We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was friendly, convenient...but compared to other Marriott's...it was just "OK".”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It was friendly, convenient...but compared to other Marriott's...it was just "OK".”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The lobby and first floor were attractively remodeled with the Bistro restaurant. Very nice pool and outdoor seating area. Elevator was conveniently located. Hotel is close to airport and highways so there is plenty of noise outside. Our 3rd floor room was the smallest Marriott room we have stayed in. The low ceiling added to the small feeling. It needs to have some attention to details to compare with Marriott properties we have stayed at. For example a lamp had to be unplugged to plug in the microwave. In the morning we ordered 2 yogurt parfaits and coffee which took about 20 min. to prepare and we were the only two people there. This was really slow service with one excuse after another. Not used to inefficient service at a Marriott property. Overall our stay here was okay, but this is the least desirable of any Marriott Property we have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadDogs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will use them as a way to improve our guest’s experience. Our staff is currently going through customer service training and your input will help achieve our goal to improve guest satisfaction. We are proud to be a Marriott property and with your feedback we can strive to make each guest experience enjoyable and productive. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you in the future and hope to see you again when you are in the Northern Kentucky area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    30
    18
    10
See reviews for
45
34
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eubank, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was given four stars for effort. I booked through priceline and was burned again. For myself, my child, a friend and her child we wanted two beds but priceline booked us a king bed for four people. The folks at the hotel were kind enough to "find" me a king that at least had a sofa bed. I thanked them and we planned on "Making due". This would all have been okay except a little later I was waiting in line to purchase some edibles and a man in front of me was complaining loudly about his priceline room and funny enough was given another room with two beds when I was told there were none. That issue aside, the room was very clean. The front staff were polite, a forgotten toiletry was brought to our door. Previously reviewed complaints of the nearby interstate noise worried me. It was noticeable but not bad. I mean it is an interstate hotel. I would think that would be expected. The pool was full, wreaked of chlorine or some chemical and no towels were available for use. However when I asked for more towels they came quickly. The hotel details list a bar. There is a bistro which appears to be a lunch counter area. We went down for. Drink at 10pm and they were closing up shop. Kinda of early. I think they tried and those who worked at the hotel are making efforts. I feel the Brand itself fell a little short here. Priceline just lost another customer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank getaway_girl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Your comments are taken very seriously and have been addressed with the appropriate manager. Each guest room is inspected daily and the pool area, along with all public areas, is checked numerous times throughout the day to ensure all amenities are in the proper place. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our oversight. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you the next time you are in the area and would appreciate any consideration when choosing a hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel has-- by far-- the worst front desk service we have ever encountered. As a family of four, we travel quite often. We normally book through travel sites or hotel websites for the planned trips, or use Priceline for last minute hotel decisions. When planning our trip to S. Carolina we decided to stay near Cincinnati for a night. Courtyard by Marriott at Florence, KY was what we got through Priceline. We arrived at the hotel shortly after 9 pm on March 28. The kids were looking forward to enjoying a few minutes of swimming and getting a good nights sleep for our drive south next morning to start our spring break. As soon as we arrived at front desk, we were told that the only room they had for us was a one king bed room (no sofa bed). Since we had a family of four, we told the lady at the front desk that it was impossible for all of us to sleep on one bed. We asked if there was anyway she could help-- switching us to another room with a sofa bed, letting us borrow a roll-away bed, etc.... anything so we could have enough sleeping beds. We were rejected right away at each request. She told us very clearly that because we booked through Priceline, there was nothing she could do for us on her computer to accommodate us. After hearing this, we asked to speak to the manager. The lady at the front desk told us that the manager was on his one hour break, and that she wasn't allowed to disturb him. The only option we were given was to upgrade to the one king bed suite: the price tag she gave to us was $210! (I checked later on Marriott's website, and the check in rate is around $129 for their king suite on a Friday night). After we decided not to pay the difference for the upgrade, the front desk lady said that we should find a different hotel, but we had already prepaid our room at the Marriott.

Finally, the manager on duty (Dennis) came back from his break. As soon as we talked to him about our situation, he went on his computer and was able to find a king bed room with a sofa bed for us. We were able to check into our hotel room after 10 pm. Thanks to Dennis, we did not have to sleep on the floor!

We had this similar issue arise in the past a few times with other hotels (Holiday Inn and yet another Marriott hotel) when we booked through Priceline. Their hotels were fully booked, and the only room they had left on the computer was a king bed room. But with those hotels, the front desk receptionists were very accommodating. They tried everything they could to help us find the right room. We did not have to beg them at all.

As customers, we understand the clear difference between "I'm sorry, I tried but I really unable to help" and "I just do not want to help". Unfortunately, this hotel's front desk person made it clear that she just didn't want to help us at all.

On a more positive note, the room we stayed in was very clean. The cleaning lady (Heather) did a great job. But because of the whole hour-long check-in ordeal, our overall experience with this place was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlja2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mlja200,
I apologize that your family's check in experience was not a good one. Your comments are appreciated and taken seriously. We will take care of this situation and use your experience as a training tool. It is also important for you and all our guests to know, our managers are here to help with any issue that may arise and are here to talk to all guests when needed. We are pleased Dennis was able to resolve the problem and again apologize for the delay. We have passed along your comment to Heather to let her know you felt your room was very clean. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future if you are driving through Florence. Thank you again for your comments and we hope your Spring Break was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight before visiting the Creation Museum. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the rooms to be well maintained. The kids enjoyed swimming in the large indoor pool. The only thing that would make it better...free breakfast. That said, we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence. The indoor pool makes family time both fun and enjoyable and we are happy you were able to take advantage of that area. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you when you return to Northern Kentucky. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was one of the worst that I have stayed at in a long time. First night - Smoke smell in lobby when we arrived, room noise was unbearable between expressway and bad fan, front desk told us at 0200 that computer system was down and could not move us. Front desk the next morning was helpful and moved us. After we moved rooms, we were leaving and everyone was out in hallway because of smoke smell. As I was leaving, I mentioned it to the front desk (different lady) and they were clueless. The topper was that our new room was now in the center of a high school team.... Marriott, as a brand, has really gone downhill and this hotel is at the very bottom. Steer clear!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkingspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JKingSpencer,

Thank you for your response, we really appreciate your feedback. Our hotel is 100% smoke free, and we do try our best to make sure our guests comply with this policy. We apologize for the noise level that you experienced and are working on solutions to resolve this issue. Please consider staying with us again when you're in the Florence area. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Ann Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very small rooms. Only room available when checked in was a king bed and couch for 4 people. Asked to be changed to a room with two beds the next day and was refused because of policy even though rooms were available. Right on highway, room was very noisy all night long and tiny for a supposed three star hotel. Would not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AppalChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback and will review your comments with our Guest Service Representatives and use this as a training tool. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, and hope that if your travels bring you back to this area that you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Ann Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I'm a very frequent business traveler, and a big fan of the Marriott chain, but am constantly disappointed with the lack of consistency in the Courtyard brand. I love the lobby makeovers they've been doing the last few years, but often times find the rooms themselves to be a big disappointment. That was the case with this hotel ... tiny sink area with not enough space for toiletries, loud annoying wall heaters, and soft mattress with lumpy pillows (and I tried every one of them!), and cheap linens. (Ironically, I stayed at a Courtyard last fall in Chicago that had had a full room makeover, and the linens and pillows were amazing, so there IS an alternative out there!). The very worst part, however, is the removal of free coffee/tea in the lobby ... that's just plain unacceptable and a ridiculous cost cutting measure. This is NOT the fault of the management of this hotel, but dictated by the people managing the Courtyard brand. The staff we met on our one night stay were pleasant and helpful, but that can't make up for some of the other issues at this hotel. In the future, I will avoid the Courtyard brand unless I'm sure the rooms have received the same careful makeover that the lobby has gotten.

Room Tip: Avoid the side on the freeway ... we were, fortunately, not on the side, but even the desk clerk tol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W, Director of Sales at Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your response, we appreciate your feedback. We value your honesty as it helps us identify our challenges and see where we need to improve. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ann Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 26 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Florence
Days Inn Florence
#11 of 26 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cincinnati Airport Florence
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence

Property: Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence
Address: 46 Cavalier Blvd, Turfway Rd & I-75, Florence, KY 41042-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Cincinnati Airport South/Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cincinnati Airport South / Florence Hotel Florence
Courtyard Florence
Florence Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing