We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ageless comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colonial Cottage

Colonial Cottage
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Erlanger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ageless comfort food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have to say that Colonial Cottage is one of my favorite places for breakfast. The restaurant is clean. The wait staff is extremely accomodating and friendly. The food is just plain good. Nothing fancy for the breakfast menu but a wide selection and GOETTA! Their goetta is prepared as it should be and is a regional food that is sometimes under rated.
Have not gone for lunch or dinner but the buzz is that is you are looking for good old fashioned home cooking this is the place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaGagoesgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    43
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haubstadt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Took a chance and it really paid off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent the night in Florence and was looking for some breakfast Saturday before heading out for a ball game. Bob Evans was an absolute mad house so we went with plan B. I found it while surfing that morning and wrote it down as a backup. So glad I did because it was only minutes away and the food and service was top notch. Wife and I tried the breakfast casseroles and our teenage son got "Grandpa's Breakfast." It filled him up and that's saying something. The coffee was excellent too.

We only visited for breakfast but I would venture to guess that lunch and dinner is awesome as well.

Highly recommend over any local chain restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great home cookin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The food and atmosphere was top notch. Nothing will ever top Momma's biscuits and gravy but this place is delicious! Can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mintert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,162 reviews
1,156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place has been serving up meals for a very long time and they have worked the kinks out. The decor may be overdue for an update but it feels very comfortable here. I enjoyed a big breakfast here this morning. The lunch and dinner menu looks good. Service is adequate & prices are good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4bird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
250 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

When you walk into Colonial Cottage, you will feel like you've stepped back in time to a much simpler time. The decor and menu are virtually unchanged from probably the '50s, though it did open in the '30s. The ladies who greet you at the door are undoubtedly someone's granny, and are about the friendliest people you'll meet! They even told me the secret to the pancakes. Our waitress was a young gal, but she clearly embraced the friendly philosophy that keeps them in business.
We went for breakfast, and got what we came for: a classic American breakfast. Eggs, breakfast meats, home fries and pancakes. The waitress suggested I try the goetta, since I asked what it was, and the couple of locals in the booth next to us chimed in and explained ways I could try it. (It's a pork and oatmeal patty that can replace bacon or sausage as a side). I went for it, and thought it was really quite good. My eggs were cooked to perfection, and the home fries were ok, but could have been cooked a bit longer. With my meal, I got two "silver dollar" pancakes, but they're more the size of saucers. They were extremely sweet and dense. It was almost like eating a cupcake. (The secret is vanilla). Hubby got a similar but bigger meal (the grandpa ) , so his pancakes were the size dinner plates. The coffee was delicious, which is such a big deal to me. I hate really strong coffee, but i like rich flavor. I think Starbucks is too strong, so I hope that helps you understand my coffee description scale.
The reason you go to this place is friendly service and dependable food. You don't go for n upscale decor or romance. I suggest you try to avoid sitting by the door to the kitchen, since it is not a charming view. (The place could stand to be freshened up all over!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing