We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dry Ridge
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Below Average Hampton Inn”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed here on the way back from a trip down South and found the Hampton Inn in Dry ridge to be below average on many counts.

During our trip we stayed at four Hampton Inns and this was by the most basic and drab property. The rooms were very bare and had no fridge/microwave, which all the others did. The beds were small and the hotel had nothing special to say about it.

It is easily located just off I75 and there are a few restaurants near by.

The breakfast room was small and we could not get a table to eat of breakfast and had to take our food back to our room, which is a real drag. This should never happen!

The 'business center' was a work station in the middle of the breakfast room, which again is not how most people would expect it to be, certainly not me!

If staying in the area again, I would certainly try somewhere else. 2 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    146
    63
    46
    27
See reviews for
244
134
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My mother and I spent one night at this hotel during a visit to the area for family tree research. We were very pleased with our clean, quiet room. The beds were very comfortable. No strange smells, AC worked great. We couldn't hear any noise from the hall or parking lot. Only complaint was that the ice maker was broken on our floor and first floor but we saw a repairman working on it the next day. The one on the second floor was working. Breakfast was great, many options. Desk managers were on the ball, helped me get directions to a neighboring town. Cracker Barrel is next door. I'd stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stopped here on the way home just as a place to sleep. Great value with a coupon from those books at the rest area $70. Good breakfast, clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels7Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant County Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I've seen several comments talking about how helpful Phyllis had been. I'm sorry to report that Phyllis passed away this summer from cancer. She was a very dedicated manager, and will surely be missed.
I'm the tourism director in Grant County. I haven't met the new manager, but I'm sure that Phyllis trained her well before she passed on.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logcabin1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Have stayed here several times on trips over the past four years. Predictable good, solid Hampton Inn experience with no problems - very clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, friendly helpful staff. Nice extra touch in the room was a "welcome basket" with bottle of water, bag of chips and some candy. Easy check in, no problems with reservations. Location is good, restaurants close by, easy access to the interstate. Rooms are nice size, have never noticed noise from hallway or other rooms. Lighted parking lot with adequate number of spaces visible from the rooms. Fitness room is small but hasn't been busy when we've stayed here. Elevators are slow but with two available, didn't have to wait.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirligig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed 1 night travelling from Atlanta to Toronto. We are parents with a 20 month old son.

Location: GREAT - directly off the I-75, next to the HI Express, a Cracker Barrel restaurant and a very sad little outlet mall.

Pool: Indoor, very small, Very cold, but clean and we still had fun.

Front Desk: Could not find our reservation - even when we provided a confirmation number. Finally found it - many apologies later

Room: The clerk warned us that the hotel is still settling so it will look like the door does not close all the way - especially near the top of the door frame. Very true and a little creepy. We were assured it could not be opened, but it looked like someone had tried as just about every door on the 3rd floor - ours included, had a chunk missing where it looks like someone tried to open it with a crow bar. Every floor tile in the bathroom was cracked and the baseboards were falling off. We were told that all damage is due to settling - asked how old the hotel is... 8 years! We can't believe no-one has fixed these deficiencies over the years. The maintenance is just cheap and poor. Not the usual Hampton standard.

Breakfast - great, usual Hampton fare.

OVERALL: Not a terrible experience, but would find somewhere a little nicer next time.

  • Liked — Location - right beside the I-75.
  • Disliked — Hotel is "settling" and major cracks and door repairs are needed throughout.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_To
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDRYKY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dry Ridge, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I am so sorry that this was just an "Okay" experance. We really do work hard to make everyone happy. I would ask that you give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here on our way to Gatlinburg. It was a nice hotel & clean. There are a couple of other hotels in the same area including a Holiday Inn Express on the same lot as the Hampton Inn. Hampton Inn was $30 more and we chose it because it had an indoor pool for the kids. The pool was very cold so not really worth the extra money. We were on the 1st floor and could hear the people above us at 11pm taking showers and a child or two running back & forth and back & forth! It was very loud! Finally 45 minutes they all went to bed and we were able to fall back asleep! The worst part of the stay was the size of the bed. Both beds were full & seemed extremely small. We travel frequently and have always had at least a queen sized bed. Luckily we were there for only one night or we would've had to change hotels. Breakfast in the morning was okay. Cereal choices for kids not so great ... corn flakes, raisin bran & something else along those lines. Eggs looked gross but actually were pretty tasty. Definately recommend for a quick stay but not for one or more nights.

  • Liked — Immediately off of I-75
  • Disliked — Size of full beds ~ too small!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kelnron05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dry Ridge
4.1 mi away
Sunrise Inn
Sunrise Inn
#1 of 3 in Williamstown
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dry Ridge
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richwood-Cincinnati South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Ramada Sparta/At Speedway
22.1 mi away
Best Western Inn Florence
Best Western Inn Florence
#3 of 28 in Florence
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Dry Ridge
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Dry Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dry Ridge

Property: Hampton Inn Dry Ridge
Address: 1200 Cull Rd, Dry Ridge, KY 41035-8917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Dry Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dry Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dry Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Dry Ridge, Lexington and Cincinnati attractions and activities when staying at the Hampton Inn Dry Ridge hotel. Conveniently located off of I-75, our hotel is 30 minutes south of Cincinnati, 45 minutes north of Lexington, 5 minutes away from the Noah Ark attraction and 35 minutes away from the Creation Museum. Whether you’re looking to play in neighboring cities or visit local attractions in Dry Ridge, KY, or if you need a place to rest before arriving at your final destination, we’re the perfect choice. We offer proximity to Ohio and Kentucky shopping, dining and water activities. Speed things up a little with a trip to Kentucky Speedway. Sample wine or enjoy a special event at Elk Creek Vineyards. Explore Kentucky Horse Park, a working horse farm and educational theme park. Horse lovers will also enjoy Keeneland Thoroughbred Racing & Turfway Park. Shop or dine at the Florence Mall or Dry Ridge Outlet Center. Feel at home in a guest room or accessible room offering one king-sized or two double bed room types, as well as one-bedroom suites. Relax on the sofa bed while using the lap desk for your laptop. Keep in touch with work using the free high-speed internet access or complete a project while at the work desk with an adjustable lamp. At the end of a hectic day, you’ll get a great night’s sleep in a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Relax and swim in our indoor heated pool. Enjoy complimentary HBO in all rooms. Wake up to a hot complimentary breakfast and a business center to print out your travel itinerary. We hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Dry Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dry Ridge Hotel Dry Ridge
Dry Ridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing