We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel- Don't Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingfield Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel- Don't Stay here!”
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We were in E-town for a conference on Jan. 25. When I originally made the reservation there was a mixup with the conference and the lady who took my reservation was so accomodating and upgraded our room to the "Luxury" Room. Sounded great. I was so pleased w/ that offer. However;

We get in our room and the heat is completely turned off. Now its January and about 20 degrees out that night. It took about 3 hrs for the room to warm up. The stairwells are completely un-heated-Very cold to walk in. (No elevators either)

We had a non-smoking room but it reeked so strongly of smoke our clothes were smelling like it when we left. I told the front desk when we checked out and she only said she'd "tell someone". No apology.

The door has about 1/2 inch gap all the way around it so that in the dark it appears you have a light on.

The shower had absolutely no water pressure- the output from the shower head was literally about the size of my fist.
Almost impossible to rinse out long hair.

Overall I was more than disappointed with this hotel. I would never stay there again, and will definately discourage anyone I know from staying there.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mkbh925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    96
    41
    36
    41
See reviews for
132
83
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traveler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2007

I've stayed at other accommodations in the area, this is the Four Seasons in comparison to the others. No, there isn't an elevator for the second floor, however the first floor is expansive. I've stayed here on many occasions, and only stayed on the second floor by request.

The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The hotel itself is extremely clean. The rooms that need to be updated are further out into the wings. The rooms that have been updated are beautiful and well appointed.

The pool area is a tropical oasis, with plenty of room for the kids to play, and others to gather and enjoy a nice conversation.

As for girlfriend get aways, there are rooms available with heart shaped tubs. All the rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, and a large jacuzzi tub. They are very large tubs so large in fact that I thought I had been given a handicap accessible room.

The staff is extremely friendly, courteous, and goes out of their way to make sure you have your every need met. It is within extreme close proximity to many restaurants within a walking distance across the parking lot. They have many of the menus available to the guests.

The only drawback, which is in all hotels in this area is pay per view movies are not available. It most certainly is a regional issue as all the hotels have this issue.

Out of them all, this is the gem . I was skiddish at first until I viewed the lobby and the room. This is the best there is. Hands down. Don't let the name fool you. The more prominent names in hotels are of no comparison to this accommodation.

If they are continuing to upgrade, it can only get better. As they are at the top of their game in the area.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, courtesty of staff, and great rooms
  • Disliked — The older part of the hotel has not been upgraded, and ther isn't an assistant for luggage
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenScoutTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta.ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I know the hotel is old and they have done everything possible to keep it in good shape, but with all of the new hotels going up next to it, this hotel better come up with something to draw people in.

Then pool is nice but small compared to many of the newer hotels. The rooms clean but showing the age of the hotel.

The hot tubs in the rooms are very small and the bathroom and hot tub are open to the bedroom. There is no privacy while using the toilet.

Frontdesk staff very pleasant and friendly. They even give you a 10% discount at the Texas Roadhouse, but they still need to upgrade the hotel if they want to charge the money they are charging for rooms.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price for value
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Silky12006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our family stayed 3 nights at this hotel while visiting family close by. It was a good place to stay for the price. Economical but, clean. We did have a problem with the hot water not working in our room. When we spoke with the front desk, they promptly upgraded us to another room that was larger and had more ammenities. Since there were four of us in one room, we were very pleased with the extra space and the staff was very accommodating. It is an older motel than has undergone some updating but, could use some more.
Breakfast was okay and a little more than most continental breakfasts offer...it was staffed (both on weekend and weekday) and things re-stocked when items got low.
Indoor pool was great for the kids...clean and heated to just the right temperature. They had fun.
Great location with many restaurants within walking distance and close to highway. Overall, very pleased with the stay and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, convenience, nice staff
  • Disliked — needs some updating
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof2inva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

This hotel was pretty good, my criteria is cleanliness and smell and this hotel passed. Remember though, this hotel has only two floors and is not required to have an elevator. We had one of those travelers coupon books that they have at the rest areas and such. Make sure you grab all the copies they offer cause we seen this hotel listed in differant books and there was a twenty dollar price difference. Lots of places to eat nearby. close to freeway.

  • Liked — convienance, price.
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattyinLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

I called Best Western directly to book this hotel. The gentleman on the phone stated, "They'll provide a "FULL HOT BREAKFAST, it's included." I even asked twice, are you sure it isn't just a glorified continental breakfast? He assured me it wasn't. I was concerned because of food allergies and wanted to be able to have some options.

Well, here is the run down on breakfast. You have to make your own belgium waffle and if they run out of batter at 8:30 no more is provided. SO GET BREAKFAST EARLY! This waffle is accompanied by hard boiled eggs, and biscuits and gravy. THAT IS ALL THAT IS COOKED! You can also choose from oatmeal packets, hostess type muffins, apples, bannanas, yogurt and cereal. Oh, I must not forget the juice that is more like hawaiian punch than real juice. Needless to say this IS a glorified continental breakfast. However, If they run out of waffles or you don't like the free breakfast provided here you can always go pay for a FULL BREAKFAST at Cracker Barrel right next door.

Also, be sure that you confirm your reservation directly with the hotel. I had reserved two rooms with two queen beds, for two nights, for 6 adults, a week and a half in advance ,and received a confirmation number. Luckily, The morning that I was suppose to check in I called and discovered that they had NO record of this reservation, and I only a limited availability of rooms to be had. That night we checked in to two rooms with 1 king bed and a pull out sofa. (Note: The sofa bed was too short for a young man 5'11 to sleep on. Feet extend will 1.5 feet off the end of the bed.)

Anyone can just walk right in through the outer doors around the building because of faulty latches. The showers also hum with a horrible screach that would seem perfectly, fitting for fourth of July festivities.

The only thing I can say that they have going for them is that the facility is dated but fairly clean, and there is a good climate control device in the rooms. Plus the Front desk staff are very friendly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Disorganized and uninformed reservation system. Breakfast =p
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UnbridledSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helena, mt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

we loved it. our son was graduating from basic training in Ft. Knox and we couldn't have picked a nicer place. rooms were clean, staff was great and there were several nice places to eat nearby. it was a little bit of a hike to ft. knox, but believe me, when i saw what was closer to to post, we knew we had made the right decision. the onlyknock I have is that the bkfst was terrible!

  • Liked — close to where we needed
  • Disliked — nothing really it was a great place
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mtskinsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elizabethtown hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Elizabethtown
Comfort Suites Elizabethtown
#2 of 18 in Elizabethtown
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Elizabethtown
Ramada Elizabethtown
#5 of 18 in Elizabethtown
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elizabethtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
Hampton Inn Elizabethtown
#1 of 18 in Elizabethtown
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabethtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Elizabethtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingfield Inn & Suites

Property: Wingfield Inn & Suites
Address: 1043 Executive Dr, Elizabethtown, KY 42701-1272 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wingfield Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingfield Inn and Suites has an indoor pool and a fitness center. Wireless Internet access is complimentary throughout the premises. There is a business center on site. A complimentary breakfast is available. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. This is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Wingfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Elizabethtown
Best Western Hotel Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing