We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lock & Key Cafe-Boutique - CLOSED

Lock & Key Cafe-Boutique
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating
Description: Lock & Key is a totally unique cafe & gift shop, housed in an historic haunted bank building with a fascinating history. The Cafe features great sandwiches, soups & salads, including the best chicken salad anywhere! Also served: Espresso, Lattes, iced & blended drinks, smoothies, shakes and freshly made sweet tea. The boutique has an eclectic variety of handmade jewelry and accessories, handbags, greeting cards and a great selection of Kentucky Proud (made in KY) food products, including Bourbon Jelly by City Grocery, which has a real kick to it! HOURS: M-F 7 to 7 Sat 8 to 5 and Sunday 9 to 2. FREE WIRELESS and Centrally Located.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

What a fun little place. Best Turtle Latte ever. Great sandwiches, salads and treats. Highly recommend stopping in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimkaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“what a fun afternoon”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had a great afternoon here. Live music, great food and such a cool atmosphere. It's and old bank still complete with the vault and bullet holes from a robbery!
Wonderful local artists are featured in photograhy and crafts

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
“Chicken Salad”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The chicken salad sandwich is the best I've ever had by far. The coffee is great too.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHart1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
“Bank on an enjoyable experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Smiling, the barrista greets me at the window, standing where the teller would have stood. The floors are marbled, and sometimes the cheesecake is too. The Lock & Key. Each time that I come in, I find something new to like about the place, that makes me want to come back here. And it's something different every time. Last time, it was an engaging conversation over coffee with a transplant who moved to town from Canada. Today it was the bank vault. I had walked inside it to browse before, but had never before sat down there to drink my coffee. I wondered, what did it feel like to walk through the doors of this place on that day in 1929? Next week, I will find something else new to like. But it won't be the chili or the mashed potato soup. I discovered those pleasures long ago.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetwon
1 review
“A great stopover”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

The food is good, the atmosphere is nice, and the people working there are attentive and helpful. Overall a great place to sit back for an hour or two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee_Gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lock & Key Cafe-Boutique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing