We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Cottage

Colonial Cottage
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Erlanger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The parking might be a little on the short side but the food and service are definitely on the up side. Fried chicken is as good as any. Cat fish also outstanding. Service is terrific.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wdooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Salem
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home-style cookin' in northern Kentucky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went for breakfast with friends who are regulars. There is a wide selection of breakfast dishes many including traditional dishes and ingredients - country ham, goetta, catfish and lots more. Terrific omelets and many good choices for dessert. In business for 80+ years and going strong. Check out the web site for the menu and more details.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,134 reviews
779 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Stellar Service... Best Chicken and Goetta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I'm so glad I studied Tripadvisor for the best places in the Northern Ky. area to eat. Not just Florence Ky, but the surrounding communities as well (I usually just look at the Florence area).

I saw that Colonial Cottage had many good reviews and featured great home-style food. I am a believer now.

Bobby (our server), knows how to treat you with the best "Southern Hospitality". He went through much of the menu describing in detail the preparation of the entrees and sides. My wife, mother and I had never heard of Goetta (a local specialty). Upon this information, Bobby suggested we should try some samples and had the kitchen prepare some sampling plates. The Goetta (pronounced "get-a"), was tasty.

I ordered the two piece dark chicken lunch with sides of green beans and potato salad. This was the best fried chicken I've ever eaten. It puts KFC, Zehnder's (of Frankenmuth, Mi.) and many others to shame. WOW! How to make the perfect flavor and juicy chicken (juicy, not greasy), this kitchen takes comfort-food chicken to an artful nirvana. The six-hour green beans and potato salad are equally superb.

My wife ordered blackend catfish, my mom ordered the largest stuffed pepper I've ever seen. I sampled tastes from both and they were excellent.

For dessert we ordered a slice of chocolate pecan bourbon pie. Yum!

The only item that was just good and not exceptional, was the cornbread muffin.


If the journey is as important to you as the destination, get off the expressway and find this place on the old Dixie Highway. You'll be glad you did. This place is what "slow food" is all about. Unrushed perfection.


Bobby earned a special reward. I was given a chance through a Tripadvisor promotion to hand out a special "Five Circle" pin for excellent service. I hope he wears it proudly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great downhome cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is one of my favorite places to eat in Northern Kentucky. It's a family-owned restaurant that has been in business since 1933. Their specialties include homemade pies, catfish, goetta, hot slaw, salmon croquettes, cottage ham, beef barley soup and a Kentucky Hot Brown. Every one is delicious. Prices are reasonable. And serving staff is friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebErlanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The best blackened catfish in town. Goetta and eggs great way to start the day. On the lighter side hot spinach salad. Fried chicken is fantastic! Can't go wrong at the Cottage.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDS1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing