We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Capitol Building

This is rated as one of the most beautiful capitol buildings in the country, and we would agree. It... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Jim B
,
Grapeview, Washington
via mobile
Don’t miss the State Capitol

My suggestion is that you spend two hours for your visit. Walk around the building both inside and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
57Klas
,
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
via mobile
Read all 222 reviews
  
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
145
70
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
70
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour supreme court state capitols floral clock doll collection impressive building reception room law library governor's office legislative chambers beautiful grounds west virginia president lincoln kentucky history three floors free tour interesting facts
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 222 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here to get pictures of the floral clock and the building is so beautiful we had to take pictures of the outside. We did not go inside however.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Easy to find. Parking lots around the building but not lots of empty spots. Before going up the main steps, take a photo. Once inside you will go through security. The info desk is there and you can get a map with descriptions of what you will be seeing or you can see if a group tour is available. Most group tours involve tons of children so we opted for the self guided tour. This is a free thing to do and you can take as many photos inside as you would like. Make sure you go into the law library to see the upper glass walkway. Watch the interior center dome change colors.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank joyceTL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

I was there on a Sunday, so I didn't get to tour the inside of the capitol. The outside of the capitol and the grounds are lovely. Traffic and parking was easy since it was a weekend. I would love to return sometime and tour the interior.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank mysticshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

We came mid afternoon, about an hour or so before closing. It's easy to park and free. We were allowed to roam the floors freely. Interesting art and architecture. We also toured the grounds outside the building. Beautiful place. If you're in the area, definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank KenandRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We have been to a lot of capitol buildings in the United States but this one ranks among the tops. Marble everywhere!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Dotty and Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews