We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

La Cuisine Robicheau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Home cooked meals - serving local acadien dishes " Rappie Pie" and fresh seafood . We also offer steaks and grilled chicken breast for the non seafood lovers . Restaurant is in an old home with several small rooms some overlooking our beautiful Saint Mary's Bay . Patio service is available when weather permits outdoor seating.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Acadian food and the freshest seafood in Nova-Scotia, look no further! At la Cuisine Robicheau you can experience a few authentic "Baie Sainte-Marie style" Acadian dishes that include Rapure and Fricot. The fish cakes are massive and all the seafood they serve is extremely fresh and perfectly cooked. I recommend asking for the seafood lasagna. It is not "officially" on the menu but they often have it and trust me, you will not be disappointed!

A few more tips: On Wednesdays they offer live Acadian music. It's a great way to experience the local culture. I recommend making reservations (not just on Wednesdays), seeing as this spot is very popular with locals and tourists alike.

And the icing on the cake (literally) is the desert selection. All homemade, pies and cheesecake. The best I have ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesrob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    27
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Salmon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Acadian restaurant”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on the recommendation of some locals and were not disappointed. Reservations are advised on weekends. We had the Acadian dish - rappie pie. It certainly has a different texture to the potato filling but we loved it. The owner was very nice and took the time afterwards to explain to us how it is made. The locals who recommended the restaurant said it was like home cooking and we agreed. The seafood was fresh and simply prepared which was great. Desert did not disappoint either. There were a lot of locals in the restaurant who were very friendly and asked about our travels and gave us some history of the area. I would highly recommend this restaurant for the food and overall atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Caution!!! Do NOT eat here”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Terrible food, terrible slow service. VERY rude owner. We suggest either The Cape View in Mavillet (awesome view) in the summer or Road side Grill in St. Bernard.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mmm, mmm better than good”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was fresh and delicious. The service was friendly and there was not a long wait for the food. I really loved the fact that the food was cooked to order and there was no problem making a substitution from the set menu. I will definitely return and have been telling all my friends and relatives about this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cken55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mostly seafood.... totally great”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this is a great addition to this part of Nova Scotia. The food is excellent, service friendly, prices reasonable. The scallops or pan fried haddock are my favorites.... and for an added treat, a starter of fish cakes, and a good sized dessert! Lunch and dinner, it's best to call for a reservation.... it's a popular place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myntrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine Robicheau also viewed

Mavillette, Municipality of Clare
 
Meteghan, Municipality of Clare
Belliveaus Cove, Municipality of Clare
 
Little Brook, Municipality of Clare
Little Brook, Municipality of Clare
 

Been to La Cuisine Robicheau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing