We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find fault!”
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Highley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights this weekend and while there was slight disruption due to the road being flooded still we were informed by phone before we left home and given clear instruction on where to park.
Our room (4) was nicely decorated and very comfortable, the only thing was the water tank is directly above the bed so it was a little noisy but certainly didn't ruin our stay.
The staff are incredibly friendly and was nice to see them having fun while they worked and including guests in this, they made us feel extremely welcome and at ease.
The food, wow! the menu is extensive for such a small place and lots of choice the meals are huge and well presented and tasted amazing, we ate both nights of our stay and could not find one thing to say in a negative way. Just wonderful, would definantly recommend and intend to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 404 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

With apologies for the title! But I stayed at the Ship Inn during the recent flooding. They include being true to its name as it came quite close to floating away! The entrance road was well underwater and the only access was down the hill from the station behind. All this of course did lead to some disruption.

That said, I had a lovely room at the front with a great view of the River Severn in full flood. What can I say about the food? Very well presented and generous portions. Very good value for money. The stuffed pheasant I had one evening was particularly good.

Well worth a visit to stay or eat if you are in the area and if you are a fisherman you can get day fishing rights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TempusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I knew we had a room over the bar when making the reservation, but it seemed louder upstairs than downstairs - not that it caused us any real problems but those who sleep lightly should probably ask for a quieter room.

Our evening meal was a bit mixed - my whale of a fish for the main course was a monster and could not be finished . . . . my wife's chicken balti had to be sent back as it was stone cold (this was resolved but quite clearly a microwave special). Our starters were both good and the breadboard would have sufficed for two.

The bar had a decent range of draught real ale bitters and the usual lagers and keg stuff.

Overall a good place for a night and if they had got the chicken balti right first time there would be little to comment upon - just be aware if you want a quiet room.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Ship for lunch today 2nd jan) and it was brilliant. Both my husband and I had the steak and ale pie which is not for the faint hearted as it's HUGE but also extremely tasty with melt in the mouth steak and a gorgeous ale flavour, it came with a portion if handout chips and peas. We also had a side of onion rings which were lovely and tasty!

The inside of the pub is spotless and the toilets were pristine and clean and smell lovely and fresh which is a welcoming site. The staff are lovely and attentive and couldn't do more to help. It was a Thursday lunch time around 12.00 when we got there but by the time we left around 1.30 it was starting to fill up. We had tried to go on Monday but it was packed to the rafters so we were so glad we could return today.

Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back to try the Hawaiian gammon steak!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shropshirelass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and a lovely plush room (room1) overlooking The Severn. Very peaceful too. The food is fantastic, fresh and generous portions. The Locals are friendly and staff are lovely and very helpful and attentive, especially Janice.
5 star rating and definitely recommend a stay and meal here

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hayd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went here for Sunday lunch whilst viewing property in the area. We took my son, my partners son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren, 8 and 6 years. There was a very warm welcome and we had a large round table at the front looking out on the river. The children's menu was exceptional value for money. Although we went for Sunday lunch only one of the party had the carvery (the meat was a little on the dry side), the rest of us went for the specials, which were great. The side salad was great but may benefit from have the dressing served on the side than all over the salad for those who are not salad dressing lovers. The pub became a little busy and service at the bar was a little slow.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Brought the amazon deal for a 2 course meal with wine at the ship inn,
Had the starters which were fantastic , and both had the large cod and chips ,
Everything was spot on , will be returning for the B&B , on a Saturday to have a night of music ....
Thanks guys .....

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: Severnside, Highley WV16 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Highley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Highley
Price Range: $60 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn was first built in 1770 for a local bargeman and has recently undergone a major refurbishment. On offer is superb quality dining and accommodation. Relax and admire the views over the River Severn while having a meal from our extensive menu. Our bar also serves quality real ales and fine wines. Situated on the banks of the River Severn, the location is superb for fishing, walking, bird watching and is within easy traveling distance of the historic towns of Bewdley & Bridgnorth. On the doorstep is the Severn Valley Railway station at Highley and Visitor Centre where various steam locomotives from the Golden Days of Steam Railway are on display. It is an ideal setting to come and enjoy a taste of Shropshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing