We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss”
Review of Denny's

Denny's
Ranked #11 of 128 Restaurants in Elizabethtown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Upton, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Denny's in E-town isn't bad, you just take your chances. Food is pretty consistent in quality. Service is where you get a crap shoot. They always seem short handed. Servers are usually friendly but overworked. Last time, the manager was yelling over every little thing. Conversations between staff are often very loud and irritable. This restaurant also seems to attract undisciplined children. Often these seem to be friends or family of staff there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 784 helpful votes
“Good Food, But A Couple Of Errors”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Ate here for brunch yesterday with the wife. Place was less than halfway full. Maybe closer to a third.

I got the original slam with two pancakes, two scrambled eggs, two sausage links and two pieces of bacon. Waitress asked if I wanted cheese in my eggs and I said yes, but she didn't tell me it was a 40-cent charge. I specifically asked for sugar-free syrup, but they brought me regular. I had to ask again to get it corrected.

Wife got a club which was listed at $8.99 on menu, but was rang up as $9.29.

Final ticket was $16.34 after we got everything fixed, so it didn't kill the wallet too much.

Denny's is connected to a Day's Inn, so don't look for an independent free-standing location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cksportsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My supper at Denny's”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This Denny's was a part of the Day's Inn and it was a pleasant dining experience. The waiter was really nice, the food was nice and the overall experience was nice

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonCheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not Just a Breakfast Restaurant”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had lunch at Denny's this time. We usually have breakfast here, but this time we had their specialty burgers. It comes with fries, but I wanted to substitute onion rings. No problem. I got a southwest burger with peppers and pepper jack cheese. It was juicy and delicious. I also had a peanut butter chocolate milkshake that was very good. Our service was great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimmie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

the food was good,the service was good,no dislikes,good location,right next to the motel.and the hwy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanetaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

 
Elizabethtown, KY
Elizabethtown, KY
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing