We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT exactly handicapped accessable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashley Quarters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashley Quarters
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Florence
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT exactly handicapped accessable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel while in town to visit several doctors clinics with my daughter. She is wheelchair bound and let me tell you, this hotel did not make it easy for us. First of all, the lobby/front door has no ramp up to the sidewalk so we had to lift her chair to the sidewalk. When we got inside we found that there are two little offices and a gigantic staircase. NO elevators. Then we discover the entrance for handicapped people is in the back of the hotel. Then to make it just a bit more difficult, if you were in a wheelchair, you would not be able to reach the key lock (not key cards) to get into the back door in the first place. Upon entering, we found that the hallway reeks of cigarette smoke. Our room was nonsmoking and thankfully it didnt smell bad. The furnishings were fine. It was clean and although we were not able to get a wheelchair anywhere near the bathroom, it worked ok for us. Our TV had some issues and although we submitted a request for assistance through the website early in the afternoon, they werent able to fix it. Of course, at 9 pm they called and offered to move rooms for us but with all our equipment and my daughter already asleep, it wasnt practical. The next morning we find that the "breakfast" is upstairs and there is no access to that at all by wheelchair. I dont consider microwave burritos and sausage biscuits along with cereal, milk, and bagels a continental breakfast but each to their own. (No juice in sight)

I was very specific on the phone when I made the reservation that we had a child in a wheelchair. We were told that they had handicapped rooms but they were all booked so yes, I know we didnt have the most accessable room in the place. My issue is with the entrance, the doors, the tv, and the breakfast.

Im pretty sure there are some ADA violations here and would greatly advise anyone in a wheelchair to go somewhere else. We will not be staying here ever again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
62
30
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to Cincinnati to see the Newport aquarium with our sons. We chose this hotel for the value and that they had aquarium packages. When we first got to the hotel, we were impressed with the outside, but were surprised to learn there were no elevators. I had back surgery a while ago, and carrying things up stairs isn't my thing.
We got up to our third floor room and we noticed the hall smelled like old smoke. Yuck. Our room, however,was very fresh. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the kitchenette and that it was even stocked with plates, pots, glasses and snacks. The tv was quite large and there was a DVD player. The bath was a bit small, but clean.
I was worried about bedbugs (as i am in any hotel now), but my husband and i inspected every inch of our bed and couch. All perfectly clean.
We used the pool and it was clean but kind of small. We have a 10 and 12 yr old, we like a big pool.
At night, we were comfortable enough but the staff leaves at like 8/9 pm, so if you need something late at night... Too bad.
The continental breakfast was pretty sad compared to a Holiday inn express version of breakfast, but it was there, and it was fresh, prepackaged and free.
Checkout was painless and the staff was friendly. I prolly will stay at a chain hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elizabethlball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ashley Quarters. Everyone was very friendly. The rooms were neat and clean. There was a full kitchen with a dishwasher, microwave, refrigerator, range and oven. There were granite counter tops. The kitchen was fully stocked with pans, plates, glasses, silverware and a coffee maker. There was an exercise room, a gazebo with a grill and an outdoor swimming pool. There were many stores and restaurants close by. A Target store is across the road. It's very close to Cincinnati and all the activities there. We went to see the Creation Museum, which was wonderful, and I fully recommend it. It's well worth the trip. We want to go back again!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty using stairs, be aware that there are no elevators. There are three floors. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieJMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our family stayed at Ashley Quarters last year for a Reds game and we absolutely loved it! During our recent visit we were pleasantly surprised to see that they had remodeled and expanded their lobby. They also added a nice beer selection at great prices! We got a bucket of beer delivered to our room as well as some snacks. The staff was great to us. They actually remembered us from our last stay! We will definitely make this a yearly visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvoskuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband spends many months each year working away from home. This hotel was recommended to us by AAA. We cannot be more grateful for the recommendation. From the moment, I spoke with Justin to make the reservation to our final departure, this has been a remarkably wonderful experience. Our room was a king suite tastefully furnished with a very comfortable bed. The hotel and our room was spotless and attractive. The full size kitchen was well equipped and such a welcome amenity. We were treated with such kindness and consideration and felt very welcome. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay for a longer period of time. It is obvious the owners take great pride in this establishment and go to great lengths to make certain needs are met. We will certainly return to this hotel when we travel to this area. We have already informed family, friends, and co-workers what an exceptional hotel this is and they won't find a nicer place to stay!

Room Tip: Select first or second floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clairem12212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I loved this place. Our room was a king suite and it was the size of a small apartment. There is a full kitchen with granite counter tops, full size stove, refrigerator and dishwasher, dishes and cookware you can actually cook with (if so inclined). There is a small table for two.The living room has a sofa and chair, end tables, and coffee table. The TV is large and hung on the wall. The bathroom was a good size and had nice towels. The king bed was very comfortable.
Everything was spotless!

At the pool end of the building is a large covered porch with tables and chairs and a grill for the guests to use. We were there in early July and evenings it was a nice gathering place.

The pool was clean and seemed well maintained. Towels at poolside.
The staff was efficient and courteous.
There is a large shopping area nearby (I walked to it, there are sidewalks and I felt safe walking alone) lots of restaurants, and a giant grocery store.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't like going up and down stairs, ask for a room on the second floor. It is level with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spcovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed over New Year's eve weekend. It felt like home more than a hotel and the staff was very friendly. We got a great rate on the deluxe suite. The room was large, clean and the bed was comfy. We rented a Wii which was a lot of fun. They also had free DVD's to borrow at the front desk. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn Florence
BEST WESTERN Inn Florence
#3 of 26 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Cincinnati Airport/Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Cincinnati Airport South
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence/Cincinnati Airport
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cincinnati Airport/Erlanger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Quarters

Property: Ashley Quarters
Address: 4880 Houston Rd, Florence, KY 41042-1363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ashley Quarters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy true hospitality at Northern Kentucky's Premier Residential and Leisure hotel. Featuring wireless high-speed internet in every room and 42" plasma screen televisions in our Deluxe Executive Suites, Ashley Quarters is a comfortable alternative to the traditional hotel. If you're searching for a "temporary" home for business, pleasure, between homes or even for a short visit to Northern Kentucky -- experience our Legendary Service and Exceptional Value for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ashley Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Quarters Florence
Ashley Quarters Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing