We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Highley B&B and Inns
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We did not stay at the ship inn even though it was tempting, but we had lunch there, we were having a day out on the steam trains which run right pass the inn, so we stopped for lunch. Food was amazing, it was all made fresh, it was a lot of it too and for good value. It was so good we went there again the following week (we were on hols for two weeks) , we are going to go there again in July it defo stuck in our minds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louiseg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    97
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
56
201
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night using a wowcher. If you're a fan of the countryside and/or scenic villages and towns then this place makes an ideal base as the likes of Bridgnorth, Ironbridge and Bewdley are all close by. We were also approximately a two minute walk from Highley station on the Severn Valley Railway line. We couldn't fault the cleanliness of the pub and room that we had, the quality and quantity of the meals or the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (we were offered occupancy of our room on arrival at midday) and wouldn't hesitate to make a return visit to The Ship Inn if we visit this beautiful part of the country again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulB280266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights for a birthday celebration, using a woucher.Booked 2 rooms, both were lovely. The only thing ,would have liked a full length mirror in room.
We had a beautiful view from the room. The food was great ,live music on Saturday night. Customers and staff all dancing. Great atmosphere . Highly station was 2 minutes walk. Book Severn valley railway in advance for savings. Definitely worth staying at. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnethlmpson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Wowcher deal. Used it as a base to visit Ironbridge attractions. Excellent! Accommodation was very comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was first class and astonishing value; staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Hope to go back again to explore a beautiful part of the country.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

It would have been 4.75/5, if I were able to give it. Only a couple of minor irritations in that the shower gel dispenser in the shower wasn't dispensing and the tv in the bedroom is not on a telescopic arm, so gave you a cricked neck trying to watch it around the corner.

The accommodation and the pub is spectacularly clean. The beer is extremely well kept and, as a hard-to-please aficionado, that is some statement coming from me. It was Indian buffet night when we were staying and we paid £8.95 each for a number of dishes, which were all excellent ( I know because I tried them ,oops! ),There's a £2 extra charge for the pickle tray and poppadums.We rounded the night off with a complimentary ice cream each ; I was stuffed.

Comfortable night's sleep. Lovely to hear the tawny owls hooting across the valley and nothing else.

Great breakfast rounded off a lovely stay. Oh and of course, there's my muse, the Severn Valley Railway next door :).....

Room Tip: We were in room 5 at the top. Lovely views across the river and the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 night after buying wowcher for £39. Checked in at bar. Took to our room number 5. Large bedroom and bathroom very clean! Spotless! Views over the river were gorgeous! Even more so on a sunny day! Ate in bar at night and couldn't fault it! After being stuck in traffic for 5 hours we were glad to arrive!! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived for a 3 night stay on a Sunday afternoon, bar was busy with locals so wasn't sure where to check in, but once we spoke to the Staff. everything just went like clockwork... was shown to our room which was lovely, it was a family room (only 2 of us) with plenty of space and so clean and charming.. the decor was 1st class, the en-suite big and bright, it had everything, plenty of towels, shampoo and shower gel, cotton wool and buds.. hairdryer, complementary tea coffee etc, which was re plenished when needed. The view from the bedroom was of the River Severn, rolling hills and plenty of wild life to look and listen to.. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, full english was not greasy and not to be missed.. again staff 1st class and friendly, the landlady Katrina always around to make sure everyone was happy, Ate in the restaurant twice, it was great value for money and cooked perfectly. Drinks are very reasonably priced, so all in all this place is a winner. The staff make it the place that it is. Will be back !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is above bar, so could be a little noisy, but didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaux54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highley
5.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bewdley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
6.0 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Severnside, Highley WV16 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Highley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Highley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn was first built in 1770 for a local bargeman and has recently undergone a major refurbishment. On offer is superb quality dining and accommodation. Relax and admire the views over the River Severn while having a meal from our extensive menu. Our bar also serves quality real ales and fine wines. Situated on the banks of the River Severn, the location is superb for fishing, walking, bird watching and is within easy traveling distance of the historic towns of Bewdley & Bridgnorth. On the doorstep is the Severn Valley Railway station at Highley and Visitor Centre where various steam locomotives from the Golden Days of Steam Railway are on display. It is an ideal setting to come and enjoy a taste of Shropshire. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing