We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called rough and nasty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falls of Rough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Resort & Golf Club
Covington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be called rough and nasty”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

this was the nastiest golf course I have ever played. the pro lied to us about this course two days before I got there. Our group usally plays the Penisula outside of Lexington. The Roughs made that look like the PGA West. There were no greens the even painted 18 green ugly green at that. The Mansion was old but nice. If you brought your own the owner told us we couldnt keep it in the manison. The owner is a piece of work also. We told him of what was going on. He told us that was our promblem. There way to much to go into but I will try to save you. Dont spend a penny there you will regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefalls40119, General Manager at The Falls Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
We apologize for the experience you had according to your review. Our goal is to provide the highest customer service to each of our guests. We hope you will visit us again in the future and in doing so, we have the opportunity to change your view on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

A group of 16 friends booked a weekend golf trip to Green Farms resort (Lafayette Golf Course). We were told back in Feb at the Cincinnati Golf show that they the new cabins would be done by the time came around for us to come down. We booked the trip after review the "reviews" of how great of a place and how great the course is. The week before the golf pro said the course was in great shape but two of the greens were in distress (2 & 18). He also stated the cabins would be done. The day before we find out the cabins will not be completed, but they set us up in the Mansion and another persons house for us to stay. Very disorganized, golf course was in terrible shape and JR (owner) didn't seem to care about our problems. He said we can go stay somewhere else. We had no place to put our food(at the Mansion) and had to store everything at the house (16 people) in a 3 bedroom house. The house was nice but was not set up for that many people. We will not be coming back to this golf resort. As for the Mansion, it was beautifully restored and if you were just staying there to visit I am sure you would enjoy it.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank swhoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crest Hill, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This was the first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast. We normally book Embassy Suites or Hampton Hotels. Our son owns a home in Falls of Rough and invited us for the 4th of July along with 20 other people. We opted to find a hotel close by instead of staying with them. We tried to stay at the State Park Resort which was sold out July 3 and 4 and they suggested we try Green Farm Resort. We wanted to stay 7 nights from June 29-July 6, 2010. From the first call to Green Farm Resort where we worked with Kyle Pelley who willingly explained the layout of the mansion for our room selection, golf tee times, accomodations for food we were bringing to our sons and needed a freezer/refrigerator to use, and many other questions. He went out of his way to answer all the questions and even sent additional photos of the Mansion.
The Green Farm Resort was the center of the town back in it's day (1823 for 140 years). It included a mill for lumber; farmers brought grain for milling into flour and corn meal; wool carding mill and the general store. Many buildings still remain.
The Mansion has been totally renovated and is awesome. We stayed in the Sebastian Suite. (Most accomodations have a private bathroom.) See www.greenfarmresort.com for description of it's history and accomodations (pictures are accurate and it is even more awesome in person). There is an 18 hole golf course, swimming pool, stocked fishing lakes, hiking trails, and a back deck on the mansion which included a bbq grill (which guest may use), tables and chairs, outdoor fireplace, corn bag and ladder ball games which are in the grassy area next to the deck.
We were fortunate to meet JR (owner) of the 200+ acre resort. He loved cooking and helped the innkeeper with our breakfast each morning. JR is down to earth and pays attention to the smallest detail. It was apparent that JR has a wonderful relationship with his staff. The innkeepers and other staff we met were very accomodating and friendly (shadow of their leader). Each morning they tried to make it special and different for us. Others were on a bike trip so they made sure they had lots of carbs in the breakfast that day for them. The grounds and the mansion cannot be accurately described for their beauty and history. The wood, high ceilings, room sizes, staircase, and cleanliness was outstanding. Our room was spacious; the bed was so comfortable you didn't want to get up; the sheets were soft and smooth; spacious bathroom and the room included a fireplace and a music box. We would definitely stay here again and again and highly recommend it to you. They are completing cabins on the river which also look wonderful. We were so pleased that the State Resort was booked so that we could have the "perfect memory" of the Green Farm Resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VicBobCrestHill_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Absolutley amazing! I've heard this place was wonderful before and now after their million dollar makeover, wow! Beautiful, historical and educational. The evenings on the back deck with the massive outdoor fireplace were beautiful and relaxing. Difficult to leave! Number two ranked golf course in the state of Kentucky. They even have a historic general store from the 1800's restored where you can find lots of goodies, even a glass bottled coke for 10 cents. Can't wait to bring the kids back here!

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2007

This mansion is very, very nice and the property is beautiful. The caretaker at the inn is a very sweet and friendly lady who was ready to help at all times. The house's size and proportions are dramatic. It's like being in a giant European chateau. The rooms were amazing with very high ceilings and very nice antique furniture. A nice golf course surrounds the mansion. A state park with an additional golf course and a 5000 acre lake make this place the most secluded and desirable destination for my family. We spend every weekend we get free at the Green mansion now. As far as lodging goes, nothing beats the Green mansion for us.

  • Liked — Staying in a place that could easily be a museum. Absolutely amazing place.
  • Disliked — We found nothing to dislike, and we like perfection.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robotaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

For anyone looking for a romantic getaway this is the place. Leave the lights and big city behind. You will love the peace and quite of this historic Bed & Breakfast. No phones, 1 TV and the sleeping accomodations are better than any 5 star hotel. We stayed in the Willis Green Suite and loved every minute of it. The bed was an old Victorian antique and was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it in the morning. The breakfast was great, home cooked and tasted every bit of home. The innkeepper was wonderful and very friendly, seeing to our every need. The is one B&B that we will return to again and again. A definite 5 star rating or more.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jstmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls of Rough
3.1 mi away
Rough River Dam Lodge
Rough River Dam Lodge
#1 of 2 in Falls of Rough
83 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Hatfield Inn
The Hatfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Leitchfield
66 reviews
21.6 mi away
No photo provided
Eagle Inn
#1 of 2 in Beaver Dam
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Resort & Golf Club

Property: The Falls Resort & Golf Club
Address: 57 Jenny Green Rd, Falls of Rough, KY 40119-6305 (Formerly Green Farm Resort)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Falls of Rough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Falls of Rough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated four stars by Golf Digest, The Falls Resort and Golf Club is located in the breathtaking hills of Kentucky. Nestled in the heart of the bluegrass, The Falls Resort offers Deluxe Accommodations, Award-winning Golf, a Swimming Pool, Stocked Fishing Lakes, Hiking Trails, Real Estate Opportunities and much more. With over 2,000 acres, The Falls Resort has something for everyone, from family vacations to romantic getaways to corporate retreats. Visit The Falls Resort today and experience it for a weekend or a lifetime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Falls Resort & Golf Club Hotel Falls Of Rough
The Falls Resort And Golf Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing