We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & tired, but very economical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Florence
Elyria, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old & tired, but very economical”
Reviewed August 19, 2005

We needed to find a hotel in Florence, and based on the other two reviews posted here at that time, we chose the Hotel Ivy. Apparently it has been called other things in the past, but it is currently the Hotel Ivy. It is not the easiest thing to find, even though I had the directions from the website. Once you turn up into a shopping area (and in fairness, it was already dark when we arrived) it was hard to tell exactly how to find it. They must get quite a bit of airline employee stays because someone asked me if I worked for an airline before I even got to the front desk. We were given a room on the first floor (they do not have elevators, so keep that in mind if you don't want to haul luggage up the stairs) and a key that we could not get to work. I finally took it back to the front desk and they said, "Oh, that room is kind of hard--pull the door toward you at the same time you are trying to turn the handle down and see if that works." Well, if the room is famous for being hard to get into, change the mechanism. The halls, the wall paper, the doors, etc., all look like they have seen better days. The room, actually, was fairly clean. It's just the wear and tear of the years. Breakfast is also OK. If you book 30 days or more ahead of time through their website, you get the best rate. For us, that was $45.00. Two things bothered me--the back door where we parked had a rusted and mostly unrecognizable key slot for access after hours, which meant anyone could get in that door any time with no effort. I doubt their eyes are glued to security cameras to see if someone has entered the hotel through that door. Also, when I was checking in, a pizza delivery guy came and gave them a room number, so they just sent him up the stairs and told him which hallway to take. We've ordered pizza in hotels before and the front desk always called us to come down to get it. It seems like they are not too concerned with security issues.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    127
    120
    98
    97
See reviews for
219
123
41
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2005

Ya just know when you walk in and there is a Forced Public Health Closure of the swimming pool that you aren't at the finest establishment. But, at 11:30pm with a 7:30am flight we stuck it out for the night.

Our room furnishings were thrift shop qualty items. No working elevator? That's just crazy.

The only reason that I did not use the lowest rating was the staff. Front desk, manger, even the airport shuttle guys were nice ... it's like they thought they worked at the four seasons.

Avoid unless they renovate!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haverin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffield, VA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2005

First let's start with the two negatives. One was the breakfast was not as advertised. We had no hot items. The website advertised biscuits, gravy, eggs, pancakes, etc. We had none of this.

Now to the pool. We stayed two nights. On the second day we went to Kings Island and decided to leave and go back to the hotel and swim. We we got back we were told the pool was closed and had been that way for days. But when I made my reservation I asked if they had a pool and they did but you could not use it. The manager told me well you could check out!!

Now the positives. The room was excellent. The beds and pillows were great. I was overcharged for the room but the manager fixed that with no problem. The price for this room was OK considering the problems we encountered.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2005

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis when flying from Dallas to meetings in Cincinnati. The hotel is in a good location to CVG. I've stayed at this hotel when it was Signature Inn, Ramada Limited, and now Hotel Ivy. The hotel has completed some major renovations, and the same friendly staff is there.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JordanPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2005

Stayed here 6/18-6/19 2004 when it was the Ramada Limited. Assuming things remain the same, this is a fantastic hotel. Staff was friendly and timely, rooms were spotless and even had a mini-fridge, and it is convenient to CVG. Parking is plentiful and it is in a safe neighborhood.

Helpful?
3 Thank AmericaWestCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2004

I stayed at twelve (12) three diamond (AAA) hotels on my vacation, and I would rate this in the middle of those I visited. Formerly the Signature Inn, this hotel is conveniently located near a grocery store and a Krispy Kreme Doughnut shop.

The two-bed, non-smoking room I had on the second (top) floor was okay. For three adults, the AAA Rate was $56.74 with tax and included a desk with two chairs, two phones, a TV with remote, a microwave, a fridge with a separate freezer, an air conditioning unit, and an iron with ironing board. The bathroom was large and included a hair dryer, but the sink was outside near the entrance to the room. We had to ask for an extra set of towels, since only two sets were provided (all other hotels had three sets). Also, the bathroom had an empty box of kleenex and the bathroom door would not close (warped perhaps?).

Despite those minor inconveniences, the room can be summed up in one word...NOISY! Unfortunately, the hotel is located right beside a busy Interstate highway, so if you have a room on the second floor facing the freeway (like I did), you will not get any sleep whatsoever. The air conditioning unit did not drown out any of the transport trucks that continuously passed by. To add insult to injury, an Elks convention was at the hotel at the same time, and despite being elderly, they sure enjoyed themselves well past 3:00 am! With the walls seemingly paper thin, their youthful enthusiasm was not appreciated.

Overall, while the room was nice, don't expect to get a restful sleep if you get a room by the Interstate. If you do decide to stay at the Ramada Limited, I would strongly recommend getting a room away from the freeway...and make sure there are no Elks around!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Florence
Days Inn Florence
#12 of 28 in Florence
827 reviews
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence/Cincinnati Airport
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cincinnati Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 28 in Florence
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cincinnati Airport Florence
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Florence / Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 30 Cavalier Blvd, I-75 exit 182, Florence, KY 41042-1645 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Florence/Cincinnati South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Florence
Florence Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing