We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant closed on Mondays”

Rick's White Light Diner
Ranked #10 of 121 Restaurants in Frankfort
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Southern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Restaurant closed on Mondays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We arrived on a Monday afternoon to find that Rick's White Light Diner has new hours. We were not the only ones, so it seems that the hours may have changed more recently. We had seen this on DDD and wanted to try it, but is was not to be.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ld4ivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    20
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rick's is as original as it's owner/chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This must be one of the most interesting places to eat on earth. It all starts with Rick- eccentric personified. A classically trained chef, he turns out food that is unlike any diner you'll find. He is also a tremendously gifted comedian, but his food still stands tall on its own.

I ordered the fried oyster po-boy. I've eaten them on the east coast, and along the gulf, but Rick's is the best. The oysters are fresh ordered from Chesapeake Bay, and fried right in front of your eyes. He then scatters them across freshly baked bread with a slap of remoulade sauce. My son had the soft shell crab sandwich. The crab was still alive when we entered the restaurant, aka unbeatable freshness. It was served in the same manner as the oyster sandwich and top notch, as well

Treat yourself to the treasure that is Rick Paul and the White Light Diner.

Helpful?
3 Thank rich-queenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, KY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An experience - and eating too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The best thing about the White Light is its interesting owner. While the food is really, really delicious and primarily healthy (as in grass-fed beef), the real treat is Rick!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ, Unique Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I saw this place highlighted on Drive Ins, Dives, and Diners on cable TV.

This place looks like a mini White Castle from the outside. Inside there is a counter that 6 or so can sit at, and 2 or 3 tables. Except for a couple of picnic tables outside, that's it.

That to be said, the food is another story. I had the pulled pork BBQ, which is smoked on site. Incredible. The baked beans are also awesome.

Listening to the owner, and chef, Rick, interact with his staff is an added bonus.

Visitors and locals alike who like BBQ and unique restaurants should check this place out. I know I will be back.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A complete gem in Frankfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We happened upon this place by accident and were so glad we "found" it, though, unfortunately so had a Food Network show... Even with all of the hype already, this place was a treasure and we'll make it a point to visit again and again on future trips. The cajun food was excellent and the "show" you got from interacting w/ Rick made it worth the cost. He is very into high quality ingredients and it shows through in his food. I figured if I was ever going to try deep fried oreos, it might as well be from him - as he is a real talent with a fryer - and they were amazing! This is a total dive with great food and a quirky owner who will share his outlook on life with you, brags about "banning" folks from eating at his restaurant, likes to talk about smoking certain substances and thinks margarine is the devil. This place is a gem. Eating here is a must if in Frankfort!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FlCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's White Light Diner also viewed

 

Been to Rick's White Light Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing