clarify the order three times, charged us wrong).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hutchlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owenton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for meeting or lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a local favorite. They have great cold food. The chicken salad is awesome. They serve smoothies, coffees and breads. Great place for that afternoon chat with friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NDAKKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The old bank”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

we had a good Rubin. there are lots of things to look at and you can eat in the vault. People are friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulK34727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, TN
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fun place for sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We ate there on a Saturday afternoon after riding in the Horsey Hundred over Memorial Day weekend. The first thing I liked about it was how warmly we were greeted as we walked in the place. It's the type of place where you order your food at as you walk in and they bring the food to you. It was great how they explained the procedure to us as we walked in. They gave us menus, and told us to sit anywhere we wanted. After we figured out what we wanted, we went up and ordered. I had their signature chicken salad on toasted sour dough bread. It was delicious! The sandwiches come with chips and the cold drink fountain is self-serve with free refills. The place has a LOT of charm. If we are in the area again, we will be sure to go back.

They were closed on Sunday .....if they hadn't been....we would have eaten there again!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simplelife4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lock & Key Cafe-Boutique also viewed

 
Georgetown, KY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing