We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful for an event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful for an event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arranged a big lunch at The Greenway as a special way of marking the retirement of a much loved colleague. Despite initial concerns that we might not be able to afford it, we were delighted at the price we were quoted for a three course meal plus coffees. The venue is truly wonderful and perfect for a special occassion. All guests arriving experienced the warm welcome of the staff who remained understated, patient and helpful throughout the day. The food was fabulous and all dietary requirements were dealt with effortlessly, which was a huge relief for me organising the event. he hotel is well located in relation to Cheltenham and the wider cotswolds - my only tiny suggestion would be to get the hedge cut back at the entrance so those approaching from the Stroud direction could see the hotel sign a little better. Overall a lovely and my retiring colleague said it was a genuine highlight of his life.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyface11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    162
    75
    40
    14
See reviews for
94
371
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived a little earlier than expected at this hotel, and were immediately offered a drink upon arrival, by the Manager, Luc, as the room was given a final inspection for us.
We had been given a special offer for the Bridal Suite (room nr 6), which included a 3 course dinner and free use of Spa.
We were definitely not disappointed. The huge suite was outstandingly beautiful, sumptuously decorated, with a beautiful four poster bed, gorgeous curtains and lamps, and had many windows, with breathtaking views over the Cotswold countryside. The bathroom was amazing, with a beautiful big corner bath, and an enormous shower cubicle. Worth mentioning is that the bathroom also had a window with beautiful views, and was nice and bright.
The Spa pool was lovely, and the water wonderfully warm. The showers and steamroom great, and all of it beautifully clean. The hot tub outside not to be missed on a cold day!
Although the hotel was very smart, it had a very friendly atmosphere, and wasn't at all snooty, and hush, hush. The service was very attentive, particularly by the French waitress in the restaurant, who couldn't have been more helpful with the cheeses! The dinner was extremely good. The portions were quite small, but with the little courses in between, or 'amuse gueule', in was very satisfying, particularly when coffee and petit fours had been finished. My starter, a pate, was delicious, and my fish (Brill) was excellently cooked.My partner was very happy with his scallops and main course of duck as well. There could have been a few more vegetables, and the dessert was not as high a standard as I would have liked - a chocolate tart, with what seemed like a 'bought in' base, rather than a home made buttery base made by the pastry chef.
We were very happy with the hotel and the dinner, and would very highly recommend this very special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexalot
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If big is best - the Greenway proves that small is better! A friendly hotel, good sized rooms, great wine selection and tasty food.

It was a pleasure to stay here, eat here and to use the spa.

The spa itself is small but nonetheless offers a good selection of treatments in a friendly and comfortable setting.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Me and my husband are just back from a very relaxing weekend at The Greenway. We arrived yesterday around 12:30 and the very friendly concierge showed us around, took our luggage and showed us our room. The room was very well equipped. It had a kingsize bed, two large windows with French doors, a nice seating area with a flat screen TV. The interior was very tasteful. Very much in keep with the rest of the hotel. We did not reserve a table at the restaurant for our evening meal but we had no problems to get a table. We had a fantastic meal with great wine and ended the day on a very high note. One of the best offers we had so far from secret escapes. Both my husband and I are loving the Spa experience. This hotel had the best package we have encountered since we move to the UK from Germany. I especially liked the "Badezuber" which is located in a little courtyard outside. It was utter bliss yesterday afternoon sitting in this hot tub all by myself and reflecting on the day. The Sauna and Spa area is very good with loungers around the pool. One can relax or be more active in the pool with a water massage bed. The breakfast this morning was good and a little stroll through the garden did set us up nicely for the way home. We will be back for more of the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoweye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

In the last few months I have been to this hotel 6 times, sometimes with my family and sometimes alone. Every time we have been made to feel very welcome and have had excellent and very friendly service. This hotel has really beautiful grounds, which are a joy to walk around. The views of the countryside are awe inspiring. The restaurant is first class, especially the cheese platter and venison. Breakfast is also good, although the buffet is a little limited. The spa is pretty good by any standards, having a sauna, steam room, decent sized pool as well as a beauty facility. There is also a weights room, which is good enough for basic needs, but could do with having a barbell. There is a nice lounge where you can relax with a pot of tea. It feels like being at home. There is also a small bar area. Although the restaurant can get booked out, the hotel tends to be on the quiet side which is ideal if you are looking to relax. There is a very large car park in front of the hotel for zero stress parking. It is easy to miss the entrance to the hotel when turning off from the main road though,-so keep your eyes peeled. There is a long, narrow driveway, which is little more than one car wide, so hope that nobody is coming the other way! We have stayed in 4 different rooms, all of which were very well appointed in a country house theme. All of the rooms had lovely views out on to the surrounding countryside. As is typical with many English hotels of this type, the plumbing can have a mind of its own sometimes, and can be a little noisy. A nice touch is the little teddy bear which you have to put in front of the door if you do not wish to be disturbed. We'll be staying at the Greenway again in two week's time - I'm already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karate_boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed back at the end of January for a night, I was with a company having a meeting at the hotel. My room was a very good size with a nice entrance hall / room, I was over looking the spa courtyard with the Cotswold hills in the distance. Dinner was good the lounge area is spacious yet still cosy with the snow outside, I was given the menu's with my drink & some nice little canapés to start me off. The food in the restaurant was very good & the service was attentive & well paced. I had a lovely nights sleep and the meeting the next day was also good, even the buffet lunch (which tend to be hit or miss at meetings) was nice. Very welcoming & helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked with 'offpeakluxury.com' on the back of trip advisor reviews, that rated this hotel highly. The deal we had was so good we kept checking that we had it right. The two days we stayed were wonderful. The staff had a balance of being professional but also friendly without it feeling forced. The room we booked the 'Larch' was very pretty with a beautiful window and a very comfy bed, it was spotlessly clean and modern whilst maintaining its character. It had squeaky floors, and squeaked a bit from the floor above, but it is very, very old, with a history, and this really adds to the character of the building. The food included in the price was of a very high standard, and the venison melted in your mouth. Included in our package was afternoon tea, this was not listed on our Internet deal, and came as a very pleasant surprise to us, as it consisted of delicate sandwiches, tea and an array of sweet treats that left us feeling pleasantly full. The surroundings are beautiful, and you can sit and relax in a very pretty lounge area, overlooking the lovely gardens. The spa was very relaxing, and our treatments most relaxing, thank you Sam for the lovely massage and advice you gave to us. I would recommend booking treatments as soon as you arrive, as the treatments are very popular and fill up quickly. The spa nevertheless never feels crowded and has a very low key, relaxing ambience. Came away at the end of the stay feeling relaxed and happy, and as it was a milestone birthday treat it had to be special, and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhys m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shurdington
5.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
19.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
17.7 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenway Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenway Hotel and Spa

Property: The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Address: Shurdington road, Shurdington GL51 5UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Shurdington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shurdington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenway Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenway Hotel & Spa (part of the Eden Hotel Collection) located in the heart of the countryside yet minutes from Cheltenham, offers more than the other luxury Cotswold hotels because of the unique setting and stylish approach. A favorite with the Cheltenham cognoscenti, if you wish to experience elegance and luxury then visit this gorgeous Elizabethan manor and newly appointed Elan Spa. Upon arrival to this style retreat, you will enjoy award winning fine dining in the Garden Restaurant, relax in the new spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, alfresco hot tub and treatment rooms or just enjoy the beautifully appointed bedrooms and landscaped grounds. All delivered with the attention to detail and level of service that you would expect from an Eden Hotel Collection property yet with the individuality and personality for which the hotels are renowned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenway Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenway Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing