We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent for the Price”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

My family stayed at the Hyatt Place in Florence Kentucky while visiting AIG’s Creation Museum and the King’s Island amusement park. We got a discounted room rate by mentioning that we were in town visiting the museum. At the reduced rate, the Hyatt Place was a nice and decent place to stay.

Comparatively, Hyatt Place seems to be in competition with hotels like the Holiday Inn Express. This particular building appeared to be a renovation of an older construction. For example, the fitness area which we utilized featured health club grade cardio-equipment, but the indoor pool was merely serviceable and utilitarian. The pool resembled an old municipal pool that brought back memories of middle school. Bathtub area had great, full-flow shower-heads with immediate hot water; but it also had cracked floor tiles, discolored grout, and cracked but repaired faucets. Room had great lighting, but in the shower area, a single fan-lamp combo thing only put out about 150 lumens (dim). The clean, non-smoking room smelled nice, was bugless, and had a nice carpet, but the window air-conditioning unit was full of dust and debris behind the louvers. The A/C unit did accomplish its task well despite the dust in 100 degree outside air temperatures.

An attractive lobby area featured substantial snacks, sandwiches, pastries, Starbucks coffees, and even cooked to order menu items 24-hours daily. Nice breakfast, complimentary, that provided bagels, fresh fruits, cereals, and free Starbucks. Additional breakfast foods were available to order for a charge. Way convenient for those of us with odd eating habits. In-lobby area had a bigger space for the breakfast crowd than Holiday Inns or County Inns.

We stayed in a handsome room which was well laid out and divided into useful sections. Not a large room, but having the sectional sofa in the “cozy corner” gave us a place to recline and increased the available play space on the floor. I like this arrangement better than the usual two beds in a rectangular space. Room had an iron, ironing board, full-size hair dryer, extra pillows, extra sheets, a throw-blanket, a second sink, and a mini-fridge. No mini-microwave, however, like in some hotels, but we had no need to stock-up on snacks as the lobby or room service took care of munchies. The full-size sofa opened up into a sleeper bed where the kids slept. Two beds and a sofa for the price of a single bed room! We needed to purchase some nightlights to put in the room for the kids. The alarm clock sounded off at 0600 first morning; apparently housekeeping neglected to reset the clock after last guest. Room lacked dresser, hanger, and closet space – there was some, but not a lot for those that do not travel light. No in-room safe for secure storage either.

A huge, high-definition, flat-panel TV in the room swiveled and could be seen from the bed and/or sofa. Not a lot of the usual cable channels were available however – no Disney Channel or History Channel. On demand movies, that could be paused, were neat. In room Wifi worked well: 54Mbps with excellent signal strength. The lobby even had a couple of Internet ready computers for guests that could print to a color ink-jet.

Lots of cool restaurants are within a 5-minute drive. We enjoyed Romano’s Macaroni Grill, Cheddar’s, and Famous Dave’s BBQ. A really cool Japanese steakhouse and a Longhorn’s are nearby too. A Meijer’s superstore is right across the street which was helpful in replacing forgotten to pack items inexpensively. Traffic in this suburban area is a bit hectic and the area is zoned big commercial – translate: somewhat busy airport shopping district. A car seems like a necessity in this area. The Hotel did have a shuttle service of some sort. Easy access to I-75, 275, and 71.

Lastly, and worthy of note, the Hyatt had a top-notch staff: friendly, courteous, polite, and very professional. A huge plus in my book!

  • Liked — 24 Snacks and Coffee by Professional Staff
  • Disliked — Pool area could use a facelift.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    164
    56
    20
    13
See reviews for
275
114
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We selected the Hyatt Place based on a past stay at the Hyatt Place in Medford, Mass. Things started off poorly when our reservation, which had been changed online, wasn't correct. Then we asked to be moved because the room they gave us was directly across from the 6th-floor elevator. The clueless clerk gave us a room at the end of the 5th floor -- directly across from the ice machine. On top of that, the room's WiFi connection was non-existent. After spending a fruitless hour-plus on the phone with the service's tech support staff, we asked to be moved again. This time the now-surly front desk gave us a musty first-floor room with a wired Internet connection, but an air-conditioner that never cycled off and a dead TV remote control. Toss in the underwhelming continental breakfast -- fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, juice and coffee -- and there wasn't much to recommend beyond the usual Hyatt Place amenities (decent TV, comfy bed, large room).

  • Liked — Room size, bed
  • Disliked — Staff's ineptitude
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mainemojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

This hotel is an excellent choice for a family. The staff is attentive and friendly, there's a breakfast area next to the lobby, and it's in the midst of an area filled with chain restaurants. As a business traveler, I really liked the express check-in/check-out kiosks, the strong Wi-Fi signal, and the updated room featuring the same HDTV setup I've seen at some recently upgraded Marriotts.

My room was spacious, with a small kitchen area, and very clean. Overall, a very good value. Only drawback for me was that I normally stay in hotels within walking distance of bars/restaurants, and this place is in the middle of a suburban, off-ramp area with lots of places a short drive away, but nothing much to walk to. Business travelers used to more urban amenities would probably be better off in Covington, which is where I'll probably go next business trip to the Cincinnati area. However, if I was bringing my family along, I'd definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 50States_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I recently took a trip to Cincinnati, Ohio for a concert. I decided to stay in Florence after I decided it would be better to do considering Cincinnati is probably very crowded and it's only 15 minutes away. After looking at a number of hotels, I stumbled upon the Hyatt Place. Having never stayed there, I decided to give it a shot and book a room. Upon arrival I noticed the good looking exterior of the property. Nice plants, and the grounds were clean. I entered the building and noticed how wonderfully decorated the interior was! There are two self check in machines located just inside the front door which take a maximum of 1 minute to check you in and assign your room. This was very convenient! The room was spotless clean and very comfortable. Very nice TV and work area and a nice couch. The breakfast was plentiful and the after hours options are good for people. If you ever stay in the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky area, I HIGHLY recommend this property!

  • Liked — Very clean property, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tn_emt_31003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Overall our experience was excellent.

Staff is observant (they offered wine glasses when they noticed I had a bottle of wine with the luggage) and very friendly...almost too friendly (asked me how I was doing every time they saw me - which was probably 5 or 6 times in the evening)

The rooms are very clean and the beds are quite comfortable, though the room smelled like either it had been smoked in before or the neighbour was smoking heavily.

We didn't use the pool or the gym but the facilities looked clean and modern.

Great restaurants nearby and convenient traveling to and from Cincinnati.

  • Liked — Very quiet
  • Disliked — Staff was almost too friendly
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glokenspeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Hyatt Place is an upscale feeling but family friendly hotel that efficiently, economically, and enjoyably serves its clients. It is difficult to beat a place that offers relatively cheap, comfortable, and clean rooms while making you feel as if you are staying in a more plush establishment. In room amenities included a refrigerator, enormous TV, sleeper chaise sofa, plush bedding, attractive decorating, and clean and simple bathroom. The pool was well-maintained and generally comfortable. The staff was helpful. The complimentary breakfast was not particularly impressive but was sufficient. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Upscale feeling at discount prices
  • Disliked — Breakfast was a little skimpy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelnStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Just returned from a Memorial Day weekend stay in Florence, KY near Cincinnati. This hotel was wonderful. If you are planning a trip to Cincinnati this is the place to stay. My husband and I stayed here with our 4 year old daughter and 8 year old son. We got a special rate through the website of $80 a night! The hotel is new and extremely clean. The rooms are HUGE! The "cozy corner" as they call it has a very large couch that makes into a bed. Not your typical small loveseat that are at most hotels. The 42" plasma TV was a nice touch. My kids also loved the indoor pool. There is also a refrigerator in the room which is nice. It is right behind a Meijer and lots of restaurants. I recommend eating at Cheddars. It has an extensive menu, great family friendly atmosphere, and very very good food at a reasonable price.

It is about 10 minutes from the hotel to downtown Cincinnati. You just jump on 71N and there you are. I would definitely stay here again on a future trip to Cincinnati. The only downfall would be that the area where they serve the continental breakfast is very small and often a long line forms. The breakfast is free, though. They serve fresh fruit (cantelope, honeydew, and grapefruit sections), yogurt, english muffins, bagels, toast, many different cereals, milk, juices, and Starbuck's coffee. You can purchase eggs, etc. if you want to. We did not.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Small breakfast area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Super_Mom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 28 in Florence
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cincinnati Airport Florence
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati Airport/Erlanger
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Florence
Days Inn Florence
#12 of 28 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence

Property: Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence
Address: 300 Meijer Dr, Florence, KY 41042-4899
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Florence
#2 Green Hotel in Florence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence Hotel Florence
Hyatt Place Florence
Hyatt Place Hotel Florence
Hyatt Florence
Florence Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing