We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and Fun”

Salato Wildlife Education Center
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fish and Fun”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A place for the kids to fish and see a few KY animals. Also some nice hiking trails.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank S40601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    26
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Free Entertainment for Families”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I love going to Salato whenever I am in Frankfort. It is excellent for both kids and adults. Plenty of walking, as well as interpretive exhibits. From deer to eagle to buffalo and wildcats, there is a lot to see. They have a huge fishing pond you can fish as well. Best part - ALL of this is FREE and educational!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank thekentucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Spend an afternoon at this 'mini-zoo'”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Salato is a nice little jewel for anyone with kids and a limited budget. It's not the Louisville Zoo, but the nature walk lets you see native Kentucky animals in large habitats. My kids always liked walking 'behind' the stream and seeing the fish there. We've also taken the kids fishing in the 'kids pond' and usually been able to catch a catfish of a sunfish. Watch for plant sales too for native flora and vegetables.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LsDano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place in Frankfort”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I go here at least 20-30 times through out the year since I live close by. Sometimes I go by myself, sometimes I go with my 3 year old. It is great for kids and great for excersize! I love the sights and the beautiful animals. They really do take care of that place. Highly recommending this to everyone with children or even a picnic with your date!

Helpful?
1 Thank HonestLady0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Saloto”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great place to take the kids and its free. See animals, fish, and have a cookout.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salato Wildlife Education Center also viewed

 

Been to Salato Wildlife Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing