We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent mexican food.”

El Rio Grande Mexican Resaurant
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Dry Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent mexican food.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Walking distance from the hampton inn right off I75. Free salsa and chips are very tasty and fresh. Guacamole is excellent. Sides of mexican rice and beans very disappointing. The main courses were excellent. Service was superb and staff were very nice to our 3 little girls and not bothered at all by their noise. Great serving size and really good prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic cuisine, vegetarian friendly, great prices”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Was so happy to have a menu with shrimp and tilapia options. Dinner, with 2 drinks was under $25 each including gratuity. The waiter Roberto was so friendly and helpful that we wanted to bring him home.

Helpful?
Thank kimcamChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
306 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“I cannot believe how good this place was ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This place has some of best guacamole I have ever had. No lie. Salsa was good too. I went with the shrimp fajita, and asked for no tortillas, no dairy and no beans and the server got it right first time. Kids eat free on Sundays!

Helpful?
Thank courtneymccollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good burritos and enchiladas, yummy!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Right next door to the Hampton Inn at the Dry Ridge KY I-75 exit, a walk of just a couple hundred feet from the hotel front door.

Burritos and enchiladas were the best, good rice, and fresh tenderly-crisp hot chips were served with slightly spicy salsa. This was a nice treat after a long day's drive. The menu is huge, with many many Mexican choices, plus fish, steaks, pork chops, salads, and many drink choices --- for a "dry" county that is. Beer is served, but no hard liquor. It's a Pepsi place, not Coca Cola, but they taste the same to me.

I'll stop here again when traveling the expressway.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoThere88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic but request no cilantro”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed nearby and based on customer reviews decided to give the restaurant a try. Oh my gosh! My son, who never eats mexican, ate 2 cheese quesidallias plus rice! My husband had the grande burrito (chimichanga?) and couldn't believe how good it was. I had 2 tacos knowing I would have to eat the others' left overs. Well, we brought left overs home. The food was fantastic, we requested absolutely no cilantro and only got a litle in our salsa but we could still eat it. The family was friendly and funny. The owner kept saying cilantro is good for you! Well, ok, not us. He obliged. Go-it's good, not pricey, and friendly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosieMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rio Grande Mexican Resaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Rio Grande Mexican Resaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing