We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Food and Fresh Air” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corbet Arms

The Corbet Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Uffington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Corbet Arms is in the village of Uffington just 10 minutes car journey from centre of Shrewsbury. Family owned Local Village pub consists of Bowlers Bar, Restaurant, sabrina suite suitable for Weddings parties wakes conferences can seat 80 or 100 for Buffet. we have 9 Bedrooms available for guest staying B&B. Large Outside Terrace Overlooking our crown Bowling green. Sitting On the Banks of the River Severn near to local beauty spot Haughmond Hill and Haughmond Abbey.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and Fresh Air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Corbet Arms in the small village of Uffington, looks grand upon entering the car park and you are not disappointed upon entering the main restaurant. Fine oak beams give way to a warm ambiance. Warm smiling welcome from your host. Inviting menu where most dishes are prepared from fresh ingredients, well worth the wait, but, whilst doing so enjoy any of the fine ales and wine on offer. Staff are very friendly and assisting, always with a smile and giving great service. Very busy and popular eating place, booking in advance is always good but you may be lucky just dropping in, Great outdoor patio area giving views to open countryside. Good value for money, very clean restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GMAN013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    129
    47
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A place that realises not everyone wants to eat Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a place we have frequented in the summer sitting outside on the large patio overlooking the fields and river, whilst eating on very nice food.
Last Sunday we were on our way home and decided to stop off for something to eat. When we walked inside it was I saw the dreaded Sunday Lunch menu. For someone who loves Sunday lunch it is exceptional value for money with set prices for 1,2 or 3 courses with a choice of 4 meats and one veggy in the roasts choic. Thankfully for me there were other items available another very nice meat free option and for me a fish course, and congratulations, as most places seem to think that Sunday fish must be salmon, and I was so pleased it was not and infact sea bass. We both had a starter which were both fantastic portions, my husband had the lamb and even he said he could eat no more at the end as his portion of meat was fantastic. As every the staff were happy and smiley which is nice as some places you go to the staff can be a bit scowley. Keep up the good work and roll on the summer so we can sit outside again

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here on a very busy Friday. Service was second to none, all staff very helpful and attentive. Rooms very comfortable and of a high standard . Very clean. Access to the rooms are via a couple of flights of stairs. Breakfast was excellent, they cook whatever you want (within reason) to order. Set in a pleasant village approximately 6 miles from Shrewsbury. Very good value all round and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryR820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have eaten lunch twice here in last 6 weeks and was impressed by food, service, surroundings and value for money. Last time I visited, I wanted only a light snack and had a roast beef and horseradish sandwich with handcut chips. Loads of tender beef and delicious crispy chips. They also have the smartest and cleanest pub toilets I've come across. High standards all round, will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshiretourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A family gathering which was accompanied by average to good food and plenty of it. Not anything special however just good honest grub. The service was poor, slow and inattentive, which may have been caused by a large party which seemed to be running late. Prices were higher than the food. Pub grub at resturant prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NortonKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corbet Arms also viewed

Upton Magna, Shrewsbury
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Corbet Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing